We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful heated pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful heated pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Excellent location. Owners very friendly and helpful. The pool is heated and I mostly had it to myself. My apartment had a beautiful seaview and good facilities. I had a studio apartment so no washing machine but there is a laundromat closeby. Recommend the Sushi place on the Esplanade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rivamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
It was a pleasure assisting you during your stay with us. Yes, our location is great! No hills to climb, 50m to restaurants and lovely Marina and Coral sea views. Our heated pool is a wonderful asset, especially with the unseasonal cooler weather North Queensland has been experiencing . We do hope you are enjoying your continued travels around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
89
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Clean & spacious and close to all amenities. John & Colleen were great booking a trip around the islands for us with snorkling. Not to far up the hill like some of the apartments and close to town with beautiful views. Certainly a great place to stay in the Whisundays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Wonderful having Kiwis enjoying the sunshine with us in Airlie Beach! So pleased you enjoyed your stay, and of course your trip on Ocean Rafting - it is a super fun tour. We hope it isn't too cold for you now you are back in NZ and that you may be able to return and enjoy more of the beautiful sunshine and experiences the Whitsundays has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were on a recent trip to AU from the United States and spent 4 nights here. Even though it rained the entire time we were there, this was still are favorite part of our 18 day trip in AU. Colleen & John were wonderful to work with. They were super helpful in setting up our Airport transportation and day trip to the Reef. The accommodations were perfect. We enjoyed our walk-out deck & view & the others are correct that you are just a few seconds walk from all the Airlie Beach action. We also made a trip to get groceries & cooked in most meals which saved us lots of $ on food. The only drawback with this location is the traffic noise if you keep the doors & windows open as we did with beautiful temperatures and nice breezes.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowergc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Portside. So sorry you had to experience the coldest temperature in May for 22 years with us !!! We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Aus and would love to catch up with you both in the future. P.S Will definately be buying a John Deer when we purchase land :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked the Portside on a Wotif deal which included a Whitsunday cruise and was more than happy. The apartment on the ground floor didn't have a balcony but had a lovely private courtyard and still had a view over the Port of Airlie. The room is beautifully furnished and very large, full kitchen with oven, hotplate and dishwasher, separate laundry with washer and dryer. I had great service and assistance with booking the Whitsunday cruise, and arranging TV coverage of an AFL game I wanted to watch! The room was also right next to the heated pool and spa - and a nice touch is a free beach towel. The Portside is literally 30 seconds walk from the shops and within 5 minutes of all of the shopping precinct, the beach, the markets and the lagoon - and virtually across the road from the fantastic Fish D'Vine restaurant. I really rate this accommodation and would love to come back next time I'm in Airlie Beach. Well done!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would have a magnificent view - but I did like my little courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us ! Yes, we too understand how important certain Austar Channels are :-). We look forward to your return visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Thanks to Colleen and John. Everything was better than I expected and well deserving of the star rating.
I will be back with my family and next time we are bringing friends as well.
After visits covering 30 years I still think Airlie and its surrounds as one of Australia's best destinations. Portside just made it better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Was great meeting you and your friendly, happy, family David. A huge thank you for reminding me of the wonderful place we live in... sometimes we tend to take our surroundings so much for granted. Really looking forward to seeing you on your next visit, as soooo missing our daily banter ... still laughing at your quick wit and humour :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the place to stay in Airlie - some of us had stayed there 9 years ago and knew the locaion and quality of the property. When our family of 19 adults and 7 children chose to get together for Easter in Airlie the decision about accommodation was easy - Portside was the unanimous choice! We booked the penthouse suite and 3 dual key apartments which were all in the same block so we could move between units easily. The penthouse has a lap pool which was perfect for the "littlies" and we easily entertained up to 35 for BBQ meals on the deck. Colleen was fantastic in helping us set up appropriate accommodation and answer questions as were were planning the weekend. It worked so well that we have decided to do it all again for Easter 2014!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. Nothing makes us happier than " Happy Guests" You have a lovely family and we very much looked forward to seeing you all again for Easter 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Portside itself was everything we'd expected from 4.5 star accommodation but it was the friendly helpful service and convenient location that made this place extra special!!!
As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome by Colleen and informed of all the "must-see" things to do on our short weekend stay. Everything is in walking distance to Portside and with that said, there are no steep hill climbs like many other hotels in Airlie. (Handy when you've had a few drinks at the Rum Bar & a seafood feast at Fish D'Vine)
With the lagoon, local markets, cafes and restaurants right at your door, you couldn't ask for more! We stayed at Portside for our wedding anniversary in the penthouse suite & loved it! There was no "noise" to hear of or "ongoing construction" in sight which is something I read in a previous review...guess we were having way too much fun & romance to notice anything but the beautiful surrounds! - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaceyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Portside. It is wonderful having a lovely grass area to look over to the Coral Sea, rather than the construction site for the Port of Airlie!!! So very pleased that is all behind us. I too enjoy having the "Rum Bar, Fish D'vine and many yummy restaurants at our door step.... sometimes alittle to convenient when you live here :-) .
Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you back for many more Anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing