We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay let down only by lack of customer service and attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Waters Edge. The resort has recently been repainted and looks great. The 3 pools are lovely and the view is amazing. It's just a short walk to the Main Street and even though the kitchen and bathroom are a little dated the room was very spacious and well decorated. We had a sun lounger and table setting on our balcony which was the perfect place for an afternoon beer. The only negatives were the gym was very basic and half the equipment was broken although we did see a repairman in there on our last night. There was maintenance being done to the pool huts and whilst I understand this is necessary what I found really annoying was being woken at 6.30am by the use of nail guns. Surely some consideration could have been given to guests who are on holidays and might want a sleep in?! The restaurant is also shut half the week and there is a lack of care to what that looks like on off days. This would be fine but it includes the surrounds of the main pool with chairs stacked and tables stashed haphazardly which took away from the lovely pool area. There were also no sunlounges around the main pool as preference seems to be given to the restaurant. All of this I was happy to forgive as the room and views made up for it but on checkout we were unable to leave our car parked safely for a few hours whilst we did our last tour. Despite advising we would be back by 3pm the hotel owner refused to let us park on the premises or even use the guest parking for that day which we found rather displeasing given we had spent 5 days there. Even if the resort was fully booked checkin doesn't open until 2pm and many guests fly in and don't have vehicles. Surely they could have let us use guest parking? Nope we were told curtly and directed to the street. A little bit of customer service goes a long way but according to some local business owners we vented to this is pretty usual of the owner! Despite all that it really was lovely. The resort could just do with a little refining and step up service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emm_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 609 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found this a convenient, clean & pleasant place to spend 5 nights recently. It was handy to the shops & bars, a short walk to the beach, and there was parking available underneath. We loved sitting on the balcony watching the view, very relaxing. The choice of pools was good. The only negative comment would be that because diners sit right by one of the pools in the evening, one did not wish to disturb their meal, however, there were other pools to choose from, so not really a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Waters Edge Resort for our good friends wedding. The wedding itself was absolutely stunning, next to the pool and views of the ocean. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room was equally enjoyable, had stunning views and had everything we needed and more. It was also in a very handy location, close to shops, night life and the water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 174LaurenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was a good location. The pool was nice and some great pics can be taken of yourselves swimming in it. Spacious apartment. Floor of the apartment wasn't very clean. Gym was basic.
Very steep slope to get to the place. Overpriced for what it is.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jubes1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in this resort in a 2 bedroom apartment and one the two couples had to go into hospital for tests. About two weeks before our arrival date, I tried to defer the booking but they told me it was a cancellation and would not even consider changing the dates for medical reasons. We were all very disappointed as one couple went on the booked date for 2 nights and the other couple could only stay one night due to the tests he had to have.
Apart from that, the apartment was clean and tidy, the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in (including our own at home) and the view was to die for.
Of the reception staff two were most helpful and cheerful an the other (a male) was a but curt with people.

Room Tip: Ask for one that you can see the sunset and sunrise as some of the apartments hide this from other a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalmeny66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a three bedroom apt on the top floor with spacious balcony. The living room is large combined with dinning room, while the bedroom is relatively small. And the ocean view is so spectacular that I don't want to leave!
There are a table set on the balcony, it was so relaxing to sit at the balcony as enjoying the view.
I love the old elegant furniture!

The most impressive feature is the swimming pool. It has 3 separated pool, one of them has the ocean view. What I like is watching the ocean when I was swimming in the pool.

The receptionist is not so bad, even though they are not so bubbly, but still helpful. They helped us to book a jet ski tour and gave us some directions about the town.

Overall, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matilda_pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked online and an was only expecting amazing from the recommendations I had received from friends an family!! The central location of the resort was perfect and right in the heart of Airlie beach amongst the restaurants and cafes and drinking spots!! The resort it self was very relaxing and spoilt with breath taking views!! On our balcony was a table setting and day bed, not much more you could ask for while sipping on a wine an relaxing under the sun overlooking the trio of pools! The apartment was self contained but was not needed on our weekend stay as there was an amazing restaurant located on the lower floor of the complex, it made for a great Sunday sesh of great food, drinks and ambience with friends. The rooms were very large with own bathrooms and large wardrobing enough to move in.. The beds were extremely comfortable with crisp sheets which made for a well earned rest!! The living area is the same size as a standard apartment therefor allowed as to have a quite nite in. The complex it self is well set out and I'm sure every apartment would be as amazing as mine if not better;) thank you waters edge for the enjoyable and relaxing short break in a long time!! I will be back and what a pleasure to write about! I hope all have an amazing time just like I did;)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevenpaul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 56 in Airlie Beach
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $174 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing