We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Thanks to Colleen and John. Everything was better than I expected and well deserving of the star rating.
I will be back with my family and next time we are bringing friends as well.
After visits covering 30 years I still think Airlie and its surrounds as one of Australia's best destinations. Portside just made it better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Was great meeting you and your friendly, happy, family David. A huge thank you for reminding me of the wonderful place we live in... sometimes we tend to take our surroundings so much for granted. Really looking forward to seeing you on your next visit, as soooo missing our daily banter ... still laughing at your quick wit and humour :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the place to stay in Airlie - some of us had stayed there 9 years ago and knew the locaion and quality of the property. When our family of 19 adults and 7 children chose to get together for Easter in Airlie the decision about accommodation was easy - Portside was the unanimous choice! We booked the penthouse suite and 3 dual key apartments which were all in the same block so we could move between units easily. The penthouse has a lap pool which was perfect for the "littlies" and we easily entertained up to 35 for BBQ meals on the deck. Colleen was fantastic in helping us set up appropriate accommodation and answer questions as were were planning the weekend. It worked so well that we have decided to do it all again for Easter 2014!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. Nothing makes us happier than " Happy Guests" You have a lovely family and we very much looked forward to seeing you all again for Easter 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Portside itself was everything we'd expected from 4.5 star accommodation but it was the friendly helpful service and convenient location that made this place extra special!!!
As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome by Colleen and informed of all the "must-see" things to do on our short weekend stay. Everything is in walking distance to Portside and with that said, there are no steep hill climbs like many other hotels in Airlie. (Handy when you've had a few drinks at the Rum Bar & a seafood feast at Fish D'Vine)
With the lagoon, local markets, cafes and restaurants right at your door, you couldn't ask for more! We stayed at Portside for our wedding anniversary in the penthouse suite & loved it! There was no "noise" to hear of or "ongoing construction" in sight which is something I read in a previous review...guess we were having way too much fun & romance to notice anything but the beautiful surrounds! - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StaceyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Portside. It is wonderful having a lovely grass area to look over to the Coral Sea, rather than the construction site for the Port of Airlie!!! So very pleased that is all behind us. I too enjoy having the "Rum Bar, Fish D'vine and many yummy restaurants at our door step.... sometimes alittle to convenient when you live here :-) .
Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you back for many more Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenage kids) were not sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised with both the accommodation and friendly service.
All of our tours were booked by the motel with good advice and options provided on dining out and tours.
The main street is just around the corner and a very short walk to the lagoon.
This holiday will be hard to beat and recommend Portside any day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure having such a nice family enjoying the facilities, tours and restaurant options available here in Airlie. I hope we may be able to assist you with future holidays. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wow, This the place to stay in Airlie whatever reason you're there for. Minutes to shops, restaurants and no steep hills to climb. We had a two bed unit with rooftop . Rooftops are massive with table and chairs, lounges and bbq and jacuzzi so plenty of room if you were meeting for a family reunion up there.Colleen is an expert on the excursions so make sure you get her to help, we booked with her which was very convenient. Best trip by far was ocean rafting ( northern leg). Im afraid we did'nt dine out much as the rooftop was to good not to use, ideal for barbecueing and relaxing at night after a day out in the water.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Portside! It is so nice seeing people take advantage of the many tour options available in the Whitsundays and just loved your get out there and "Do it " style :-) . We would love to welcome you back to Portside for another adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed in many apartments in Airlie Beach and Portside is by far the best! Not only is it just a few steps away from town but is NOT on a dreaded steep hill like most accomodation in Airlie Beach. The rooms are nice, clean and tidy and have all the essentials needed for an enjoyable stay. The management is very friendly and always more than willing to help.
I would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone travelling to Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside Whitsunday. We too enjoyed having you and your lovely family stay with us. It was Fantastic seeing the children enjoying the heated pool.
The staff at Portside look forward to your next visit and hope you all have a Super Xmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I am sorely tempted to leave out the word ‘luxury’ from the name after staying here, especially having paid $220 per night for a one bedroom apartment. The overpriced apartment was in need of a major makeover, although alright for a short stay, however it certainly could not be described as ‘luxury’. There were 9 pages of rules and regulations. Of note was the part that read ‘cleaners are not paid to do your dishes or put out rubbish’ – well they obviously don’t clean much either. Worse was that the native birds were described as ‘a nuisance’, and while we agree that people should not feed them for the birds’ wellbeing, this was a poorly written statement and needs to be reviewed.
We went there hoping to escape from traffic noise, construction noise and the neighbours’ screaming children. Unfortunately we just got more of the same. The building is located on a very noisy main road with ongoing construction across the road and the swimming pool is situated right in front of the rooms. Some units also had spas on their decks, and this also prevented us from sitting out on the balcony due to noise issues of other guests and cigarette smoke drifting up. Not the place for a romantic getaway. Best Part: the Rum Bar across the road, except it was closed on Saturday night due to a function elsewhere (welcome to Queensland).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to send a review on your recent stay with us.
We were all sad to see you did not enjoy your time with us as most of our clients do.
Our apartments are modern and well equipped and only recently refurbished, we do try to appeal to a varied market with our furnishings and fittings. Had you made us aware of any housekeeping or maintenance issues during your stay we would have attended to them immediately to ensure your weekend was more pleasurable.
All accommodation providers offer inroom information this is an industry requirement. These compendiums offer information to guests for both inroom and onsite facilities and tours and attractions available in the area. Portside does have a compendium which has 10 pages, including our welcome letter, yet only 3 points over these 10 pages refer to guests behaviour and body corporate By-laws. Our Body Corporate requires us to have these 3 points included in our information guidelines. Most guests find our inroom information very helpful during their stay. I am also sorry that you were annoyed by other guests obviously ignoring the Body Corporate By-Laws stated in the compendium, a simple call to us at reception would have ended the issues and allowed you to enjoy a more positive experience.
Yes, our naughty birds have in the past been guilty of pinching guests food from balconies and even biting small children, hence we mention this to all clients as the birds really can become a nuisance when these unwanted visits occur.
We are very excited to have the Port Of Airlie development at it’s final stage with truck loads of turf arriving this week to be laid. We have had some noise issues during the day with the project but it is really taking shape now and looks fantastic. We apologise for the noise during your stay but the site being beautified now is great news for us all!
Fantastic that you found the Rum Bar, it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some drinks and the seafood is scrumptous. We are happy that you enjoyed some aspects of your Airlie Beach stay and hope you will return to enjoy those again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $159 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing