We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to eat in Airlie Beach, on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was staying at the YHA up the road from Beaches, but walking down the street with a coupon in one hand, I was always eager to get my $6.50 lunch and drink. $6.50 for a cider, a chicken parma (or another of the 12 dishes on offer) is just amazing! The food was always excellent (considering the price) and I could not stop going back! If you're staying at a hostel, check if you can get these vouchers, and stay a while in the bar on the wet days to talk rubbish to backpackers and enjoy the music!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Impydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before and after my whitsundays trip... Seemed busier over the weekend with loads of stag do's or something in the area. Cheap,clean , good location.. Bar was lively, big screens for sport which was great. Kitchen small but me & my mate didnt bother cooking, between the bar( which had great food deals) & subway we were sorted!! :-) ... friendly staff, one was actually from back home Ni!! .!
No complaints, 100% ... Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manure85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think this place is maybe down to look what room you get.

We were in an 8 bed dorm at the back of the hostel. The room was huge and ensuite. It was dated but the aircon worked, it was clean (and cleaned everyday) and had it's own balcony. I wouldn't want to have stayed at the front of the hostel due to the noise from the hostel bar and the other bars nearby.

For the price it was difficult to fault, it was $49 for 3 nights. The bar downstairs is also fine, they do very very cheap meal deals for guests, I thought the food was naff and what I expected for $6.50 which indluded a drink but others enjoyed it.

Enjoyed my stay here. I guess everywhere in Airlie gets a 5 for location because it is so small and you are never more than 5 minutes from anything, this place is directly opposite the lagoon though which was great

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed there only one night but we really enjoy it! We had a good deal for our meal, with 6 dollars you get a big meal and a drink and there are also some options for vegetarians. During the happy our a jug of cider/beer for only 8 dollars and the atmosphere was very fun. Music, games, dancing...it was a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Beaches for a total of eight days in Airlie while I waited for my whitsundays sailing trip. My favorite thing was the fact that I got to work for accommodation so I worked 2 hours a day housekeeping and cleaning then I didn't have to pay rent. Also the restaurant has really good food and EVERY day you get a voucher to have a meal that regularly costs $12 for $6 and that included a drink!!!! Not just rice and noodles fellow backpackers!!!! Steaks, chicken parmagiana, fish and chips, salads, anything you want!!!! The kitchen was small and very cramped during the day and didn't have that many pots and pans that had handles on them. The only inconvenience is having to take your room key to get plates, bowls and cutlery every time you want to cook and eat. Other than the kitchen, there really wasn't much else that I didn't enjoy!!! Enjoy your stay in Airlie!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTraveler158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beaches is right next door to Nomads which apparently has nicer rooms but the rooms in Beaches are perfectly fine and clean so what more do you need, plus its about $10 cheaper than Nomads. The bar at Beaches is also great. Really cheap drink deals, lively, and you get a $6 meal deal which is excellent value for money. Great location right opposite the lagoon.

Room Tip: When I came back from the Whitsundays I was put in a room right over the bar which was obviously noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Room looked like a prison with 4 old beds in it. The beds were so old, they creaked loudly with the slightest movement! Sink was leaking and the place just looked like it needed updating. Positives I would say are the location and the $6.50 meal deal in the bar. The kitchen was also tiny and I didn't like the fact you had to hire a box of cutlery, most times with only a couple of things in it! Didn't use the pool but looked ok. I would not recommend this hostel if you are staying in airline beach.....

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Gem_Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#17 of 56 in Airlie Beach
535 reviews
0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#31 of 56 in Airlie Beach
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 56 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#45 of 56 in Airlie Beach
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $19 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing