We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House 1899”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“House 1899”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Only a few minutes to the town and waterfront. Very comfortable room, we had a one bedroom. Large lounge area, and good kitchen space for self sufficiency if desired. Balcony for enjoying warm evenings. We only had one full day and were delighted to meet Nikia at the front desk, who helped us find a tour. Nikia has a wonderful personality, and is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and Airlie Beach. Nikia phoned every tour company in town looking for a tour for us. All but one were fully booked and Nikia suceeded in booking a flight over the Whitsunday Islands and Great Barrier Reef. A great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the warter side have beautiful views of the islands and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank house1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    192
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
185
233
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were outdated, the shower had black soap scum on the screen and floor, the lift was broken and the staff refused to help carry bags with the excuse they had to much work to be done around the hotel. When I arrived I found that the air conditioning didn't work and the lights in our bedroom didn't work, they said they would send someone up.. It wasn't until the last day that someone looked at them (every night we needed to use a lamp to see) highly disappointed, would not recommend even to someone I hated.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjayne092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Gorgeous views , so close to Airlie Beach shops and restaurants. Units have kitchen and laundry facilities, so if staying more than a few days, you can cater for yourself. On site restaurant has a great view too. Lovely pools, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaznPoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here twice the first for 3 nights and then returned two days later for 1 night , When we arrived for some reason the booking was put in my daughters name which caused some confusion as she didn't make the booking. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and we were given a 2 bed apartment on the second floor above the reception . I was full of hope for this hotel as it said on the door 'luxury hotel' and on its website it quotes ' The Water's Edge Whitsundays Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement' well no i'm sorry it doesn't . On the plus side the room was really big with a nice enough patio area but the rooms themselves are very tired and outdated looking ,the toilets both bathrooms had black rims around the waterline , something pretty easily fixed with toilet cleaner and a brush . One of the dining room chairs had a cigarette burn in it and the tumble drier fell off the wall when i went to use it . Our room when we came back after our boat trip was on the 1st floor and slightly better but there was nothing in this hotel that would entice me to come back . On our second visit the pool area was closed due to a private function .Both rooms had that damp musty smell about them and i know in that region the climate is very humid but they needed airing
On a plus side the pool was ok and the water temperature was nice but to be honest for me thats about it , and the views are great . The hotel is at the bottom end of a very steep hill but the walk up to the hotel is steep so beware if you are taking elderly people cause that hill is a killer .I could go on and on but In my opinion this hotel needs to drag itself out of the 70/80's and into the present with a complete refurbishment and i think it would be a nice place to visit but sorry Waters Edge I'll not be back and i wouldn't recommend you either .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merc2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom with pool access which was great with the kids using the pool all the time. Room was clean when we arrived for our 8 night stay,plenty of room for us and the two kids (5 & 9yrs). The view was great even from our 1st flr balcony. All the reception staff were friendly and helpful from booking a sailing/snorkelling day to where to eat. Perfect location close to shops and beach and the Lagoon is a must with the kids for a change from the resort pools and it's patrolled by life guards. The only downside was the steep driveway but with the stairs it's do able. The new Woolworths is just across the road very handy just remember you have to get back up the driveway with the shopping. We got the local bus from the ferry to the bottom of the driveway on arrival but they don't pickup from there but we just got a taxi on the way home. The beach is a easy walk kids loved collecting shells. There is plenty of food choice if you want, we also BBQ a few times and sat by the pool with our dinner was very pleasant. The kids loved the Cold rock ice cream just down the road. We had a great relaxing stay defiantly want to visit again and stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Waters Edge Resort in Airlie Beach. It is situated in a fantastic location and the apartments are very spacious for a family. The staff went above and beyond to help us in anyway they could. They knew we were travelling with 2 toddlers and had 2 portacots all set up when we arrived which was fantastic as we had to put them down for a sleep straight away. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We decided to head to Airlie Beach at the last minute on a Friday and booked hurriedly online so were pleasantly surprised to find we'd made a good choice. There was a slight hiccup when we checked in as we found ourselves allotted a room that was not what we had booked. We explained this to the receptionist and he apologised and agreed to move us. We moved to the room we had booked and found we liked the first one better. (We're just the sort of guests you don't need!) Anyway, we explained this and asked if we could stay where we were. "Yes, no problem". We are a couple with our adult daughter and found the apartment extremely roomy with a good size balcony. The three levels of pools are lovely with a great outlook towards the ocean so we spent a lot of time there. The spa pool was nice and hot too which isn't always the case in some establishments. We dined at the on site restaurant on the Saturday night and were surprised to be given a complimentary snack tray of breads and dips to begin. Almost didn't need the meal after that! All in all a nice stay, clean spacious rooms and friendly staff. Would recommend it to anyone and would visit again. It's nice and central to town so you can just park your car and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Property: at Water's Edge Resort
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing