We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
mackay
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced for what you get.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not bad if your paying $100 for the night but $170 for a night is a joke.

-No free wifi
-Instructed to not turn the AC below 23’c
-told to take the rubbish out when we leave

The view was the only +

We booked this for a romatic getaway and expected there to be a view from the spa as shown on the images on wotif.

The spa was stuck in a windowless bathroom :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard_hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    85
    39
    36
    41
See reviews for
41
156
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a nice place to stay with my partner. Found the website and looked at the pictures and it looked lovely..

We turned up only for it to be the absolute opposite of what it was meant to be. We stayed in the ocean view spa suite. Promised it was going to be a romantic spa room.

It was an old shoe box room. The kitchen had no where to cook. And the promised romantic spa was a very old bathroom with a tiny spa that could hardly fit us both in it.

The couch was old with stains on it and the bed was average..

The view was problably the best part of it ( if you can take away the fact that you can see in next doors window).

The pool and jacuzzi down the bottom were ok. A little dirty and 2 of the 4 jacuzzi buttons didnt work. We used the bbq by the pool twice it was also a highlight of the stay here.

It was not an overly cheap stay here either. Was expecting a lovely romantic place to come back to after our fun in Airlie and was giving an average and dated room.

If your looking for somewhere just to come to at night and wont be in there for long then I guess its fine. If you are looking for a romantic get away dont let the pictures fool you. THE PICTURES ARE NOT OF THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We managed to buy cheap tickets via Discover Australia which meant we got good value for what we paid as we wouldn't have paid more - basically it's a basic accomodation. Room was dated but very clean and functional with small balcony to sit on. Bedding and towels were lovely and clean, crisp white and pillows were nice. Balcony overlooks a road and roundabout which can be busy but as we were high up the noise didn't affect us and beyond the road overlooks Airlie beach harbor and boats so a lovely view if the harbor. Thai restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit for a takeaway and reception service was professional, fast and efficient. Overall a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonltmealter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Compact one bedroomed self contained apartment. Fabulous views from the balcony, but unfortunately lots of traffic noise as the apartment block is located right beside a roundabout on the main road from Airlie Beach to Shute Harbour. Decor was a little tired and the sofa was very uncomfortable, but otherwise the furnishings were good, with plenty of cutlery and crockery in the kitchen, a microwave, good sized fridge and stove. Washing machine and dryer was shared with the adjacent unit. The complex has a nice pool and jacuzzi, plus a clean and tidy barbecue area. There's a Thai restaurant and take-away within the complex which is reasonably priced. The apartment complex is a short walk from the main township with a variety of eateries. A walk in the opposite direction towards Shute Harbour is the Jubilee Hotel which has very good meals.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After getting so many ridiculous prices at other places it was pleasing to find this oasis!!! The rooms were comfy as was the Jacuzzi, the hosts friendly and welcoming. We will be definately staying here again for a longer time next time.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony over looking the Whitsundays is awesome really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was one of the cheaper options in Arlie Beach, but certainly not the cheapest. We chose it because we just needed a place to sleep upon arrival in Arlie and then a place to sleep after our trip out to the Whithaven Beach the next day.

Choosing this hotel was a huge mistake:

1. Reception closes at 6. I buzzed whomever the buzzer rings and they told me my room number and said the keys were inside the room! This is not a safe idea for so many reasons so I left my wife and kids in the car and went up to retrieve the keys. Each pair of rooms share a common entry way (think tiny closet). My neighbors were certainly there, because I could hear them loud and clear.

2. First impression upon entering the room: wow, this place stinks. It smelled like a place that was previously a smoking room and had now been converted to non-smoking. Sorry, that doesn’t work.

3. The velour couch was big and creepy - certainly a sweat magnet for anyone who sits on it. I kept my family off it.

4. The bed was low, uncomfortable, and had only a sheet. It was reasonably clean (read: slightly stained). There were blankets in the closet and they were also in the same "lived-in" condition.

5. The ocean view was one of the worst ocean views I have experienced. The room overlooked some abandoned area that was flooded with pipes and hoses everywhere. If you could block out all the ugliness, then the view would be quite nice I suppose.

6. You can see in your neighbor’s rooms (and vice versa) from your living space. My wife and I were looking out at the ugly view when we looked left and saw a shirtless man lying on his bed. Needless to say, we closed the old-school curtains right away.

7. The hotel is in walking distance of the city, but think: long walk along a main road, not walk along a beach.

8. The walls in the rooms are so paper thin you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor does and says. And if your neighbors are up late, you will be too. We were. Also, there is a window above the bed in the bedroom that opens out to the back walkway to the rooms. There is a curtain, but it doesn't quite block out all the light the outdoor greenish fluorescent lights put out. It certainly doesn’t block out all the people who walk back and forth past it from looking in (or just stopping to fight).

9. When we woke in the morning, tiny little ants had invaded and ruined all our snack food. Welp, there went breakfast. Sorry kids.

On the bright side, our trip to Whitehaven beach on Whitsunday Island was incredible. If I were to go again, I'd pay the extra money to get some sleep and stay down the street. I won't say where so as not to be accused of being a shill for another resort.

The price we paid was $129 a night. For that price I don't expect much. This hotel gave me even less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hargler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped here on our journey up the coast on our honeymoon. We got a cheap deal and were not expecting much.

Firstly, we mentioned to the receptionist that we were on honeymoon and she gave us some wine and chocolate. They also gave us all the information that we needed to book tours to the whitsundays.

The facilities were great. Lovely barbecue area. Lovely pool and spa tub. The restaurant in the hotel is pricey; we got a take away and this was lovely.

The apartment was phenomenal! We had a lovely balcony overlooking the bay. The sitting room had a small kitchen with fridge, a couch and a big tv. The air con was lovely also.

It's a short stroll to the centre.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a high room for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#23 of 54 in Airlie Beach
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sea Vista Apartments
Coral Sea Vista Apartments
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Property: at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Address: 1 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing