We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading North, getting tired, unplanned stopover.”
Review of Airlie Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlie Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a long day driving and was getting tired. We saw a sign to Airlie Beach and decided to turn off and spend the night at Airlie Beach. When we drove into this beachside town it looked like a construction site. All down the main street and some side streets was temporary fencing and lots of sign and places where you could walk and could not walk. We saw a sign for the Airlie Beach Hotel, pulled over and ducked in to see if they had a room for the night. Which they did and due to the construction work that was going on we received a discount on our stay. The girl at reception explained to us that they were trying to get the town fixed up and ready for the next summer season. We had a very nice stay, friendly check in, clean room and we had a good night sleep. I would like to come back when the work on the town is finished and get a sea view room.

Room Tip: Get a room with the sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 449 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Even in the centre of Airlie Beach, no big noise disturbed my nights.
Very friendly, helpful and supporting staff and just around the corner quite a few restaurants ranging form simple snacks to full course dinner. It's a perfect place to stay if you wanna go for a sailing or boat tour to the Whitsundays Islands or simply relax on the sandy beaches by the sea.

Room Tip: Select a room with bay view. It's gonna be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny2596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in an executive king room on the top floor, with a beautiful view on the Coral Sea. The hotel is in the centre of town and there are some good restaurants located under the hotel. There's some noise from the restaurants and traffic in front of the rooms, but you can expect this if you're in the centre of Airlie Beach.
The room itself was quite nice, but the bathroom definitely needs an update. It could use a good clean too. There was so much calcium on the showerhead, showerscreen and tiles, it was obvious it hasn't been cleaned properly for a long while. For a room in this price range this is not acceptable!
During our stay at this hotel, the staff wasn't very friendly. They didn't even greet us while we walked past the reception in the morning, although there weren't any other customers. They were so busy talking with each other that they didn't even respond to the goodmorning I was wishing them!? This was awkward. When we checked out I was in my wedding dress, about to get married, and again no friendly face, goodmorning or wishing us a nice day. A hospitality course seems in place here!
Because they're renovating the pool the hotel gave us a free breakfast at Mangrove Jacks restaurant, which was a really nice gesture.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

WiFi: Hotel claims to have WiFi, but signal is so weak as to be useless.
Staff: We came down for breakfast at 9am to find an almost empty restaurant offering little to eat but cake that was unrefrigerated and at least a day old. We ordered coffee and water; the waitress advised us to pick up some pastries from the bakery next door. We followed her advice, returned to the restaurant and sat down with our coffees and pastries. But within seconds, a large waiter approached us and ordered us to leave in a very aggressive tone, stating “you don't eat a burger from Burger King at McDonald's.” We explained that we had followed the advice of his colleague, and that his restaurant did not offer any similar product, but this angered him to the point that we decided to leave for our own safety, abandoning the coffees that we had already paid for.
Summary: Don't stay here. Instead, stay at a hotel that has WiFi, breakfast and friendly, intelligent staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TM476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kram1417, General Manager at Airlie Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

The Airlie Beach Hotel welcomes constructive criticism as a means of improving our services to guests. However some critical comments deserve a response in order to present a balanced overview of situations which may be misrepresented by one side.
Most hotels will suffer problems with equipment, machinery, electronics, computers, telephones, air conditioning, wifi etc. at some point in time which is not necessarily the fault of the hotel, and which in turn will affect guests and staff. We try to resolve these issues as quickly as possible with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests, however there are times when the resolution is outside our control, fow which we sincerely apologise.
The hotel does pride itself in the selection and training of our staff to an extremely high standard.
What we can't control is the behaviour and attitude of some people who attend the venue who take it upon themselves to be rude, aggressive and behave in an unacceptable manner towards staff and other patrons. It is extremely inappropriate to call a staff member "intellectually challenged" because they try to be helpful and suggest a possible alternative for your preferred choice of food.
The Swiss gentleman who reviewd the hotel on 7th May, damming the breakfast selection and berating the staff to the point of libel, failed to include in his critique his swearing abuse at our staff, the fact that he insisted on consuming food from another venue in our restaurant and ignored requests for him to vacate the premises. All of this can of course be backed up by CCTV footage.
I would also like to categorically deny the implication that we serve day old unrefrigerated cakes
(we have computer controlled cabinets which monitor temperatures 24 hours a day), hire thuggish intimidating staff and don't offer a full comprehensive breakfast.
Sometimes we just have to stand up for ourselves to maintain credibility and defend our employees.
The Airlie Beach Hotel offers quality accommodation, restaurants and retail outlets in the heart of Airlie Beach and is well known for its attention to service and the guest's experience.
Mark Bell. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location, restaurants are located under the hotel perfect for dinner! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is really friendly and willing to help you when needed. Definitely one of the better hotels we have seen during our trip in Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First time to Airlie beach. The hotel is close to all amenities, short stroll to lagoon,shops,market with neighbouring excellent restaurants. The rooms were clean,comfortable and everything we needed. Reception staff (Hannah and Becky) were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay even more pleasurable. We recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location but looking and feeling like it needs a facelift. They actually warn you that if you leave the bathroom door open the smoke alarm will go off and you'll pay for the fireman if they attend.

Breakfast was great and to be honest it location, location, location with this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
16.3 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
386 reviews
12.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
295 reviews
16.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Hotel

Address: 16 Airlie Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $98 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlie Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the damage caused by Tropical Cyclone Debbie to the Airlie Beach Hotel, we are regrettably unable to accommodate any guests until after 31st January 2018 in our 4 star building. The Airlie Beach Hotel is perfectly positioned between absolute beachfront and the buzz of village life, the Airlie Beach Hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds. The hotel boasts ocean views, a village atmosphere, on-site restaurants and convenient landmark location. The hotel has the perfect access for discovering the Great Barrier Reef and 74 Whitsunday Islands in Queensland, with daily tours available. Two award winning restaurants are located on-site. Capers on The Esplanade and Mangrove Jacks Café/Bar located on the main street. Beachfront rooms offer island views and balconies. The hotel is rated 4-star and has 56 hotel rooms (Beachfront or Village View) and 4 self-contained one bedroom suites (Beachfront). Hotel room facilities: FREE Wi-Fi, balcony, telephone, en suite bathroom, air-conditioning, tea/coffee, bar fridge, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, LCD flat screen TV, satellite/cable TV, writing desk and chair, table and chairs, luggage rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airlie Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Hotel Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing