We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. Location is 15 minutes walking from the main shopping area. If you get there after 6pm nobody is there to check you in. You have to call and make sure they leave the room open. Room is old and small. You have to throw out your own trash. I would not stay here at the full rate and I would not even stay here at $100 per night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MINIMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina A, Managing Director at at Whitsunday Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear minimd,

Thank you for your recent review, we certainly appreciate honest feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay, I would like to clarify some points in regards to your feedback

1. Google Maps confirms the property is located 700m from Airlie Beach, I have personally walked this distance in just under 5 minutes, typically we advise guests we are less than 10 minutes walk to Airlie Beach. Keep in mind we are 200m from the Port of Airlie, opened in April 2011, welcome to the latest Airlie Beach Fashion & Dining Precinct. Discover a place where you are just a short walk from shops, restaurants and recreational facilities.

2. Like the majority of self catering apartment style accommodation, reception is not open 24 hours nor do we advertise reception being open 24 hours, however our friendly team are available to attend to any needs 24 hours a day. We welcome late arriving guests most days, if an Australian mobile is available we extend a courtesy SMS to advise of late arrival details, the proceedures in place would appear quite effective.

3. Room is "old and small", this is a vague remark, as you booked our studio style accommodation which is marginally larger than a standard hotel room. We also offer 1 Bedroom Spa Suites and 1 Bedroom Apartments both offering separate bedroom and living space.

4. "You have to throw out your own trash", we encourage guests to utilise the refuse bins located at the property, it is not compulsory. The property is self catering apartment style accommodation, some guests stay weeks at a time, we offer daily or weekly servicing, the tariff you booked did not include daily servicing, if you had preferred daily housekeeping service our team are only to happy to oblige, accordingly a daily housekeeping tariff would apply.

5. Your reference to the accommodation rate is perplexing, we pride ourselves in offering excellent value for money, and having reviewed your reservation I note you enjoyed an exceptionally good value tariff less than $100 per night.

I sincerely hope you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, perhaps our marvellous restaurant, beautiful swimming pool, heated outdoor Jacuzzi or our outdoor BBQ...if you did not have an opportunity to enjoy these facilities I trust you at least enjoyed the magnificent view over Boathaven Bay and to the magical Whitsunday Islands.

I would be happy to discuss your feedback in person (or via Skype from Atlanta) at any stage.

Sincere regards

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Located a touch out of the center but if you don't mind a 10 minutes walk to the main strip with bars and restaurants this is your premises. Very nice self-catering apartment with fantastic view from your balcony. Kitchenette with microwave but no cooking facilities. Comfi bed which allows you a nice sleep. The balcony was quite big with two chairs and a table so you can enjoy the great view during sunrise. Parking lots (also undercover) are available free of charge which was a big plus. Also washing machine and dryer are located at your front door which doesn't cost extra. The sofa was a bit run down but then again we haven't booked the "Grand Hyatt". All in all Whitsunday Vista is very good value for money, would book again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandmspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located only just out of town, this property provided commanding views over the surrounds and water. Lifts from the car park to the rooms, reception, and restaurant were of great assistance after a long day out or for anyone with limited mobility. In summary, the property delivered all that promised and at very reasonable rates. Very friendly and helpful staff enhanced the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located only just out of town, this property provided commanding views over the surrounds and water.Lifts from the car park to the rooms, reception and restaurant were a great assistance to those with weary legs after a day out. In summary, the property delivered all that it promised and at very competitive rates. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff were very friendly, the rooms very clean and i thought very good value for money. Close to town, was only a short stroll to the shops, markets on saturday and the lovely restaurants in Airlie beach. the pool was wonderful and they even had a thai restaurant just downstairs. the little kitchen was well equipped if you wanted to buy your own breakfast like cereal or toast but you would not be able to cook up a breakfast. great place to stay to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Perfect position, very friendly and helpful managers nothing is too much trouble, great units ,very comfortable ,great views, will definitely be going back, we recommend Whitsunday Vista Resort for a great value for money holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowstrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had an awesome stay at this resort. The facilities and position were perfect (perhaps a little far to walk home from a night out - but taxi's are easy to find and very reasonably priced). The staff were very helpful and courteous. We had been traveling from NSW to QLD for a few weeks and booking our accommodation through Wotif. This motel proved to be one of the best ones we had stayed in. Having a washer and dryer as well as a separate lounge room was a nice change. We liked it so much we extended our stay by two extra nights - the staff were most helpful with this ensuring that we did not have to change rooms to do so. We now live in Mackay and look forward to having a few weekends away at Airlie where we will stay at The Whitsunday Vista Resort for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
4.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#25 of 56 in Airlie Beach
613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#42 of 56 in Airlie Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#31 of 56 in Airlie Beach
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mango House Resort
Best Western Mango House Resort
#1 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Address: 1 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $113 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing