We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portside Whitsunday
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Club Croc(Cannonvale)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$163
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$124
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$477
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
$208
$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
181
32
5
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
32
5
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop jacuzzithe managersthe main streetrum barbedroom apartmentsteep hillheated poolthe penthousewouldn't stay anywhere elseperfect locationpool area is lovelythese apartmentswalking distancewasher and dryergreat apartmenta great stayvisit airlie beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 227 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2007

I booked the 2 bedroom apartment with rooptop jacuzzi for my family of 5 (including grandma), and the advertisement on the hotel website described it perfectly. We had a lovely 6 nights enjoying comfort, cleanliness and great personal service.

The place is ideal for families as it is spacious and well stocked. It is literally only a few metres walk to town and beach. The place is fairly new and as such is quite clean and impressive.

The owners run the place and are only too happy to help you organise your activities and make your stay more pleasant. A word of caution though, is that they did appear overworked and at times seemed to break under the tension.

The television is small, and choice of stations limited. Strangely, the air-conditioning is not allowed to be set under 25 degrees Celcius. This could be a major consideration for some.

All in all, it is a great choice if you want luxury within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sirfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Booked into Portside Airlie Beach for one week and couldnt resist staying for two.
From the moment we walked into reception we felt so welcome.We were personally taken to our apartment by Sheryn and made to feel right at home.
The accomodation was luxurious and very spacious. Our apartment was well equiped and spotlessly clean. It really had a wonderful feel about it.
The surrounding gardens and pool area are well maintained and comfortable to relax in.
Sheryn and Phil Blundstone and the friendly staff made our holiday a hassle free experience.Sheryn booked our cruises and tours at reception and was very informative and helpful.
The views from our apartment were spectacular,( blue waters, blue horizon ) and although construction for " Port of Airlie" was just across the road, the noise was no concern or problem.
With the backpackers next door no longer operating , this resort offered peace and tranquility.
Couldnt resist the dreamy afternoons on our private balcony with a glass of red watching the yachts drifting by in the distance.
What a magical holiday.
Would recommend a stay at " Portside" for all that visit Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kazz2dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My partner and I stayed at Portside recently.

Whilst the apartments were comfortable and modern, we found them certainly not in the 'luxury apartments' category, as stated on other reviews.

We opted for an upstairs apartment and paid the extra per night for the balcony and spa, which was worthwhile. The pool was in a pleasant setting.

We found the managers, quite inhospitable and quite disinterested in our needs. They just couldn't be bothered and it was too hard to even give us a smile and ask if everything was ok. We have always found when staying elsewhere, that our luggage is taken care of, and delivered to our rooms. Not so at Portside. Here it meant dragging it up several flights of stairs ourselves. Great start and end to a holiday!

The noise level in the apartment (especially at night), was shocking. We had to sleep with the glass doors securely closed to try and shut out the traffic noise - which didn't work anyway! Needless to say, we were both sleep-deprived after our stay there.

A marina 'in- the-making' is happening opposite Portside, which added to the unpleasant view - and noise.

Everywhere you looked in the apartment there were rules and regulations - eg. notice left by the kettle in kitchen, - "Our staff are not paid to wash your dishes or empty your rubbish. If you do not leave apartment in an acceptable standard, you will pay
$ ...... Do not operate the air conditioning with the windows open, etc, etc, etc,etc."

This, coming from a so-called 'luxury' apartment, whom one would presume would attract selected patrons, was most off-putting, and greatly dampened our time spent there.

Added to this, the air conditioning is programmed to only work once the temperature reaches 25 degrees.

We have stayed in a vast amount of similar styles of accommodation in Australia, and have yet to come across all these typed 'rules and regulations", including the meanest one - regarding the air conditioning, pre-set to work from only 25 degrees!

Nice apartment - and good being able to walk to shops, but that is about all I can say on the positive side about Portside.

My advice ....If staying in Airlie - try somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank getaroundboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

Me and my partner have just come back from a week at Airlie beach. We stayed at Portside, which we couldn't fault. The apartments are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The pool area is surounded by lovely gardens and is very peaceful. The complex is relatively small but the apartments are very spacious and well equipped. The staff really made our holiday, they are all so friendly and helpful and gave great advice on trips and places to eat.

Portside is in a great location, its close to the shops and restaurants and you haven't got to trek up the very steep hill like some of the other apartments! We found it very quiet (and we we're on the ground floor), you can hear the road slightly but it didn't bother us.

We're both well travelled and would say that Portside is one of the best places we've ever stayed (we went to Hayman Island for the day and would much rather stay at Portside). We had a lovely relaxing week and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank haylcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Chose the Portside after reading Tripadvisor and booking through our travel agent who got a very good deal - 5 nights for the price of 4.

The standard of decor was excellent and the apartments were conveniently located within an easy walk to restaurants and shops. The pool was in a beautiful setting.

However there were a few problems. We arrived at about 7.30pm and were probably allocated the last apartment. It was at the front, near the road and next to the backpackers' hostel. The noise from the road at night was unbearable and after 5 nights we were badly deprived of sleep.

There were 2 of us and we'd booked and paid for a 2 bedroomed apartment - one bedroom each. We discovered, late on the first evening that the second bedroom had been locked and we learned later that it was assumed that we didn't "need" it.

On one morning our smoke alarm went off whilst we were making (not burning) toast. I reported the problem to the manageress to no avail as it happened each day after that. We eventually stopped making toast.

Although Portside is a nice property I'd avoid the front apartment next to the backpackers. The other problems we encountered were probably due to the inexperience of the stand in manageress, but nevertheless it didn't leave us with a good impression.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews