We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely private room”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in a private room and it was very clean and comfortable. We only had to share our bathroom with one other couple too! Towels were also provided. Dont stay here if you want a party atmosphere but you can easily walk down the road and make use of the other hostels bars in the evening

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights in May 2010. I did a lot of research and read a lot of TA comments before deciding on this hostel. Not many hostels in Airlie Beach had good comments if one is not looking for a party place. It seems Airlie Beach Hostels don´t need to use a lot of efforts to get clients due to its popularity.
My friend and I wanted a twin room but nothing was available so we ended up in a 6bed dorm. It was actually ok though, quite spacious with ensuite bathroom. It was clean too. We were at teh back side of the building so it was actually quiet at night.
Location is a block from the beach and a bus stop is just outside.
There is an outside sitting area, large kitchen and a common room with TV.
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful and will also help in booking daytrips etc.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night with an overseas visitor. The place was dirty and smelled. The pub next door was very noisy and continued so until the small hours. The whole place could do with a good scrub, and the bedding a good airing. The rooms were very small, just enough to sidle around the foot of the bed and the side nearest the wall. The reception staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeBerry_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Good kitchen area, but rooms are like prison cells. Great location on the strip but not too noisy. We stayed here for three nights, Magnums for one, both times in a double room. I think Magnums is better.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The YHA is directly behind a nighclub that is very loud until 3am. Fine if your at the nightclub, a very sound sleeper or a party animal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed here wile backpacking with my nephew; the hostel itself was very basic but was by far the cheapest YHA we stayed in so I can’t complain for what we paid. The room we shared was tiny; just enough room to get two beds in and our bags but again it was so cheap I got what I expected. The shower was shared but only between us and another room so never any problem getting to use it.
There was a good size pool to cool of in as it was so hot and I was very glad of the air con in our room.
My only real disappointment was that we were there Christmas week and every other hostel was advertising Christmas meals but this one didn’t do them which we were a little disappointed about as we wanted to meet some people to share Christmas with. I think they would also benefit from more computers for people to use the internet from as we found it very hard to get on the internet as there all ways seemed to be some one hogging it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed there with a friend in May this year. Wanted a good place to start a trip to the whitsundays the other day. We travelled by car and when a called to book a private double room, I was told we would have a parking space. Because If you have to leave your car for 3 days in Airlie, you can not put in anywhere! There are places you have to move your car every 1 hour. Other places, where you can leave the car for long terms, did have machines to pay which did not take the money.... So we had the first problem there.
The staff was so unhelpfull and rude. They let me wait for 20 minutes, because the girl was chatting to a friend. She just arrogant.
Well the rooms are very small. You almost find no place to open your suitcase. The bedlinen were dirty and underneath them was plastic. How disgusting is this?! Bathroom was quite clean. We stored our luaggage in a dirty garage and they even took 5 dollars each suitcase! Kitchen was dirty too.
The place is quite good located, but (in a double room) way to expensive. You'd rather go to a cheap motel with more comfort for that price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#19 of 56 in Airlie Beach
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#45 of 56 in Airlie Beach
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 56 in Airlie Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $23 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing