We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly private terrace with spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2006

My husband and I recently spent a week at Portside and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. It was my first time to Airlie Beach and I was a bit disappointed that it seems to be mainly aimed at backpackers, but its location in the Whitsundays is spectacular.

Portside is definitely not aimed at backpackers though as it is modern, spacious, attractive and generally quiet accommodation with excellent service. We paid the extra to have a 1 bedroom apartment with a private terrace, so we had a very large outdoor area with large hot tub, table and chairs, bbq and sunlounges. To be honest, we rarely left our apartment/terrace and spent hours sitting chatting and relaxing in the spa. With 180 degree views from the terrace across the bay to various islands, seeing yachts bobbing in the water and constant 28 degree weather and sunshine, we thought we were in heaven!

We mainly cooked in the apartment (there's a very small supermarket in Airlie Beach), but had a meal at Cactus Jack's which we enjoyed (good service, mains about $18, simple tex-mex food). We also enjoyed having a few cable channels on the tv too (movies, sport, news, kids, music videos and travel).

We did the popular Camira sailing day to Whitehaven Beach which we would highly recommend - a beautiful relaxing day with lots of delicious food and drink! Just make sure you take sunscreen!

Portside is the first accommodation going up the steep hill from the main road, so there was some traffic noise during the day, but we preferred to put up with this and have an easy level walk to restaurants and shops, rather than stay further up the hill and have to walk up and down its steep slope!

We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2006
8  Thank EscapeWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2006

We chose to stay at Portside following reviews on trip adviser as part of our honeymoon and the reviews were spot on!

We booked directly with them online and from the moment the first email was sent, it was apparent that they pride themselves in customer service. From the minute we stepped into reception the staff were outstanding and so helpful - right down to the congrats bubbly already chilling in the fridge!

The complex is brand new with great views, communal BBQ area, pool and spa. The apartment itself was contemporary +huge! spotlessly clean and finished to the highest standard with all mod cons. (We also stayed in the Airlie Beach Hotel for one night whilst in Airlie Beach and in comparison to Portside it just wasn't in the same league!)

We'd have no problems recommending Portside to anyone visiting the Whitsundays it really is a great spot and we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank louiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

After living and still holidaying frequently in the Whitsundays, I have now found a place I will continue to stay at, Portside. We had a group of 8 people (4 couples) stay in the Penthouse at Portside Whitsundays. It was so good my wife and I stayed on for an extra week in a one bedroom apartment with a spa. With lift access to the rooms, they themselves have a tropical feel to them, the decore, style and presentation is some of the best I have seen. The resort is situated at the end of the street in Airlie Beach a couple of minute walk to the middle of town, rooms and the swimming pool are surrounded by lush tropical plants. Outstanding views overlook the 2 bays as well as the miain street in Airlie Beach. The staff went above and beyond what was expected, and made our stay the best we've had in the Whitsundays.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Shano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
571
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We booked Whitsunday Portside off the net and we were pleasantly surprised that it was exactly like the photos. We went for our wedding anniversary and were welcomed by a nice bottle of wine and fruit basket. It is the most perfect location just a minutes walk and you are on all the shops and restaurants. The pool is freezing but the spa's are fantastic talk about relaxing and Sharon is just so helpful when you are wanting to do some tours. We can't recommend them enough it was just a perfect holiday and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Five adults stayed at the Portside for four nights in March, 2006. We were surprised and delighted by being given the Penthouse suite rather than the three bedroom apartment we had booked. What a pleasure it was to stay in the penthouse with our own lap pool, 3 bedrooms, living room, kitchen,washer and dryer, granite countertops in the kitchen and separate den, with patio table and furniture and bar-b-q on extensive patios. Not to even mention the view!Everything super clean and nicely decorated. Sharyn took care of us, and answered any questions we had, and made excellent recommendations for restaurants and trips. As stated in another review the main pool water is cool, great for the tropics.This is architectually a beautifully designed complex.
It was close to the town, on the main street, so we did not have to walk back to our base up a steep hill after a full day out. We were glad we had chosen the Portside, as other resorts are situated on the steep hill behind the town. One downside is the traffic noise at night when trying to sleep. We just closed the doors at night.
We were able to get four nights for the cost of three nights by booking through a Queensland tourist web site. All five adults agreed we could not have made a better choice for accomodations in the Whitsundays.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank wakeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We've just come back from a wonderful week holiday to Airlie Beach. We were 5 adults and 2 children and stayed at the Portside Whitsunday in a joined 2 bedroom with 2 bathroom and 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom apartment. The accomidation was gorgeous, clean, modern with wonderful water views (no filtered water views here!!). Portside is not only lovely to look at but also practical as its only a short walk to all shops and restaurants and all trips to the Barrier reef and Islands. No steep hills to climb with this resort!

Customer Service is 12 out of 10 with Margaret and David always going the extra mile to make sure your trip is booked and advising which ones would be most suitable (in our case we had to cater for 2 non swimmers and 2 children). They were always very friendly and informative and always interested to hear how the trip went. I highly recommend Portside Whitsunday to anyone looking for a top class place to stay without the hefty price tag.

PS: Do NOT eat at Boltz the Italian Restaurant on the Esplanade in Airlie Beach, if you want to wait for over an hour to eat horrible & expensive food with terrible service then this is the place for you! :-)

Cheers,
from Sydney

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Leoni1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

These apartments were just fabulous! We stayed for a week and it made the whole trip to Oz. The place was clean, tidy and beautifully maintained. The view was terrific. The two managers/owners were so helpful - they suggested trips, made bookings and helped out when the other half was poorly. I would go back tomorrow and stay for ever! The apartment was roomy, well furnished and well laid out. The pool was lovely and cold too.

The location is great for walking and bussing around - near enough to bars and restaurants and shops, but on the edge of town so quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Alix36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $150 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing