We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Airlie Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airlie Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Without doubt the best hotel in Airlie Beach. Location superb ample off road parking. very good bars and restaurants, I would recommend this hotel to anyone..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffsoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    186
    67
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
218
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Airlie beach hotel has a motel with real hotel standards. We just wanted a quite reasonable place to sleep after out sailing trip and before leaving the next morning for a early flight from Hamilton Island. After checking a few B&B's that were full and overpriced, we landed on the motel section of Arilie beach hotel, stated to be basic in standard, but turned out to be quite modern and well equiped. We checked our luggage in prior to departing on our sailing trip, days ahead of our booked night. Nothing was charged for this, and we were even lent complimentary towles from the hotel to bring on the trip. Back from the boat, we found a delicious room, with a huge bathroom, nice AC, fridge with cold water and cold glasses in it, a water boiler and an iron. The hotel also offers their own coin operated washing machines and dryers on their premises.

Friendly staff and nice relaxed atmosphere. Great bed.

Busses to Shute harboar leaved from just outside the hotel connecting to all departing transfer-ferries connected to all departing flights from Hamilton Island airport.

Only dissapointment was the connected 'award winning' restaurant 'Capers'. I guess we should have leaned that 'award winning' means stay away.

  • Liked — Modern, clean and afforable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TheTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

A great, clean hotel. I stayed in the motel part but it was a great deal for what I got. The room was huge and clean. It is in a great part of Airlie beach, although it is a little far from the Lagoon. But in this town, that only means a 10-15 min walk. Some of the staff were not great, but the hotel itself is a great place to stay, especially considering the other options I saw in Airlie Beach.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Distance from lagoon
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRoss365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Of all the hotels I stayed at in Australia, this was the only one that disppointed. The location -- right in downtown Airlie Beach -- was great, but the hotel interior was dated and run-down, and the staff was fairly unaccomodating, although generally friendly about their unwillingness to help us out.

If you expect this to be much nicer than a standard, basic motel, you are going to be disappointed. If you're looking for quality accomodation, the hotels and resorts in the Whitsundays are probably more promising.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DCTraveler_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Asbolutely loved this hotel! The staff were friendly, it had a luggage store (free of charge) for when we went on a 3 days boat trip. The rooms and beds are spacious, and views are great - try and ask for an ocean view on 3rd floor if possible! There are 3 restaurants close to the hotel which are afilliated with them and are reasonably priced with massive meals! Airlie Beach is lovely, and it was well worth paying $179 per night for this lovely hotel. It was very clean, fresh towels each day with a tv and hairdryer in each room. Best hotel we stayed in in 3 weeks!

  • Liked — the location and views and cleanliness
  • Disliked — truthfully nothing - really couldn't fault a thing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KEW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

we were booked into the motel section and when we arrived were extremely disappointed the room was supposed to be 3.5 star wouldn't give it 2 the room was dingey, had an odour of cocroach spray the beds were ancient. The did upgrade us to the hotel which was alot better but i would not recommend the motel section,

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lexiTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

I was originally booked to stay in the Motel part (3 star) of the Airlie Beach Hotel, which looked quite clean and comfortable, but chose to upgrade to the 4 star Hotel on a special and couldn't have been happier - fantastic views, fabulously clean rooms, and all the amenities one could ask for! The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in helping me set up my Whitsunday tours. And, the hotel in conveniently located at the end of the main road in Airlie Beach (no big hill to walk up like some of the other hotels in the area), easily five minutes walking distance to all restaurants and nightlife. The hotel is a bit more on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for! I would recommend it for those trying to avoid backpacker accomodations, but still wanting access to the fun night life (20's-30's) of Airlie Beach. Stay in the islands for more calm, quiet...and overpriced accomodations.

  • Liked — Hotel Views and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TToy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
16.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Hotel

Property: Airlie Beach Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airlie Beach Hotel is perfectly positioned between absolute beachfront and the buzz of village life, the Airlie Beach Hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds. The hotel boasts ocean views, a village atmosphere, on-site restaurants and convenient landmark location. The hotel has the perfect access for discovering the Great Barrier Reef and 74 Whitsunday Islands in Queensland, with daily tours available. Two award winning restaurants are located on-site. Capers on The Esplanade and Mangrove Jacks Café/Bar located on the main street. Beachfront rooms offer island views and balconies. The hotel is rated 4-star and has 56 hotel rooms (Beachfront or Village View) and 4 self-contained one bedroom suites (Beachfront). Hotel room facilities: FREE Wi-Fi, balcony, telephone, ensuite bathroom, air-conditioning, tea/coffee, bar fridge, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, LCD flat screen TV, satellite/cable TV, writing desk and chair, table and chairs, luggage rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airlie Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Hotel Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing