We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaches Backpackers
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and the staff are lovely but a little slow at checking in and out. The rooms are average but the bathrooms need servicing - one room the bathroom door got stuck and you would nearly have a dislocated shoulder trying to open it to get out of the bathroom. Another room you had to hold the shower head up with one hand to have a shower. Storage luggage costs $6 dollars to store if you are going on a Whitsundays tour - the half price meals in the bar are good though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liathroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalManagement, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed your visit with us, but have also taken note of your concerns.

As we have recently undergone a change of management, we are working to improve both the service and amenities at the property. We are aware that some of the bathrooms in the hostel are outdated and in need of renovations. You will be happy to know that we plan on beginning these renovations in the near future. However, I wonder if you mentioned the immediate maintenance concerns to the front desk, as we do have maintenance staff who could have addressed the issue with the bathroom door and shower head immediately if they had been brought to our attention.

I am also aware that it does at times see frustrating that backpackers do require extra money for extra expenses like luggage storage. Most backpackers in Airlie Beach and the surrounding travel shops all charge a fee for luggage storage. I know that this may seem like an extra fee to you but it does help us to cover the cost of regularly servicing luggage storage so that it stays clean, safe, and pest fee place to store your bags.

We do also really appreciate the positive feedback about the meals in the Beaches Bar. This is a new amenity that we have started to offer our guests- so we are really pleased to know that we are on the right track with our current efforts to improve everyone's experience at Beaches Backpackers.


Again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Beaches Backpackers, and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Cheers

Angelina Trush
Sun Tourism Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    47
    37
    39
See reviews for
1
37
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

clean rooms, decent size, staff friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the bar is noisy until midnight but after this its fairly quiet. The bar is cheap and good meals for backpackers. i would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I only paid 19 dollars a night to stay here after sailing in the Whitsundays, which is very very cheap. Room was clean and HUGE with an ensuite and small balcony. Beds not very comfortable.
Even though we overlooked the bar and beer garden, the noise didn't start until 12noon and was over at 12 midnight, which was fine. Kitchen looked very small, didn't use it as guests get a 6.50 meal deal a night with drink. Really good value meals, big enough and good quality!
It rained the whole time I was in Airlie, so not much to do in the rain, more a stopping off point for the islands

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I thought the room was quite clean and staff were actually really friendly. Does overlook the main pub / club, so it won't be a quite night. But if you want to party, this is your best bet!

3.5 / 5

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank S d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Bad clean, extremely noisy, impossible to sleep here, high price rate compared to the others backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina82Sbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend. It was good for a backpackers hostel. The beds were comfy, and the balcony was great! The 'kitchen' was average and breaking down. The shower was very powerful and good but I thought the tub could have fallen through the floor at any point because it was broken down. The continental breakfast was average but nice to have. The aircon was really nice. The pool was extremely small and was awkwardly by the bar. I'd probably return because the price was pretty good.

Room Tip: Try to get on the second or third floor it was really nice to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesotagirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Unfriendly staff. Noisy. Not clean. Smelly, dirty kitchen. Maybe this was a good place 5 years ago...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MereldeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Property: Beaches Backpackers
Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing