We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved Portside and will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2008

I have been meaning to write this review for so long. A friends and I went and stayed at Portside in December 07 and loved it! The managers we found were fantastic. So friendly and could not do enough for us. They gave it a really friendly/homely feel. The place I think a perfect location. No steep walk up the hill. Close to everything but not too noisy. It is though right on the main road but with the doors shut you can not hear a thing. We had a one bedroom unit which was huge, very clean, beautifully furnished (very resort/beach like) the view would have been fantastic if it was not for the building/earthmoving going on in front but still had lovely water views in the distance. The pool was great too, but again the maria works opposite soiled it a bit. Overall though I would and will stay there again, for sure, but I will probably wait till after all the marina work is done.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank annie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2008

We spent 5 nights in the Portside apartments in January 2008. On the whole we were very happy with our stay. The apartments were beautiful, modern and spotlessly clean. The reception and checking was relaxed and friendly and once checked in we were very much left to our own devices which suited us.

We booked a two bed apartment with rooftop terrace and private spa, maybe an assumption on my part but the rooftop was not accessible from our apartment, you had to leave our apartment, climb one flight of stairs and then enter the rooftop. Not a major drawback but one I would have liked to have been made aware of. Also the sea view is non existent at the moment due to the work on the marine, not sure when this is due to finish.

Location was excellent, only 5min walk to Laguna and main shops. I would stay in the Portside apartments again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Irish2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom sea-view apartment in Oct 2007 for 10 nights. With new managers having just taken over, our check-in was met with confusion and flurry. We were then met with the "hike" (yes it is quite a hike) to our apartment up the steep driveway and through the car park. Our only saving grace was that our room was one of the few acessible by a lift - once you had made it up the hill! This is definitely not a wheelchair friendly resort.
Our apartment was very nice and was well equipped however our sea view was somewhat disappointing, marred by the huge marina construction site directly in front of our balcony. First thing in the morning we found it particularly noisy, with trucks coming and going and machinery operating.
The resort is in a good location, at the end of the main street and walking distance to most restaurants, bars, lagoons etc.
We wouldn't stay here again for a number of reasons:
- the inexperienced/unprofessional managers really didn't cut it (particularly after being privvy to them openly "dissing" other fellow customers in the reception area!) They are also new to Airlie Beach adn couldn't offer much advice on the local area.
- the construction site (although no fault of the resort) ruined an otherwise pleasant place to relax and enjoy the balcony
- with a small child in a pram, the steep hill became tiresome especially when leaving the resort 2-3 times a day
- when checking out our room tab was charged incorrectly and by this stage the excuse of "we're new and the previous managers left this place in a shambles" had worn thin.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KeenToTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We visited Portside in November for three days, it was not enough,it is spacious ,perfectly clean and all what is needed is there. Portside is only a very short to the town, but it is quiet and peacefull.The accommodation is very tastefully presented and is kept immaculate inside and outside. We arrived and what a warm and genuine welcome,John and Colleen were perfect hosts looked after our every need,helped plan our trips and put up with my banter with great big smiles. This really is a wonderful place to stay,I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank farmboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed at Portside early in October 2007 and loved it - absolutely no complaints, our whole experience there was wonderful!

We had a self contained one bedroom apartment (Unit 1) which was at the front of the property and right next to the pool area. The decor of the apartment was gorgeous, and we had a beautiful outdoor area with table and chairs to enjoy the lovely tropical gardens and pool right next door. We didn't have any problems with noise from traffic or the construction (however it is currently a bit of an eyesore, but nothing can be done about that!).

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, they organised some of our activities and were great to have a chat to at the end of the day. We were escorted to our room and helped with our bags on arrival.

Portside is in a great location with regards to the closeness of the town, shops and restaurants. We had friends staying at other places in Airlie and the vast majority of places are right up on the hill with an incredibly STEEP walk to get to and from town. Portside is a FLAT easy walk to town which was so convenient.

All in all a great holiday, lovely location, and fabulous apartments. I was incredibly happy with our choice to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cryjus012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Stayed at Portside in a studio apartment on the top floor. We had been booked in on the recommendation of the local Tourist Board and arrived late in the day. The manager and his wife could not have been more helpful and we found the accomodation clean, well presented annd equiped. Whilst not being luxury accomodation there was nothing which we could really fault. However, we were glad to be high up and away from the backpackers hostel next door. Altogether we found our location really peaceful. We had a problem with our washing machine but the manageress took it from us and when we returned at the end of the day presented us with a neat pile of washed and dried clothes.
We stayed for four days whilst we explored the Whitsundays and already have recommended Portside to others.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeHilaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed at Portside recently.

Whilst the apartments are easy on the eye and comfortable, the noise from the marina being built opposite, plus traffic noise from Shute Harbour Road, was most unpleasant.

Compared to other accommodation we have stayed in, we found Portside most disappointing.

The air conditioning did not work for the five days we were there. The manager did send a tradesman along to look at it, who said it had blown up. We didn't hear another word from management after this. The air conditioning is set with strict instructions for patrons not to operate unless the temperature reaches 25 degrees. I would have thought that a place like Portside, possiby catering for people from cooler climates, would allow patrons to turn on the air conditioning if they feel a bit on the hot side. Not so. This was only ONE of the written instructions placed around the unit for patrons to obey. I won't go into the others.

Everywhere else we have stayed our luggage has been taken to our room. In this case, we struggled up flights of stairs with suitcases ourselves. Where is the customer service?

On the positive side, Portside is walking distance to shops, has a nice pool area. However, the noise of both traffic and marina- building is enough for us to give it a very mediocre review.

After the good reviews we had read on this site prior to our holiday, we were most disappointed with our Portside experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chinta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $153 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing