We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, disappointed”

La Tabella Trattoria
Ranked #7 of 105 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days All day dining Full Table Service Outdoor seating Views Private air conditioned function room Cocktail Bar Homemade pastas Fresh locally caught seafood Morning and afternoon Tea
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There for the Airlie Beach music festival, on Sunday night decided to have dinner with 10 friends. Service was good, but food was average. Maybe under the pump, but still disappointing for a bill over $450 with 4 kids out of the 10 pax. Would try again, wasn't terrible, just not to the level we expected.

Thank matt094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leni F, Owner at La Tabella Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Matt094,

Thanks so much for joining us for dinner last Sunday night .....yes it was a very busy weekend here in Airlie Beach for the music festival. It was a great success for the town and hope you enjoyed the bands and the fabulous atmosphere.

We are disappointed that you felt we are overpriced.
There was only 1 large table on Sunday night, so it was very easy to go back into the computer and print out your receipt, which comes to $324.80.and not $450. as you claim. Appreciate if you could edit your review.......
or perhaps you have given us the wrong day or confused us with another restaurant...?

Nevertheless thank you for complimenting our service and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in Airlie Beach.

Kind regards
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,054 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Water views in the upmarket end of town...very pleasant. It was a hot day but fortunately the breeze was very pleasant. Service was fantastic. The food was good, except they had run out of gnocchi. We decided to substitute with a fettucine. Not a good idea as it was way too rich. Overall a great experience.

Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just walked into the restaurant on a week day for dinner.
The service was good and the server friendly.
The menu feels like it is lacking something. We had the pizza. There was not a big choice. I settled for the mushroom and my husband picked one with some meat on it. It was scattered with some Italian sausage. I would have liked something more substantial on it.
The base made up for the lack of toppings . Seriously the BEST base I have ever eaten.
The restaurant has tons of appeal better than the surrounding eateries , It could be number one if they changed or added to the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maryado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leni F, Owner at La Tabella Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

maryado,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Appreciate your feedback on the pizza toppings and variety......
Chef has introduced a Pizza of the Day, and increased the toppings accordingly.
It's most helpful when reviewers actually tell you what dish they had, and provide constructive feedback, instead of just saying 'we didn't enjoy our food'.....??? not very helpful.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding our pizza dough ( all homemade) and our appeal compared to surrounding restaurants.
We have taken your comments on board, as we strive to be the best in Airlie Beach.

Warmest regards
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently had the good fortune to start the celebrations for my 80th birthday with a lunch at La Tabella. We were a group of 12 with people coming and going but that did not faze Leni and her wonderful team. Hot delicious food was brought to the table throughout the long lazy lunch and the service, led by Leni herself, was impeccable. When you read some of the negative reports on this site, you have to wonder if they were in the same restaurant! It was a gracious experience and I cannot recommend Leni and La Tabella highly enough. Think I may have to make a booking for my 90th!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LRJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leni F, Owner at La Tabella Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear LRJ1950,

Thank you so much for celebrating your special day with us and your kind words.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your birthday long lunch celebration and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Airlie Beach.
Congratulations on your 'OBE' award your friends presented you with....'Over Bloody Eighty'

Warmest regards and every best wish for the year ahead.
Leni and the team at La Tabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
64
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

For a full table service restaurant, we felt like we were seated and forgotten about. We were seated, given table water and asked if we wanted coffee, tea or juice. Our second coffee and breakfast order we had to signal to the waitress we were ready to order.

Coffee and food was good, although my partner specified eggs cooked with hard yolk, but they came out runny. For only 3 other tables being seated, we waited too long for our food.

Halfway through our meal however, a woman turned up, in plain clothes, put on an apron and started playing around with the till, so I assumed she must have been a manager or perhaps owner. But the way she talked to the staff was unbelievable. She was incredibly rude.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leni F, Owner at La Tabella Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear A TripAdvisormember,

It saddens me to read your review as we are striving to create a point of diiference by providing table service instead of having to queue up and wait to order at a counter.
We apologise for the eggs being runny instead of firm...chef would've gladly re cooked them for your husband, had it been bought to our attention.

You mention that you had to wait too long....it's difficult for me to respond as no time was actually given...what does one classify as too long??

You also mention someone turned up and popped on an apron at the register.
Aprons are generally put on inside...nevertheless I'm struggling to respond to your comments that the person was rude.
Operating a restaurant, or any business for that matter, and sorry if you have your own business as you would be aware, has its daily challenges...throw in long hours, lack of sleep and one could be forgiven for being a bit short....I'm sorry you felt the need to comment and unfortunately we are unable to contact you personally via email to aplogise as you have not reviewed any other restaurants.

Thank you for your comments...we would value the opportunity to make right and shout your husband a breakfast when next in Airlie Beach.

Regards
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tabella Trattoria also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to La Tabella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing