We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic QLD break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnacles Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinnacles Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic QLD break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed for four nights and really enjoyed the experience. The friendly managers Brent and Sue and reception staff, particularly Sarah, all went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The apartment was well appointed, clean and a delight to stay in. Yes the hill was steep but like others we hired a car. The view is to die for, and all in all we felt very relaxed over the weekend. Thank you Pinnacles for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    69
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
90
264
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Just to be entirely clear this is not a bad review. It's a good one but I just felt there were a few minor things off the pace of its competition.
Amazing positives were the view, superb reception staff, jacuzzi on balcony, full equipped kitchen and large accomodation space. The few niggles I have for a 350 a night place, were the seriously under powered(or faulty) air conditioning which I did report but was offered neither a rebate nor a remedy!, the half packet of washing powder, no BBQ and the lack of bath tub.
Airlie was fab and overall our apartment was very good but when compared to Pavillions in Agnes Water at 200 a night there are lessons that could be learned.
Note to travellers that the hill is a severe incline and not for the faint hearted!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FoodieCharmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Lovely apartment but wouldn't say it is 5 star, maybe 4.5 star is more accurate. Apartment is spacious and clean. The walk up the hill is extremely steep but staff will drive you up in a golf buggy upon request, except late at night. Pool is lovely with a beautiful view. Endota Spa on site was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKazzawazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 10 days over New Years and it was absolutely perfect. Yes the hill was steep, but people - thats how you get a view.... and the view was AWESOME. We hired a car for 10 days $348 - at fun car rentals, for $34 a day ($8 each a day) we avoided the hill altogether.

The photos of the pool area are real, on arrival it was fantastic to see that the infinity pool is as good as the photos.

The grounds are immaculate and Brent and Sue could not do more for us while we stayed.

The no party/noise rule keeps the premise reasonable for everyone. New Years we certainly made some noise with no issues. The 12 people who claimed it wasn't 5 star or the no party rule wasn't published, it was 5 star for Australia - but it is a self contained apartment - not a hotel. Our Apartment was very near yours, and the comments are unreasonable. There is no 5 star Accomodation I have ever stayed at where it is okay to be excessively noisy - anywhere in the world.

Sue and Brent need to be commended for their hospitality and the beautiful resort, on our travels we felt very privileged to say we were staying at The Pinnacles.

Keep up the good work - We will only stay at The Pinnacles on our return to Airlie Beach in the future.

Room Tip: Apartment 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We liked our apartment but just felt that the hill up to our apartment was so steep. The views were lovely but the hike really was a deal breaker for us. Apartment was very well laid out and balcony was lovely. Airlie beach itself was more suited to backpackers than honeymooners in our opinion and it was not what we expected at all. The prices in restaurants also seemed very inflated for what you got. The people who run pinnacles were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here over New Years Eve with a group of 12 people split between 2 three bedroom apartments. I am a seasoned traveller and have stayed in numerous 5 star resorts and hotels all over North America, Latin America and Europe and this place is definitely not 5 star. Don't get me wrong, it's nice and the views are amazing, but you don't get what you expect from a 5 star resort.
The first thing that needs to be mentioned is the no-noise/parties policy. If they want to have this policy, they need to state it somewhere on the website and in the booking form. If it is there, it is not visible enough.
Other things that really detracted from the place were that is was not cleaned properly before we arrived and the fact that our fridge did not work properly and took forever for them to bring us a new, working fridge.
The resort is not horrible, it is great, but to say that it is 5 stars is laughable. 4 stars might be a better description.

PS. Do not stay here if you are a young group

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandragillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A little late in posting this review. My partner and I stayed here in the first week of December and both agree that Pinnacles was the perfect choice of accomodation during our trip.

There is a reason Pinnacles has so many great review AND has its 5 star rating and we now understand why. The location on top of the hill mean spectacular views and if you are lucky enough to get clear days, i suggest the camera be around to capture early morning and evening alike. We were in apartment 4 which wasnt the highest however still had the afore mentioned views.

Yes there are steep hills. 1st being the street hill (steepest) and 2nd being the hotel driveway. Either way, nothing that we couldnt manage a few times and the buggy is available during business hours. Taxi's charge approx $5 from the main street and drop you at your door. Recommended after a nice meal.

The room itself is lovely and clean. it has a HUGE spa in the bathroom and all the latest modcons - loved that it also had fans, something alot of modern hotels dont have.

Overall, no complaints re this hotel and i will definitley be recommending Pinnacles to family and friends. The service we recieved from the front desk was always friendly and no question was ever too much trouble. I will definitley stay here again on my next trip to Airlie Beach.


Tip: go to the Endota spa - absolutley blissful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur_Southgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
16.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
16.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacles Resort

Property: Pinnacles Resort
Address: 16 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pinnacles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacles Resort is located 300m from the heart of Airlie Beach and consists of 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments all with king bed, balcony, spa & magnificent views of the Coral Sea. Onsite facilities include 20m ozone heated wet edge swimming pool, gym, sauna (infrared & traditional) & a tour desk. Relax in 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinnacles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacles Resort And Spa
Pinnacles Hotel Airlie Beach
Pinnacles Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing