We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as all the YHA hostels”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good as all the YHA hostels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

A very nice place near the beach and very nice shop and restaurant. As all YHA Hostels Chain, the structure and cleanliness is very good but if you look for entertainment go elsewhere. Recommended!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TripMasterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
11
61
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked here since we had YHA cards and were staying mainly in YHA's in Oz. Staff were friendly but hostel is not up to YHA standard and is more like a rundown motel. Location is at end of strip in Airlie right beside really noisy bar. If you are backpacking like us, would recommend staying in Magnums which we also stayed and it's really central, much cheaper and heaps better overall!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

It's tired and dated and admittedly our stay was dampened by the torrential downpour and that fact that everyone in the town seemed completely hungover at 4pm on 1st January. It's fine but if you've stayed at ECO Beach YHA for the same money it will seem like a complete rip off. We had a private double with shared bathroom, strip lighting and slightly dirty looking sheets didn't make the place welcoming. The staff were friendly though. It's the sort of place that gets away without making a bit of effort because the town will always be full of backpackers in a steady stream to the Whitsundays. It is quiet at least, as there are a lot of loud backpacker hostels along the same strip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

Basic with not a lot of atmosphere. Nice kitchen and rooms and well organised. It has a pool. No bar. Not great for meeting people but brilliant for staying either side of your Whisunday trip. Good value and you can leave your stuff they during your trip. It's in a good location near the sea front which has some good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

Having stayed at other YHAs in Australia we were expecting a certain standard, but how this is still in the YHA family I do not know, it was terrible. We had a twin with a shared bathroom. It was run down and dirty. The staff were terrible too, when we asked if there was a shuttle bus to the airport the conversation was like something out of 'Little Britain'. Yes there was a shuttle bus.... pause. Q how much is it?.......pause $15. Q can I book it.......pause yes. Q can I book it then please? Vacant behind the eyes. The toilet by the pool was thoroughly disgusting, it didnt look as though it had been cleaned for an epoch.
Airlie was looking pretty run down, but there seemed to be better hostels towards the front.

The YHA needs to get a grip of this place, knock it down and start again or give it a thorough clean and please give the staff some customer service training.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is not the nicest YHA's you'll ever see, but it's still OK and certainly not bad.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here for a night before heading off on a 3 night Whitsunday tour on the Ron of Argyll. There is nothing wrong with this hostel. It just wasn't good value for money. Our double room was, but quite small and with v noisy air con, which kept me awake. Would have turned it off but as we were overlooking the main street, opening the windows meant you then got the noise from the bars in the evening and the rubbish trucks in the morning.

Also, their baggage storage is a bit dodgy. They charge more than other hostels to keep your bag in a garrage that anyone can enter. We decided to use the baggage storage in the PeterPans travel agents instead, which was cheaper and more secure.

In all fairness, the price of this hostel isn't any more expensive than most of the others in Airlie Beach. It's just a shame that you don't get more for your money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing