We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for 5 nights over xmas at Portside Whitsundays in the middle of our 8week holiday. Coleen was lovely...from the minute we made our booking to the moment we checked out. The location was perfect...basically a skip, hop and jump from town but far enough from the hustle an bustle of it all with shops, restaurants and the beach (with stinger nets) at our doorstep.

Wether we were in our lounge, bedroom, on the balcony, rooftop or even in the pool we had views out to sea and over the new marina.

The king size beds are amazing an the apartment had all the necessities. Aircon (in both lounge an bedroom) washing machine an dryer, and a full kitchen with all the gears which came in handy on xmas day.

Our rooftop jacuzzi was amazing an I like the fact that you get beach towels to use for swimming.

Considering the place was pretty full over xmas with people of all ages staying at Portside it was so quiet an peaceful an the pool was always empty. So glad we chose to stay here and its half the reason we'll be returning to Airlie Beach in a couple of months. Will definitely be recommending Portside to everyone we know heading to Airlie.

Thanks heaps Coleen an I think you should definitely spend more time in the pool!! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ashandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure meeting you both and sharing a few laughs together :-) I do hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday with family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. "Happy New Year"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
89
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Portside Apartments are in a perfect location, very close to the Main Street without being part of the noise. There are many good restaurants in walking distance, the shops are close and the beach is also virtually across the road.

Our apartment had a balcony with a great view of one of the harbour areas.

The apartment was quite spacious. The furnishings are not as plush as I would have liked but nonetheless very comfortable and clean.

The kitchen is a good size and there is a dishwasher and all the other typical appliances you would expect. There is also a laundry with washing machine and dryer in the apartment which is very convenient.

Undercover parking is provided at no additional cost and wifi is also free.

There is a very nice pool area with comfortable loungers and a great view.

John and Colleen were both extremely friendly and helpful. Whenever we needed any assistance it was sorted out quickly and efficiently.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Management was friendly and welcoming :) The bed was the nicest bed i have slept in in any hotel/motel i have ever stayed in, room was lovely and cosy. Would recommend this place to everyone. :) View was amazing and the pool changes different colours and well as gives an awesome light show at night :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay Katy. It was lovely meeting you :-) I have to agree that the new king beds are amasing - we brought one for ourselves too ! We look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fantastic...we went for a night and stayed longer.

Colleen and John are the perfect hosts, always happy and pleased to assist you.
Nothing is to much trouble.

The apartment was the best.so clean and we had everything we needed..stunning views of Airlie Beach, great for breakfast, lunch or drinks in the evening, watching the pool change from, red to yellow to blue etc.

Great location as well, handy for shops, beach, lagoon etc.

Will defo be back !!!

So many happy memories............x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppreciationSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Jenny & Steve :-). Thank you so very much for your kind review . I have decided there needs to be a Guest Adviser for all our lovely guests !! Enjoyed sharing in your huge appreciation of life, hearing your daily updates on events and loved my little "surprises" felt like Xmas every day :-) . Would love to catch up with you both again . Can you please email as I don't have your email adress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My Son and his new wife are currently on honeymoon in Australia and stayed at Portside apartments, I know they have had a great stay but that's for them to add their own review. The reason for my post is to acknowledge the help and assistance freely given by Colleen and John to arrange a surprise food & champagne hamper from both sets of parents. They were more than happy to make all the arrangements on our behalf and made their honeymoon even more memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whallrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was not a problem helping out 4 very proud parents from across the other side of the world!! Having now had the pleasure of meeting Simon and Rachel I can see why you are so proud ! What a truly beautiful couple and so much fun to have around. I hope we get to catch up with them again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Portside, our apartment was beautiful, spotlessly clean, well furnished, very comfortable and a view to die for. Colleen and John are excellent hosts and went out of their way to help us book our tours etc, and thank you John, for our lift to the ferry this morning. Would highly recommend the apartments to anyone, family, couples, you will be made very welcome. The apartments are very central to the main street with plenty of eating places. The supermarket is quite expensive, to be honest, it is as cheap to eat out, highly recommend the Indian restaurant and Harry's snack bar.

Room Tip: we had a two bedroom apartment, plenty of room, on the front of the block but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene46255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure meeting you Marlene - you totally amase me in what you have accomplished in your life!!!! Good things really do happen to Good people :-) We wish you and your new family many wonderful times together and hope to see you again for an update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks and had the time of my life-Acommadation was top-notch, Colleen and John are fantastic managers and nothing is every too much for them, fantastic hospitiality-The pool is awesome and great views over Port of Airlie-I will be back. Great place for travelling on own or with family as close to resurtants, shops, cafes and beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HunterValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Mandy, Thank you for your lovely review!! It was wonderful to have you back at Portside and to catch up on the last 4 years... my how time flies. We do hope you will be able to return with your family next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing