We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet base for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shingley Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great quiet base for the family”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great apartment, tucked away from the main street of Airlie but great for a base if going on any reef tours. Great views of Abel Point marina, nice just watching the boats come and go. Easy boardwalk stroll into town or Cannonvale. Pools/BBQ area clean and user friendly. Quiet spot but not far from anything, nice park out front. Service was prompt and there if needed, but we were happily left alone. Apartments have everything you need, comfy beds, great for family of 4. Would stay here again, might try the 2 level 3 brm apartment for the best views ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateI960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
85
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great large clean rooms ideal for families! Nice view and only a short walk to the shops. Very quiet location. We will definitely be staying here next time we visit Airlie Beach. The price was very competitive there wasn't a minimum number of nights we had to book in for like several other places we looked at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyson123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a fabulous location for anybody either wishing to go to the Whitsundays or just relax and enjoy the mainland. A lovely decked walk to Airlie Beach walking along the marina. Coffee stops, and restaurants along the way. Perfect spot and very quiet away from the busy nightlife at the same time.The only negative was no lift and quiet a lot of stairs, no suitable for unfit people.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your review. The resort has one lift which services the Front pool area, disabled unit and the Wedding Reception / Conference Venue , situated outside the ground floor reception office . From the rear car parks most units have one/ two flights of stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thredbo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A good value property in a great location close to Able Point Marina with great views of the boats and the islands in the distance.

Rooms are clean and well maintained and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Propsero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review we agree it's a great quiet location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Shingley Beach Resort for 4 nights. Found the apartment to be of a high standard and very clean. After looking at the position of some of the accomodation this was perfect. Probably a 15 minute walk either side to the shops and the township of Airlie Beach.
The staff was friendly and helpful when booking tours. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connolly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
thank you for your rewiew it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed @ Shingley Beach for 4 night in August 2012, at the end of our Australian tour.
The rooms are very comfortable, with all necessary facilities and services
We also had a room with an outstanding view on the beach.
The swimming pools are small but we were the only guests there...it almost looked like our private pool (we spent half a day there to relax at the end of our excursions)
The only minor issues are the distance from Airlie Beach center if you don' like to walk (it's a beautiful 20 minutes walk on the beach) and the courtesy of the Manager, that is not an extremely friendly person...
Thumbs up for all the rest!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreabartoccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. There is a Waterfront boardwalk all along the Waterfront at Airlie beach and passes right in front of the Resort . 15 minutes west of is the Whitsunday Shopping centre featuring Coles, Target, BWS & Celebration bottle shops , all the mayor banks and other food & speciality shops. 15 minutes East is Airlie village where al the Alfresco dining , cafes, nightclubs , bars and tourist shops are .

We apologise that our office relief manager wasn't his normal cheerful helpful self. We are menbers of the Whitsunday Smile campaign and know what a friendly welcome can mean when travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed a week on holidays and found the view fantastic. We were able to walk or drive which ever took our fancy. The studio apartment which was ideal for two people. This is a place that we would recommend for a good quiet time.

Room Tip: First floor rooms and above offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank your your review , the upper level Studios do have better views of the marina activity and the Pioneer Bay . You can see clearly Double Cone islands and any of the large Cruse Liners when they visit Airlie Beach & the Whitsundays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Apartments
Sea Star Apartments
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Azure Sea Whitsunday
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Property: Shingley Beach Resort
Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing