We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Moorings with my partner for 8 nights over New Year, and had just a wonderful time. Peter and Glenn are fabulously welcoming and accommodating hosts, and Glenn cooks some mean scrambled eggs! Our room was immaculate, so clean and tidy, lovely touches with flowers left in the room, and my favourite - a cafetiere and packet of fresh coffee that was replaced throughout our stay. Breakfast was blissful - so gorgeous to come out onto the deck to a spotless white linened table, and a beautiful fruit platter (Peter became quickly accustomed to our requests for extra toast so after a couple of days we didn't even need to ask!). Watching the lorikeets jostle over their water was rather magical. And the hammock was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine of an evening :-) A slight walk up and down the hill to the main stretch, but not an issue and well worth it to be away from the hustle and bustle of Airlie Beach to relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the harbour. I would recommend to anyone and should we return to the Whitsundays, will be sure to go back. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Having the room right next to the pool made it feel like our own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
133
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent with my friend Stefanie three days at Whitsunday Moorings B&B and we just wanted to stay...

We both travel a lot in the world but never stayed at a place as lovely and beautiful as this B&B. Really no luxury hotel can compete with it!

Peter & Glenn the hosts of Whitsunday Moorings are one of a kind: extremly friendly, helpful and caring - felt like family... In their cosy library they even booked all the trips to the Withsundays for us. The treatment couldn't have been better!

The rooms are just georgeous in every detail, lovely decorated and of course totally clean. They have all their one little terrace with a stunning view over the harbour of Airlie Beach. Surrounded by beautiful green gardens with a cosy pool to relax, relax, relax...

Every morning Peter & Glenn served us a no1-breakfast on our own terrace with fresh fruits, fresh juice, the best omelette ever and again lots of love in every detail... There was even our German national flag besides beautiful flower-decoration on our table!

WE JUST LOVED THIS PLACE AND OF COURSE PETER & GLENN!! We want to come back as soon as possible...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I debated a long time as to whether to stay on Hamilton Island or use Airlie Beach as our Whitsunday base. I'm so glad I chose Airlie Beach and Moorings B&B.

Peter is a perfect host. The breakfasts he prepares each morning were our favorite during our whole trip to Australia. Freshly squeezed OJ, poached eggs, sautéed mushrooms, ham, toast... You name it. He will also book your tours for you, which was nice. (Speaking of which, DO NOT MISS the Whitehaven Xpress tour, it was the BEST).

The back deck is perfect for breakfast and watching the sunset. We loved watching the birds in the morning as well. It's a short walk to the marina and into town for dinner (we liked: Mr. Bones for pizza, Fish d'vine, and Village Cafe).

When you arrive on the ferry from Hamilton Island though, you'll want to take a taxi or shuttle up the hill with your bags. Shuttle is only $3 per person. (Be aware... Ferry from Hamilton is $45 each).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Our 4 night stay at Whitsunday Moorings was great. Peter is a wonderful host. He gave us good tips on tours and even booked them for us. Could not ask for better service. Breakfast was as beautiful as it was delicious. We especially enjoyed the flock of lorikeets!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exuberant_Traveller, Owner at Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you, we really enjoyed your company, just watch those Louisiana alligators next time you will have to meet one of our salty crocodiles but not as breakfast !- Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Peter made us feel at home. The views from the terrace were breathtaking and the birds that frequent the garden were delightful. The room was clean and spacious, with a great attention to detail. Watching the sunset from the pool deck was spectacular and the breakfast that Peter prepared for us was the best that we had during our three week holiday. Upon arrival to town, it may be advisable to have a car or taxi service take you to the b&b, as it is an uphill climb. Walking from Abel Point Marina is possible but tiresome and lengthy when carrying bags. Once we settled in, walking to town and back was no problem at all. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VYtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The host, Peter, runs a wonderful b&b with a view of the marina. He was welcoming and accommodated our every need. The breakfast and service is better than any five start resort we've been to and the place instantly felt like home. Incredibly reasonable prices. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSnorkelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed at Whitsunday Moorings for 2 days in July 2012. The place is gorgeous. The back deck is surrounded by tropical plants and lorikeets come twice a day to the feeder. The back deck overlooks the harbor and the sun sets right there. you couldn't have a better view. The owners Peter and Glenn were very nice and the breakfast was excellent (fresh fruit, hot and cold breakfast, the works). They are a good resource for local information and recommendations. Overall, the best part is their attention to detail. Everything you need, in just the right place.

Room Tip: There probably isn't a best room, since there are only a few in the house. They all overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exuberant_Traveller, Owner at Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much Glenn for your kind comments, we trust you enjoyed your visit to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Address: 37 Airlie Cres, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simply stunning breakfast with awe inspiring views"There are few places in the world to welcome in the morning than over a sumptuos 'A La Carte' breakfast served on fine china at Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast. This is a place to play out your billionaire lifestyle fantasies, gazing on the marina below and dreaming the shiniest boat is yours. Whitsunday Moorings has just 2 air conditioned suites (more like apartments) incorporating all the right touches such as crisply starched linen and luxurious Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. The scene is flourishing, bird filled tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and a short stroll from Airlie Beach village. But why leave when one can bask on ones own private balcony, poolside, overlooking the panoramic views of Pioneer Bay and busy marina below. The local tour boats are geering up for their exciting day ahead sailing out on the hazy horizon, past the sleepy Whitsunday Islands of the Coral Sea and onto the Great Barrier Reef and beyond.Both suites feature private terrace with Spectacular Views, self contained for light meals eg. fridge, micro wave,etc.Daily Serviced and Air Conditioned.Full traditional breakfast consisting of freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of tropical seasonal fruit, followed by a variety of cereals, a choice of hot main dishes, breads and jams, coffee and teas. After this feast you won't want to eat for a while beleive me.The rooms also feature full Foxtel Satellite, 100+ TV channels, ensuite, shower, hairdryer, toiletries.Computer and full wireless facilities for laptops. Come,and let us pamper you at Whitsunday Moorings BnB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitsunday Moorings Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Moorings Bed And Breakfast Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing