We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother unless you dodnr sleep until 3am”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The YHA is directly behind a nighclub that is very loud until 3am. Fine if your at the nightclub, a very sound sleeper or a party animal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed here wile backpacking with my nephew; the hostel itself was very basic but was by far the cheapest YHA we stayed in so I can’t complain for what we paid. The room we shared was tiny; just enough room to get two beds in and our bags but again it was so cheap I got what I expected. The shower was shared but only between us and another room so never any problem getting to use it.
There was a good size pool to cool of in as it was so hot and I was very glad of the air con in our room.
My only real disappointment was that we were there Christmas week and every other hostel was advertising Christmas meals but this one didn’t do them which we were a little disappointed about as we wanted to meet some people to share Christmas with. I think they would also benefit from more computers for people to use the internet from as we found it very hard to get on the internet as there all ways seemed to be some one hogging it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed there with a friend in May this year. Wanted a good place to start a trip to the whitsundays the other day. We travelled by car and when a called to book a private double room, I was told we would have a parking space. Because If you have to leave your car for 3 days in Airlie, you can not put in anywhere! There are places you have to move your car every 1 hour. Other places, where you can leave the car for long terms, did have machines to pay which did not take the money.... So we had the first problem there.
The staff was so unhelpfull and rude. They let me wait for 20 minutes, because the girl was chatting to a friend. She just arrogant.
Well the rooms are very small. You almost find no place to open your suitcase. The bedlinen were dirty and underneath them was plastic. How disgusting is this?! Bathroom was quite clean. We stored our luaggage in a dirty garage and they even took 5 dollars each suitcase! Kitchen was dirty too.
The place is quite good located, but (in a double room) way to expensive. You'd rather go to a cheap motel with more comfort for that price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

A very nice place near the beach and very nice shop and restaurant. As all YHA Hostels Chain, the structure and cleanliness is very good but if you look for entertainment go elsewhere. Recommended!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
Thank TripMasterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked here since we had YHA cards and were staying mainly in YHA's in Oz. Staff were friendly but hostel is not up to YHA standard and is more like a rundown motel. Location is at end of strip in Airlie right beside really noisy bar. If you are backpacking like us, would recommend staying in Magnums which we also stayed and it's really central, much cheaper and heaps better overall!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelGirl09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

It's tired and dated and admittedly our stay was dampened by the torrential downpour and that fact that everyone in the town seemed completely hungover at 4pm on 1st January. It's fine but if you've stayed at ECO Beach YHA for the same money it will seem like a complete rip off. We had a private double with shared bathroom, strip lighting and slightly dirty looking sheets didn't make the place welcoming. The staff were friendly though. It's the sort of place that gets away without making a bit of effort because the town will always be full of backpackers in a steady stream to the Whitsundays. It is quiet at least, as there are a lot of loud backpacker hostels along the same strip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Basic with not a lot of atmosphere. Nice kitchen and rooms and well organised. It has a pool. No bar. Not great for meeting people but brilliant for staying either side of your Whisunday trip. Good value and you can leave your stuff they during your trip. It's in a good location near the sea front which has some good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 57 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 57 in Airlie Beach
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 57 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#46 of 57 in Airlie Beach
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $46 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing