We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything as promised - Just what we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Boathaven Spa Resort
Long Beach CA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Everything as promised - Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

First, many thanks to the reviewers here on TripAdvisor, as that is how we found Boathaven Spa Resort. All the reviews are accurate and we’re happy to add to the good news.

The hotel is located across the street from the new marina, just around the corner from the main part of town. When the work on the marina is done, the location will be excellent. It’s just a 5 minute walk into town (and a bottle shop is one of the first businesses you come to) and far enough out to be away from the lively nightlife of the town, but not so far as you can’t be in the middle of it in a few minutes.

We were just getting off a sailboat after 5 days, so were thrilled to find out our king spa suite was ready for us around noon. The room is very large, it’s clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We were happy to have laundry facilities in the room, as we had a lot to wash. There is one complimentary package of washing powder and more can be purchased for A$1 from the front desk. Kelli was as accommodating and friendly as everyone else here has noted.

There is a flat screen TV and DVD player in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, a clock radio, a toaster and an electric tea kettle. I was happy to find a blow dyer in the bathroom.

We enjoyed the private spa on the balcony one evening, sipping a bottle of champagne from the afore-mentioned bottle shop. The spa isn’t quite private enough to skinny dip in during the day, although with lights off in the unit, you’ll be fine at night. We paid A$200 a night for the suite and it seemed a fair price for the location and amenities. Having the laundry meant a lot!

On property there are coin laundry facilities, as well as a pool, a large spa, a gym and a barbecue area. There is parking and there is an elevator. We were VERY happy we did not stay in any of the resorts up the hill. That is a VERY steep hill!! We prefered the 5-7 minute walk and not having to navigate anything steeper than the driveway of the resort.

One morning we had to get up early for a dive trip so we purchased the A$9 breakfast pack from Kelli the night before. The pricing is pretty much in line with what you’ll find in town. It included milk, cereal, coffee and tea, orange juice, an English muffin, butter and jam. The day we left our flight was late in the day and Kelli could only give us a late check-out until 11:30 a.m. as they were going to be full that night. She happily kept our bags for us all day. When we returned to the resort, we were able to hang out by the pool for awhile before the coach came to take us to the airport.

All in all, we'll be happy to come back to Boathaven Spa Resort should we find ourselves in Airlie Beach again. I happily and confidently recommend it to you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    93
    41
    24
    13
See reviews for
46
124
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2009

great place, we stayed there for a week with 2 years old baby. Outside pool was great fun for our daughter. Resort is close to main beach & Airlie Laguna (10 mins walk).
All you need is there: laundry, internet, pools, gym (equipment little bit old but you may use it if you're not a harduser.
Very clean rooms with all you need in the kitchen and for living incl flat LCD.
Kelly was a great help with all bookings, incl. airport transfers.
Only minus is close to main Airlie Beach street and you may eperience street sounds.
Port of Airle is built and is the main view you have from the balconies, but who cares when you spend most of the day out or at the pool. But when the construction is finished this will be the hottest location in the town.
Congratulations Kelly, greetings for your family. Say thanks to your husband for his help with our airport transfer (was hot :-).
Mat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at Boathaven for our honeymoon in early April this year. We couldn't have asked for more from our stay. The staff are always available, but never intrusive. The Resort is small enough to feel personal, but big enough to give you all the features you want on a special holiday. Transfers to and from the airport, recommendations on where to eat, who to do day trips with and where to hire a car for the day were not a problem. Even the offer of an umbrella for a walk into town on the one day it rained on us.
The grounds are gorgeous. There’s the outdoor spa if you happen to book a room without your own private spa. There's also 2 pools, so you always have space if you don't feel like mingling. The larger pool is especially beautiful.
Boathaven is close to town, without being in the middle of everything so you can get some peace and quiet too, when you're not in a party mood.
I'd recommend it without a doubt. Perfect way to start married life.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We travelled all over Australia and stayed in the Whitsundays for a week. I found this resort on the internet and they had a special available for the week we wanted so I booked it. THe rooms look great on the website and I was a bit concerned that for the price it was not going to be up my expectations. Well I was totally wrong. This place was FANTASTIC! Our room was huge with a large balcony including a spa big enough for the two of us and views out to the ocean. It was modernly decorated but not over the top, plasma tv's (which is always nice even though you spend most the time on the deck) Sitting in the evening watching the cruise ship on the horizon, the sail boats bopping up and down, while sitting in a spa with a glass of Pinot was the highlight our trip. The resort managers were great and very very knowledgable about what to do in town, at sea, and around the area. They organised everything for us with out a hitch. They always had time to for a chat. And it's a small world because one of the managers, Kelly, lived about 2 miles from us in America and we went to the same school only years apart. To run into someone in a small town in Australia that knows where you grew up was a bit mindblowing.
The pools are immaculant and very inviting, the BBQ was handy for lunch, and we even had a bush turkey, goanna, cockatoos, and a baby python sited while we lased around the pool one afternoon. Boathaven Spa Resort was the best value for money during our trip and the Whitsundays was the highlight of our vist to Australia.

  • Liked — the great rooms and staff
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iamastar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I recently returned from a 3 night stay here with a group of friends. We rented the 3brm penthouse between 8 of us. The room was actually a 2brm unit with a 1brm studio suite adjoined. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Our favourite part was the spa on the balcony which we used every night. The location is pretty good, about a 5min walk from the main street (up a hill). Very close the the bottleshop and nightowl and close to the lagoon and shops.
Will definitely return next time I visit Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamy_Angel_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terezia 13
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed at the resort for 2 weeks in Dec 2008/Jan 2009, my husband and my 12 y.o. sun and we loved it. The bayview suite was well appointed, very compact, the balcony spa was great, it had everything you need for a holiday unit away from home. It is a family oriented resort, away from the noise of the Airlie Beach village, however in walking distance to the restaurants next door and the once located in the village. The 25m swimming pool was a beauty, the gym and the pool table in the games room kept the boys busy. It is a relatively new resort and everything is in very good condition. The managers Kelli and Damien were very helpful and they helped us book the trips to the islands. We loved it and we will recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Quality of the room
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TereziaTerezia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

well I should start out by saying that we stayed at this hotel about 3.5 yrs ago and since we were traveling back through Airlie Beach we thought that we could stay there again for " old times " sake. WOW, we were extremely impressed by how much work has been done to this lovely hotel. The grounds and gardens are manicured beautifully. The very nice Manager - Kelli Medford was a dream to deal with. Kelli was always able to help us with anything we needed. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Kelli, she is an absoloute pleasure. Her husband, Damien looks after all the gardens etc and I made it a task that before we left, we went and personally told Damien what a difference he has made to the appeal of this hotel, from redesigning some of the gardens to painting etc.
The rooms were also very well maintained, I noticed that there was an Inspector there the day we stayed, he was from AAA as it stated on his shirt. I'm sure he wouldve been impressed.
Kelli told us that they were installing new large flat screen tvs in the majority of rooms - this is great news. Ours got changed the afternoon we arrived, we felt special.

i see above there are some negative comments about the new marina being built, well unfortunately that is progress, we cant change that , it happens everywhere. What I will offer is this thought, I cant wait to see it once it's completed, Boathaven will be in the most sought after location in the whole of Airlie Beach.

congratulations to the managers, Keli and Damien, you will see us again, health permitting of course, as they say.....we arent spring chickens any more

  • Liked — Clean, well maintained and warm friendly careing staff
  • Disliked — having to leave for Cairns
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Glennis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.0 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 54 in Airlie Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Boathaven Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Boathaven Spa Resort

Property: at Boathaven Spa Resort
Address: 440 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — at Boathaven Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Perfect Airlie Beach Accommodation Destination! at Boathaven Spa Resort is located just 250 metres from Airlie Beach, and it is less than a 5 minute leisurely stroll to all the restaurants, cafe's, cocktail bars, shops, boutiques, markets and famous Airlie Beach Lagoon. Every room has free wifi, a balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, the Coral Sea or Boathaven Bay. All apartments are air-conditioned, have ceiling fans, full kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. Some rooms feature romantics spa's on the balcony. The resort offers a large lagoon style swimming pool, complete with tropical waterfall. We offer a sun deck with sun loungers, BBQ area to enjoy with family or friends, complimentary parking, self service laundry facilities, foxtel movies, foxtel sports, free Wi-Fi is available. With the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and Heart Reef on your doorstep, why not book a tour with our tour desk team, we offer great local knowledge, service and we will arrange complimentary pick up and drop off at the resort to maximise your day tour experience. We look forward to welcoming you PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Boathaven Spa Resort enforces a strict NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your at Boathaven Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathaven Hotel Airlie Beach
Boathaven Resort Airlie Beach
At Boathaven Spa Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing