We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air con not working in our room!”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Air con not working in our room!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here before and it was not great but ok. This time I had a bed in a dorm room, there was no fan, only one unscreened window/door and the air con was not working so it was EXTREMELY hot all night! When I told reception about the air con she said 'you need to use a remote from another room'. I explained it was on but not cooling at all, and she said they were waiting on parts. Not very apologetic, I think we should have had a discount because we expected the room to have air con (middle of summer). Also when we checked in there were 4 people in queue and only one receptionist so it took ages. We were going to stay another night but couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Double check the air con is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Airlie Beach YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the problem you had with the air con in your room. Since your response I have spoken to the hostel manager, who has attended to this issue as a priority to ensure this situation doesn't occur again.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it is a valuable tool, which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    51
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
63
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After just spending 2 nights at the above hostel, I found the staff here extremely helpful & friendly. Anna on the front desk helped us book our day trip over to the Whitsundays and gave us a great recommendation for the boat to go with! Anna you are a star! :)
The hostel was great, very well kept, the room I stayed in was a 6 bed shared dorm, with it's own bathroom, & balcony. Very impressed with the hostel here, would definitely stay here again.
Situated right near the all the local shops, restaurants and bars, and a few minutes from the main beach and the Lagoon. And also very close to the Port if you are thinking of daytripping to the Whitsunday Islands.
If you want value for money and helpful friendly people, then I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

before and after sailing in the withe sunday's we stayed in this hostel, with a cosy courtyard, well equiped kitchen en ok clean rooms. We stayed in a double with shared facility's, very well orginazed and helpfull staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We thought we had a private bathroom, but we eventually had to share it with a second room. The room was not bigger than the bed, and smelled like old socks. Als the airconditionar was to loud to be on at night, so we woke up a couple of times during the night because of the heat..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hostel is quiet cool. A pool, a fully equiped kitchen (there is enough fork and cutelery for the size of this backpacker), friendly and smily personnal. It's also well placed in the city, althrough that to go by foot to a shoping center you'll have to walk about 30 minutes, but the walking way is also a beautyfull spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angusthescot
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

YHA in a great location.A bit shabby and needs refurbishment.Staff helpful.A good place to stay before you sail the whitsunday islands.I'd stay here again.Loads of good bars and some o.k. Restraunts aroundNot much else to do while you wait to sail the islands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angusthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staying in a YHA chain this is the first time I was disappointed. It is in a great location close to everything. One or two of the staff members were halpful the other rude and in definate need of customer service training. There is only 3 carpark places so nowhere to park the car. The place is rundown, full of backpackers who work there or in the area that sit around drinking till all hours of the night talking loud and not caring about the guests. The kitchen was dirty and in the morning the courtyard is full of trash left around by the 'longtermers'. Stayed in a room with girls who work there that were rude and thought they owned the room making me feel as though I was imposing. While they would also bring guys back to the room to sleep with while others were in the room (an all girls dorm as well) This is the type of staff that are workin there.
Stayed 4 nights in all and couldn't wait to leave. There are a lot nicer and cheaper pleases to stay. I wouldn't ever sty here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fr33bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing