We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Waters Edge for 11 nights recently. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was very spacious and fitted with modern furnishings and had the most beautiful view of Airlie Beach. Waters Edge is situated at the bottom of a very steep hill so it would be perfect for older couples or couples with prams etc as the rest of the hotels are scattered along a very, very steep hill.

The pools were really nice, 3 in all so there is plenty of room for everyone! We were only 2 minutes walk from the main street so it was really a perfect location.

Deja Vu restaurant which is located on the second level of Waters Edge is fantastic. The meals there were just awesome. I would highly recommend eating there as much as you can!

This hotel is perfect for couples or families, or anyone really! Great views, great pools, great restaurant, great location.

  • Liked — View, pools
  • Disliked — Room is only serviced once if stay is over 8 nights
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avinaraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    187
    77
    29
    16
See reviews for
178
229
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was beautiful, very large and finished to a very high standard. It was clean with great views of the bay and very central to the town centre (2 minute walk). The apartments are at the start of a steep hill. I found the staff at The Waters Edge Resort excellent to deal with. I would highly recommend these apartments. I will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Was only 1 computer available for internet access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peatlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

If you are going to queensland then you are lucky if you are staying at waters edge then thats more than lucky .We arrived in the rain and still thought we had landed in paradise.The staff ,the aptment the food just fantastic could not recomend these apts high enough

  • Liked — the whole thing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frasermacritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

We had to change our accomadation at the last minute as the place we were booked into was more back packer than what we were looking for. The reception does close at 6:00p.m. but there is someone on site if you need anything. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartments are large finished to a very high standard and are very clean with great views of the bay and are very central. The apartments are at the top of a very steep hill, not the best if your on foot and carrying bags! I would recommend it but it is more self catering than hotel.

  • Liked — Size of the apartment
  • Disliked — the walk up the hill to the apartments
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2005

A group of 4 twentysomething females had booked and paid in advance for a week in a penthouse apartment at the Waters Edge Resort Airlie Beach.

We had booked a private spa on our balcony, and on arrival, staff were not too happy to see a young group staying in the penthouse.

On arrival we were told that the spa was not working and as such the thermostat had broken and the spa would keep heating unless turned off. It also took approximately 5 hours to heat to a a warm level, which meant it had to be monitored the whole time.

We were unaware the hotel was actually self contained units and had no change of towells or upkeep of the room.

We had paid approximately $2500 (aus) for the week and when we ran out of toilet paper during the stay were advised it would cost .50c (aus) per roll. Our towells were changed on the second last day (of 7)

Regardless of our age (we are all young professionals), we were immediately judged and treated with less respect. We booked activites through the hotel (which gave them commission) and adhered to their rules and regulations.

The Waters Edge Resort was great with their standard of facilities and proximity to the town centre of Airlie Beach, but their standard of customer service left a lot to be desired.

The only reason I would not recommend this accommodation, was purely based on their customer service skills.

For the record our ages are... 24,27,28 & 28

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#12 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Property: at Water's Edge Resort
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing