We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fab week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a fab week!”
Reviewed March 16, 2007

Me and my partner have just come back from a week at Airlie beach. We stayed at Portside, which we couldn't fault. The apartments are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The pool area is surounded by lovely gardens and is very peaceful. The complex is relatively small but the apartments are very spacious and well equipped. The staff really made our holiday, they are all so friendly and helpful and gave great advice on trips and places to eat.

Portside is in a great location, its close to the shops and restaurants and you haven't got to trek up the very steep hill like some of the other apartments! We found it very quiet (and we we're on the ground floor), you can hear the road slightly but it didn't bother us.

We're both well travelled and would say that Portside is one of the best places we've ever stayed (we went to Hayman Island for the day and would much rather stay at Portside). We had a lovely relaxing week and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Spacious and well furnished apartments
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank haylcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
90
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
805 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Chose the Portside after reading Tripadvisor and booking through our travel agent who got a very good deal - 5 nights for the price of 4.

The standard of decor was excellent and the apartments were conveniently located within an easy walk to restaurants and shops. The pool was in a beautiful setting.

However there were a few problems. We arrived at about 7.30pm and were probably allocated the last apartment. It was at the front, near the road and next to the backpackers' hostel. The noise from the road at night was unbearable and after 5 nights we were badly deprived of sleep.

There were 2 of us and we'd booked and paid for a 2 bedroomed apartment - one bedroom each. We discovered, late on the first evening that the second bedroom had been locked and we learned later that it was assumed that we didn't "need" it.

On one morning our smoke alarm went off whilst we were making (not burning) toast. I reported the problem to the manageress to no avail as it happened each day after that. We eventually stopped making toast.

Although Portside is a nice property I'd avoid the front apartment next to the backpackers. The other problems we encountered were probably due to the inexperience of the stand in manageress, but nevertheless it didn't leave us with a good impression.

  • Liked — Nice decor
  • Disliked — sleep deprivation
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Portside Whitsunday apartments don't do themselves justice in their advertising. The apartments are beautiful, spacious, spotless and well thought out. The whole experience of staying at Portside for our trip to the Whitsunday Coast and the Barrier Reef was the highlight of our holiday to Australia. Sheryn and Phil were so friendly and helpful and manage the apartments impecibly. Our family of 5 stayed comfortably in a 2 bedroomed apartment and we paid the small extra charge to get our own roof top balcony with Whirlpool Spa tub, BBQ, Loungers and dining area. Well worth the $25 dollars a night extra and would advise anyone to take advantage of this as the views are lovely and chilling out at night with a BBQ and dip in the tub with a glass of wine in the warm air was amazing. For anyone wanting to see and snorkel the Reef but not wanting the 2 1/2 hour boat trip ( seas were rough when we were there ) we thoroughly recommend the AIr Whitsunday 'Reef Adventure' 3 hour trip. A little bit more expensive than the boat trip but worth every penny! Sea plane takes you for aerial views of the reef including a fly over Heart Reef, a small group of up to 20 people snorkelling on the reef from a private glass bottomed boat, cheese, biscuits and champagne and then your flight back to the airstrip. All an unforgettable experience that was utterly amazing. Airlie itself is a small bustling town with many fine places to eat and the great Lagoon for swimming in if it is Stinger season. All in all our trip to Portside Whitsunday and Airlie was better than we could have imagined it would be. Thank you Sheryn and Phil.

  • Liked — The quality and space in the apartments and the warm welcome from the managers
  • Disliked — Nothing really. We knew its location and expected a little noise from the road but it didn't alter our opinion of the property and location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Shelties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed at the Portside Apartments for three days after a week on a charter yacht sailing the Whitsundays. This was our third trip to the area.The two bedroom, two bathroom apartment was clean and attractively decorated- it included an upstairs patio area with jacuzzi. The kitchen was well supplied with appliances and utensils and the property is in an excellent position - a few minutes walk from Airlies main shopping area. The apartments are situated along the busy Shute Harbour road, so if the windows were open in the lower level apartments,then some traffic noise could be experienced, however we had the airconditioning on while we were in the rooms, so the windows remained closed! The property has small, but pleasant gardens and a nice pool with a BBQ and chairs/loungers.The management team were always polite, helpful and efficient - the best we have experienced in this area.

Aside from buying provisions and a walk around the lagoon and boardwalk, I consider that Airlie itself has not much to offer, apart from being a jumping off point for the Whitsunday Islands, and as we used it, a wind down after an enjoyable, but sometimes hectic, sailing holiday! There are many bars/cheap shops, travel booking agents and backpacker type accomodations along the main street and early morning walks can offer interesting (and revolting) evidence of the previous night's revelry!

  • Liked — Quality, location and cleanliness of apartment
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adelaidian10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stayed here for two days while waiting for our whitsunday sailing trip. Great apartment, well kitted out, clean and spacious. There are lifts for those located in the upper appartments. These apartments had the bonus of the great location, they are sited on the end of the main street and very close to all the bars, shops and restaurants. The more important thing is that the walk to town is a flat walk as many of the other apartments are sited on a steep hill which would be a bit of a task several times a day. The pool and pool area were well maintained with pool towels being available free from the reception. The only slight drawback was the apartments close vicinity to the road which meant the pool area and apartment suffered from some road noise at times. Whitsundays cruises, for those willing to pay the money for a little bit of luxury I would thoroughly recommend Pacific Sunrise, great yacht, crew, food and ambience. An unbeatable experience. The highlight of our Oz trip.

  • Liked — Location, size and facilities
  • Disliked — Close vicinity to main road
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Stayed here for two nights on our way from Cairns to Brisbane but would have been happy to have stayed for longer. Beautiful apartment and lovely view from the balcony .Really good facilities - being able to catch up on a bit of washing and ironing very useful on a three week holiday (own washer and drier, no trooping to the laundry room).
Pool area a little small but very tasteful and a good sized BBQ area available to all.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful and underground parking for the car was good too.
Eating bacon butties for breakfast overlooking a glimmering sea, one of our best memories from our holiday!

  • Liked — Patio doors from both bedroom and lounge onto the balcony giving a brilliant view
  • Disliked — Carrying suitcases up the stairs
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARDLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney (formerly Melbourne), Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

My husband and I recently spent a week at Portside and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. It was my first time to Airlie Beach and I was a bit disappointed that it seems to be mainly aimed at backpackers, but its location in the Whitsundays is spectacular.

Portside is definitely not aimed at backpackers though as it is modern, spacious, attractive and generally quiet accommodation with excellent service. We paid the extra to have a 1 bedroom apartment with a private terrace, so we had a very large outdoor area with large hot tub, table and chairs, bbq and sunlounges. To be honest, we rarely left our apartment/terrace and spent hours sitting chatting and relaxing in the spa. With 180 degree views from the terrace across the bay to various islands, seeing yachts bobbing in the water and constant 28 degree weather and sunshine, we thought we were in heaven!

We mainly cooked in the apartment (there's a very small supermarket in Airlie Beach), but had a meal at Cactus Jack's which we enjoyed (good service, mains about $18, simple tex-mex food). We also enjoyed having a few cable channels on the tv too (movies, sport, news, kids, music videos and travel).

We did the popular Camira sailing day to Whitehaven Beach which we would highly recommend - a beautiful relaxing day with lots of delicious food and drink! Just make sure you take sunscreen!

Portside is the first accommodation going up the steep hill from the main road, so there was some traffic noise during the day, but we preferred to put up with this and have an easy level walk to restaurants and shops, rather than stay further up the hill and have to walk up and down its steep slope!

We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank EscapeWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 54 in Airlie Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing