We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great hostel. Nice and chilled. Near the nightlife but not in the thick of it.
Staff great that helped me book my YHA in Mission Beach, Greyhound and a sailing trip.
Cheap too!
I really enjoyed my stay here.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Dorms are great. They all have balconies which was a nice surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_all_the_way1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    51
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
64
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to heading out to Hook island to camp. We were not expected much.. just a place to sleep and organise ourselves - but i did not even want to sleep in the room due to the amount of mould on the ceiling (we stayed in a private double room). I know hostels aren't always the nicest place but i could not stand being in that room without worrying about my health. God knows how much mould etc was in the aircon too!

The only highlight was the location. Maybe the other rooms are better but it was disgusting - definitely do not stay their if you have any respiratory problems or if you are staying for an extended period of time!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in a double room! We were in room 1 (i think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyannak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Hostels, Public Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sydneyannak3,

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with Airlie Beach YHA. We take all comments, good and bad, very seriously and I have passed your feedback onto the hostel manager so that we can take action.

Since your stay this room has been de-moulded thoroughly. Airlie Beach is sometimes humid during summer months, which can cause mould, however our housekeeping staff do inspect rooms daily and we do have procedures in place should mould occur. Our hostel manager has discussed these procedures again with housekeeping and maintenance staff at our recent team meeting.

Next time you visit please make sure you let someone know during your stay if there are any issues, so we have a chance to try and fix the issue to make your stay more enjoyable. One of our staff members would have tried to move you to another room that was more suitable.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Airlie Bach. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here and the hostel is very well located, it is right on the main street but just far enough from the noisy bars. The rooms have balconies and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. There is free parking in the hostel too. The kitchen was well equipped and kept clean too. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable with tourist information. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly go back to the YHA.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

May not look like much on first glance, a little bit run down and the place could do with a bit of TLC, but for budget accommodation this place has everything you need and is clean. Good sized kitchen, dorm rooms were well air-conditioned, each had its own bathroom and lockers. I just wish they would provide soap!! Backpackers need soap! Very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emkay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in room 8 private double facing the restaurants. Small but clean room. Had good size balcony. Great location right on the high street. Brilliant kitchen- very well equipped and plenty of space and utensils. Lounge area was good if you wanted to watch a film or watch some tv. We were luckily came across English Channel so made a nice change! For the money this hostel is good if you want a calm-non party good located and clean place to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is hostel is alright... but nothing more. It was not particularly clean, there was also a distinct lack of sockets in my room. Whilst in a good location, staff were not particularly helpful, and actually quite surly. I stayed in Backpackers by the Bay the following night, and although the accommodation was actually worse, I had a better experience..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Bjcox,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Airlie Beach YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

First of all I am disappointed to hear about the expereince you had while staying at Airlie Beach YHA, as it is not the usual feedback we receive. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager who has addressed your feedback with the staff, to ensure we deliver an exceptional level of customer service and maintain a high standard of cleanliness at all times.

Thanks again for your feedback , it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed at Airlie for 3 nights in March in a private room. We had a ground floor room and our balcony wasn't usable as it looked out onto lots of trees and bushes to shield it from the road. It didn't get any sun at all. The room was very basic, literally just a double bed which is annoying, a bedside table would have been useful. Also the only plug socket was right at the top of the wall, practically next to the ceiling which made it very hard to charge our phones. Bathroom was good as we only shared with one other room so lovely and clean. Great location, literally the closest to the greyhound stop (10 min walk with luggage). Lots of places to eat around. An annoying fact is there isn't a Coles/Woolworths nearby so if you want groceries you'll pay an extortionate amount for awful choice either in the Night Owl or local independent supermarket. Rubbish. Kitchen facilities in hostel were very good, new hobs and even a toasted sandwich maker.

Overall, decent accommodation. Bit pricey but very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing