We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at this resort for a few days in March this year. Management were wonderful and went out of their way to ensure we had a plesant stay. We had a lovely room with great views of Airlie beach. The room was very clean and spacious. We will visit again and highly recommend this resort to all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willow43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 304 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

Do not stay here. Terrible service, terrible location - directly opposite a massive construction site - completely blocks any views. We couldn't even stand staying here one night and left as soon as we had arrived. I warn you, this place is awful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rgw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

my daughter and myself stayed for 5 nights there was a little noise around with building only during working hours nothing to bother us i would highly recomend staying here was only a 5 to 7 minute walk into town and great value for the price we stayed in a one bedroom apartment a very nice apartment and management were excellent as we had left some items behind that we did not realize they went out of there way to make sure we got our things they sent them to us so if your looking for a great holiday place to stay then stay here

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djd1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Went there around Christmas time. It wasn't what we expected. It was quite a long walk to the City Centre & if you're carrying shopping or you've had a full day out it gets tiring. The service was average & the room was quite small. Had to ask for toilet paper & they weren't very obliging
The great thing is the spa bath, it overlooks the water and the view was gorgeous. We even had some parrots visit us on the balcony.
We stayed for 4 nights & it was quite pleasant.
What left a sour taste was we got ripped off. We booked online & paid $150/night. I noticed that they had a special notice which said "stay for 4 nights & pay for 3 nights". I asked whether we could pay for 3 nights only, the manager said no.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

This Resort was a level walk to Airlie Beach town, we even had the bus at the door if you didn't want the 7 minute walk, the resort is very convenient. Level walk in the other direction is the Tavern for cheap pub meals there is also an onsite Thai restaurant.
(Beware that 90% of the other apartments in Arilie Beach are a walk up the hill side with no transport to get to them unless you take a taxi. (the others don't tell you that when you book)).

This resort had accommodation for families with separate bedrooms (two bathrooms) and views that are unbelievable. The separate 1 bedroom apts are the best, plus you get the extra sofa in each for additional people. Or if you have a big group like us we had co-joined 1 bedroom apts with fantastic views from the front units. Ask for the front rooms with views.

The rooms are spacious, clean & modern, beautiful views out over the Whitsundays from the balconies. We relaxed and read around the pool when we were exhaused after boats trips.

Highly recommended for location, views, accommodation and cost.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LovetheWhitsundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
210
Reviewed March 14, 2006

Totally agree with last review which i read!
looked so so lovely on the web but in reality was not so good.

From the outside this place looks lovely but inside is not as good and right next to it they are developing a new hotel.

The room was quite small and cramped and we were on a
3 week holiday and had 2 big cases and a holdall, we struggled to move round the room.

The bathroom was quite dirty considering we had to wait before checking into our room because it was being "cleaned".

The bathroom was quite grubby and when you turned the spa bath on some kind of black grim came out of the jets! not very romantic!!!!

I must say out of all of this negativity there are some posotives. Airlie beach is beautiful and such an amazing place man made lagoon is 2nd to none and the view the hotel offers are fantastic post card like!

You must take a trip to whitsunday island (dont bother with the others)as it is the most beautiful island and we totally loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2006

My fiance and I stayed here for 5 nights towards the end of December and were dissapointed. We were told it has a four star rating but personally it would bearly rate it a 3 star in my books.
It is bearly 4 years old and is showing signs of deterioration on the interior. The curtains were comming off their tracks and we had to climb up and down on a chair to open and close them each day and they had mildew on them through lack of ventilation in the bathroom. We had a bayview spa suite. The bathroom windows had curtains that were roughly cut off so they were much to short and fraying and people could see in from the other side of the road. There was no ventilation in the bathroom so it became like a sauna and you were sweating as soon as you got out of the shower. The shower was over the spa so you had to climb into the spa to stand and have a shower(next to the window with the uneven and the way to short curtains. The shower curtain that separated the shower/spa with the bathroom that also contained the toilet was missing, the hooks were there but no curtain, so the floor became a huge puddle of water and soaked your clothes that you had on the floor because there was no where to put them while you were in the shower/spa. The water from the shower also splashed onto all the dry towels on the rail and soaked them, so nothing was safe from the water in the bathroom.
We requested a shower curtain 3 times during our stay and was told each time that it will be put up for us but it never did and we were given extra towels to soak up the big puddles on the floor, instead of having the curtain we needed. There was a liquid soap dispenser above the shower/spa which was hard to apply to your body without a flannel or face washer. A cake of soap would have been better.
The toiletries were cheap, small and very basic, bearly enough quantity for two people to use. Not what I would expect from a 4 star resort. Minimum amount of towels except to soak up puddles on floor. Kitchenette facilities extremely minimal and basic and there was hardly enough room for the table and chairs in the room that it blocked the access to the wardrobe. There was also lots of some kind of wasp nests or cocoons on many room doors.
The only good point of the room was the balcony and the view, which we did enjoy in the evenings.
Don't be fooled by the exterior of the resort. It does look impressive from the outside but not good on the inside. Not really a resort at all. The construction was still happening next door but never disturbed us at all.
Next time we visit Airlie Beach we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J0nelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
4.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 57 in Airlie Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#22 of 57 in Airlie Beach
208 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#40 of 57 in Airlie Beach
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mango House Resort
Best Western Mango House Resort
#1 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Address: 1 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $107 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing