We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shingley Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shingley Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shingley Beach Resort”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Shingley beach is a quiet and unassuming resort that is cost effective. Its simple and well stocked for a couple or small family to get away from the hussle of airlie beach where every 3rd person is a 18year old backpacker. However, there were three of us in our room and sleeper couch arrangement and they were very unhelpful with assisting us with an extra pillow. Which had us using the cusions from the couch. The aircon remote in our room was also broken which led some nights to be very chilly in our room as we couldnt adjust the temperature. They also didnt come in once over the 5 days to give us any extra toilet paper or clean the apartment. Other then that the walk to the main strip is only 20 min and the staff are friendly and endearing. Not a bad place, but I wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyMLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your Review . When making a booking through an online booking website it is advisable to check that the room you are booking is going to be comfortable for the number of guests you have.

Like the majority of Self Contained apartments on the East Coast of Australia they are NOT SERVICED DAILY. If your stay is seven days or longer your apartment is serviced mid stay.

We have a 24 hour on site management team who are always happy to go out of their way whether it is during the day or at 1AM in the morning to help if there are any issues with the rooms equipment or anything other annoying matter. All it requires is a phone call to reception to have those uncomfortable items fixed promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
85
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After reading all the good reviews i feel slightly out of place writing this one. On arrival at resort at 6.30pm, office closed and a note on the door to ring a number to get any keys. We rang one which went straight to the office phone and the other was a mobile,we had no australian code. luckily after 10mins a lady appeared and opened the office. We checked in and got the keys, on hindsight alarm should have rang when she told us that there was some trouble with some noisty guests at the rear part of the hotel and to let her know if we heard any noise.We had one of the two poolside apartments which on first view we thought terrific.Good apartment size ,but with slighty dated furniture,bedroom good.On first night heard some loud man talking and swearing and just thought it was guests above us or at the rear of us. On the second night excessive swearing and very loud aggresive talking and shouting. Realised this was from the apartment next door that went on and on. Eventually my husband knocked on the wall and asked them to be quiet, to which some abuse came back but they did quieten down. Next day as we were out on a trip all day i rang the reception and told the lady it was not acceptable, she would have words with manager. On returning we spoke to the manager who apologised but as the apartment was owner occupied and they had family members staying there was not much he could do but have a word with them. Asked to be moved but they fully booked but the guests in question were booking out next morning.So to bed we went and luckily that night no noise until 4am when they were packing to leave.
Sorry this is an essay but just had to unwind.One more point no clean towels for four days.
Great location but..................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we endeavour to contact all guests who are arriving late to arrange a suitable key pick up, as we had no contact details we left a notice. We operate with 24 hour onsite management, they physically can't be in the reception 24/7 so we have a intecom /mobile system which is very efficient.

Like the majority of self contained apartments on the East Coast of Australia, the apartments are not SERVICED DAILY, if you stay 7 days or longer we provide a full service midstay.

It is disappointing that you did not contact the on site management the instant you had a noise problem at any time during the evening, the matter could have been resolved quickly and would have been less stressfull for yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying here when our original accommodation fell through at short notice over Christmas/New year period. The management were great in providing a room for a couple of nights. The location was fabulous with great views and the apartments couldn't really be faulted. The only downside was that there is a strep hill climb to the rooms and no lifts to upper floors, so be prepared to carry your bags. If you have any mobility problems or want to be right in the middle of the action, then this isn't the place for you, but otherwise I would recommend whole heartedly.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we stayed longer. The room was huge and had everything we needed. the blaconey was a great place to eat breakfast in the morning. The pools were great for relaxing. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was great. It is in a beautiful location by the water and it is a nice walk to the town. It is easy to get to the marina to go snorkelling. The hotel is great for families or couples. We would def go back and stay here again. The restaurant was closed every day that we were there so not sure if the food is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very Comfortable, quiet and out of the way from Airlies Beach itself. However, it is conveniently close enough to walk to Airlies. Perfect location if you are doing Reef trips as it is only a 5 minute walk via the boardwalk to Abel Point Marina. Great views over the Marina itself. John was very helpful and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbydelaZouch
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at Shingley Beach for a few days whilst travelling in Queensland. Quiet location and our studio apartment was spacious and had excellent views of the marina - one minor negative was the lack of a fan in the shower room. Walking into Airlie Beach along the boardwalk kept us fit though we used taxis at night as the boardwalk is poorly lit, the area around the complex isn't on a bus route and there is no footpath along the main road.
The restaurant wasn't open during our stay though there are plenty of options in Airlie Beach itself if you don't mind the walk or have transport available.
The staff at the complex were very pleasant and helpful and Shingley Beach is a pleasant place to spend a few days though would recommend having a car if you want to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Shingley about half a dozen times now: always like the rooms, big and spacious, and great views. Shingley is tucked away from the noise and bustle of Airlie, but still close with the great boardwalk. Food was very good this time. Always good value.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Apartments
Sea Star Apartments
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Azure Sea Whitsunday
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Property: Shingley Beach Resort
Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing