We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average but cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
Reviewed September 10, 2012

clean rooms, decent size, staff friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the bar is noisy until midnight but after this its fairly quiet. The bar is cheap and good meals for backpackers. i would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I only paid 19 dollars a night to stay here after sailing in the Whitsundays, which is very very cheap. Room was clean and HUGE with an ensuite and small balcony. Beds not very comfortable.
Even though we overlooked the bar and beer garden, the noise didn't start until 12noon and was over at 12 midnight, which was fine. Kitchen looked very small, didn't use it as guests get a 6.50 meal deal a night with drink. Really good value meals, big enough and good quality!
It rained the whole time I was in Airlie, so not much to do in the rain, more a stopping off point for the islands

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I thought the room was quite clean and staff were actually really friendly. Does overlook the main pub / club, so it won't be a quite night. But if you want to party, this is your best bet!

3.5 / 5

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank S d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Bad clean, extremely noisy, impossible to sleep here, high price rate compared to the others backpackers.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina82Sbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend. It was good for a backpackers hostel. The beds were comfy, and the balcony was great! The 'kitchen' was average and breaking down. The shower was very powerful and good but I thought the tub could have fallen through the floor at any point because it was broken down. The continental breakfast was average but nice to have. The aircon was really nice. The pool was extremely small and was awkwardly by the bar. I'd probably return because the price was pretty good.

Room Tip: Try to get on the second or third floor it was really nice to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnesotagirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Unfriendly staff. Noisy. Not clean. Smelly, dirty kitchen. Maybe this was a good place 5 years ago...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MereldeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My girlfriend, my best friend and I stayed here 2 nights before and after our Whitsundays cruise and checking back in the 2nd night was not a nice feeling, because this place is distinctly under-par. Now the rooms are actually really nice, not very well maintained and definitely a few too many ants but extremely comfortable beds, working air con and powerful showers. The kitchen is where this place falls apart. It's not that small but there is NEVER room for everyone to cook and eat comfortably. There are little or no utensils, the plates and bowls have permanent dirt on them and there were colonies of germs and grub living inside the fridges. Be careful as well, only some of the fridges work and there's no real way of knowing that, yes they actually have fridges that don't work, do the staff care? No. Oh and on that note, they have TV's in the rooms but they don't work. There is an ok TV room which is a good spot to eat dinner where you actually have room. This place is livable but certainly not for more than a few nights. And as for the pool, nobody used it because it looked like a sewer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damok189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#18 of 56 in Airlie Beach
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#45 of 56 in Airlie Beach
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $19 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing