We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rate worse than terrible if I could”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would rate worse than terrible if I could”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel has earned its review by failing on one of the most important aspects of a hotel/hostel/B+B - Safety. There were no lockers in the room and nowhere to put your valuables. In an 8 bed dorm this is simply not acceptable.

But it does not stop there. When another person in my room decided to bring back a guy to her bed, which demonstrates the kind of grotesque low life people that stay here, I decided to intervene. I asked the bloke to leave, as he was not staying at the hostel, and was met with indescribable aggression, threatening both my self and my girlfriend. There is no 24 hour security or even 24 hour reception at the hostel so with nowhere to turn we were left with a nights sleep which I would not wish upon any person.

DO NOT stay here. Fork out a bit more cash guys and protect yourselves and your belongings, I wish I had.

Oh and not to mention bed bug stains, grimy bathroom, above a late bar, linens not washed....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWSWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    47
    37
    40
See reviews for
2
37
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The title says it all really. Going into the bathroom i felt like if i touched anything i would catch something. Yes, it was that grimy. unfortunately i didn't have one of them thin liners to sleep in and i honestly thought i had bed bugs the next day. This is the only hostel we took 'recommended' by our peter pans advisor (so don't listen to them, do your own research!!) music went of for ages while we were trying to get a good nights sleep before our whitsundays trip.

the only good thing about this hostel was the cheap food. if you stayed here you got food for half the price and i got the cheapest steak ever! so i would say stay at another hostel and come for the food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJenTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed her for $44 for 3 nights which is excellent value in an 8 bed dorm. If you're looking for a peaceful night then I'd pay more and book elsewhere. Beaches bar is one of the most popular on the strip and music goes on until Midnight every night and most of the rooms are very close to it! Rooms are in need of a little refurbishment as many light fittings were hanging off the walls. There was carpets in the dorm rooms which could do with a good clean and the bathroom was pretty horrendous. The housekeeping staff work for free in order to get free accommodation so take little pride in what they do. There was hair everywhere in our bathroom which was there for as long as we stayed, which was 6 days. Internet is ridiculously slow, I wouldn't even bother buying it there, totally unusable!
On the plus side the location is brilliant, lagoon is across the road and you're pretty central to everything going on in Airlie. Guests are entitled to a meal deal voucher which means you can get a steak meal for $6.50 and that comes with a drink too! Why would you bother to cook? Menu is really varied so don't worry, steaks not compulsory! Also, the staff on the reception are really cheery which always helps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After travelling around Australia this hostel was by far the worst I've ever stayed in. We was in room 11, the bathroom was absolutely disgusting I didn't even want to go in and the room was grotty, dirty, I just wanted to leave. The 1 good thing about this hostel was the drink & dinner voucher you get when you check in for the bar for a discounted meal, the food was nice but everything else was poor. Don't put yourself through it, stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good location as on main street but compared to other hostels it is surrounded by clubs/bars (noisy til early hours) = not great location. Had a double room which was clean and nice and good value. Also towels! Nice space to chill in and watch tv. Reckon you have a very different experience in dorms though but they are so cheap you can't complain! Kitchen was unclean and most stoves weren't working, going in there was pretty unpleasant. Have seen worse though. Decided to move after a couple of nights as couldn't afford double anymore and weren't willing to stay in the dorms there and use the kitchen on a daily basis. If you're looking for budget private rooms and can eat out then go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at competitor nomads the first night but opted here for the cheaper price. It's fine, not as luxurious or as clean as nomads, but if money is a preference this will defo do the job. Staff are very good, the half price means for next door are awesome. Rooms are ok, gets the job done. * tip- don't get the higher numbered rooms (close to the beaches bar), its a lot noisier at night and wifi doesn't reach. Also 8 bed dorms are a lot nicer than 10 bed. Happy backpacking!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cianwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hostel is one on the main strip of Airlie Beach, which is just hostels, pubs and travel agents! Big place with a huge bar as it's main attraction. On arrival the staff were amazingly funny, happy to banter and coped admirably with the huge queue of people behind us. Airlie is nothing if not a tourist resort - as a gateway to the Whitsunday Islands there is a constant flow of holiday makers and backpackers, giving a lively feel to the whole place, and Beaches was no different. 50% off bar meals for guests is a great deal, as they are HUGE. 2 hour 'Happy Hour' was good, though like the rest of the area drinks are pretty expensive. We booked a sailing/snorkelling tour with the hostel and had our 2 nights stay free, but I don't think it was too pricey anyway. I would honestly recommend this place - I'm more of a quiet traveller and not big on partying, but I had a great time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuslostinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#36 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#7 of 54 in Airlie Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Property: Beaches Backpackers
Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing