We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Best Resort in Airlie Beach”
Review of Pinnacles Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinnacles Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Best Resort in Airlie Beach”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Pinnacles Resort and Spa, and couldn't be happier with our choice. Even though there was a hill, we didn't find it an issue to walk into town every night - it helped to work off dinner indulgences! If you are worried, you can always catch a taxi up the hill for a few dollars, and they will take you right up to your room.

Highlights - We couldn't get enough of the view from edgeless pool and the view from our room, not to mention relaxing in the jacuzzi every night after a big day.

The amazing view is your reward for the resort's position on the hill... and it's totally worth it.

We organised our tours and transfers through the reception without any hassles.

We were lucky enough to have amazing weather the whole time. Without question, we'll be coming back next year. Can't recommend this resort highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicnoodle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    70
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
93
268
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The apartments are situated in a great place to have some amazing views of the Whitsundays. To get to the hotel from the town, you have to climb quite a steep hill. It's a short walk, so if you take it slowly and are fit, it's manageable. The staff was so hospitable, and made great recommendations for things to do while staying there. The apartment was well equipped with everything you might need, and the bed was very comfortable. Two things to note is that you are staying in an apartment, not a hotel, so you will not have daily housekeeping. You also had to pay for wifi, and it was pretty unreliable.

Overall, great stay. Looking forward to another chance to stay there.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in a good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life-is-good-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnacles, Front Office Manager at Pinnacles Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you taking time to submit your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay despite the internet not being very reliable during your stay. We are always looking on ways to improve our services to guests and the internet is something we are hoping to improve on in the near future. Although we can't guarantee the connection we are looking at ways to make it more affordable for guests.

As mentioned we are not a hotel so don't offer daily housekeeping however we do have this as an option for an additional cost.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights with our almost 1-year-old and I have to say it was one of the most incredible places we've ever stayed. Apartment was clean and spacious, and the view! Incredible!! We hired a car so the steep hill was a non-issue but the view at the top is definitely worth it. Jacuzzi on the balcony was a wonderful addition and we didn't really feel the need to venture far from the resort as the facilities kept us occupied for the majority of our stay.

The staff were very friendly and were happy to accommodate our request for a baby bath :) would definitely recommend Pinnacles to our family and friends. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Stayed in apartment 21. We could see onto other people's balconies below us but no one could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just finishing up a 10 night stay at the Pinnacles and am very impressed. Great apartment, great views and very helpful staff made for a nice stay. Hot tub on the balcony, well equipped kitchen and bathroom, good location to town and great pool and gym area made for a very relaxing holiday. Hill up to the resort is steep but easily walked at a slow pace, I would even say it makes the stay better having to work hard to reach the magnificent views. Recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing stay out of the riff raff of the backpackers but accessible to the main drag. Just note that star rating is not the same as hotels, walls and furniture in our apartment were all well worn and marked, features fitting for an apartment stay.

Room Tip: Some apartments have hot tubs out of view of anyone else, aim for these, we had no 28 at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorrisNanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casuarina Beach Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at Pinnacles in January this year for three nights. We stayed in Apartment 11, which is a three bedroom with Jacuzzi. We are a family of 6 and this apartment was perfect. We arrived early as we were already in Airlie having been on a charter boat for the previous seven nights, however our room was already ready to go and we were promptly transported via golf buggy to our apartment. We could not believe how beautiful it was upon entry, it was immaculately presented and had everything we needed.

All bedrooms had ocean views but obviously the two at the front were much better. This apartment was just a stones throw away from the pool, which was again amazing.

The apartments are located just a short walk to town which has great dining and shopping options. The walk back is up a hill, so if you aren't into walking I would recommend a taxi which are plentiful and are happy to drop you rig to your apartment door for a very small charge (when I say to your door I recommend that, as the actual driveway is probably the steepest part of the walk)

Overall we feel Pinnacles is worth every penny, and quite honestly we were so reluctant to leave, we will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sommo_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnacles, Front Office Manager at Pinnacles Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us a wonderful review here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on your family holiday. Although we can't guarantee early check in's we do work very hard to make this happen where possible. We would love to have you visit again so be sure to call us direct so we can give you a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My son and his partner came from Amsterdam and their friends from London to see the New Year in in Airlie Beach. We had a 2 bedroom ocean view and a 1 bedroom apartment. The two br had a hot tub on the very large balcony overlooking the ocean and the apartment had everything you could possibly need. The design was perfect for two adult families in that the bedrooms and bathrooms were separated from each other by the living area so we each had our own space. The resort is one of the highest overlooking the coral coast so a nice breeze was felt on the balcony making it a lovely place to entertain or read or soak in the spa.

Room Tip: All the ocean view rooms are set back from one another so that you do not have other people on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Nice and large rooms. Hotel is located on top of a hill, making the view on the sea from the balcony or the swimming pool absolutely amazong. Really peaceful place. Some rooms have jacuzzi, also with the stunning view. Loved it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rachono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacles Resort

Property: Pinnacles Resort
Address: 16 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pinnacles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacles Resort is located 300m from the heart of Airlie Beach and consists of 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments all with king bed, balcony, spa & magnificent views of the Coral Sea. Onsite facilities include 20m ozone heated wet edge swimming pool, gym, sauna (infrared & traditional) & a tour desk. Relax in 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacles Resort And Spa
Pinnacles Hotel Airlie Beach
Pinnacles Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing