We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here recently before we did the Whitsunday's Tour. Stayed in a 14bed dorm which was very tight for room but at 17 dollars a night you can't complain. The location is perfect as it's right in the middle of the town. We dealt with Kelly found her lovely-very helpful and accommodating! They also allowed us to storage baggage with them for 5dollars which was so handy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HereandThere1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room. Got upgraded to a double with private bathroom. Just what we needed after 3 days on a boat trip! Nice and clean and room serviced every day. Room in middle of a mall which was a bit strange but kinda nice. Opposite side of road from beach. Definately recommend as other people told us that the other hostels in airlie arent very nice.
This is the second time we have stayed here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Welshtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in an en-suite air-conditioned double room (with a balcony) with my mum during our travels around Australia, we were here for 1 night and were very impressed. There was free wifi - which was easily accessible from the communal area. The hostel was very clean and tidy and the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The hostel is perfectly situated right opposite the beach and a 5 minute walk to the lagoon, it is also very close to the shops/nightclubs, and is part of an amazing plaza of restaurants to feast your eyes on! Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea what the nicer balcony private rooms were like, as we stayed in the cheapest only available room - a $70 unadvertised "internal" no window room for 3 nights. Clean room.

The location of the backpackers is great. They had undercover free parking for our car. I didn't use the facilities that most backpackers use ie kitchen or bag storage.

I did utilize the reception staff when we booked over the phone. A lady whose name started with "a" (can't remeber) was very helpful in suggesting we book the day trip we were interested in due to it being Easter and not much being left. We luckily booked a 3 island tour (cheaper than others on same tour). Very good tour.

When booking in we didn't have the same super helpful staff member and a couple infront were taking forever with onward bookings. The staff member didn't acknowledge us for at least 20mins whilst she dealt with them / waited on phone (no ill be with you in a min!). The couple however did apologize!

Major negatives - bed had springs I could feel and was quite uncomfortable. Aircon was so shaky it could be left on then had to be turned off to sleep - not great in a room with no windows.

Major major negatives - Vacuuming of areas outside room at 4.30am!!!!! And restaurant / bar noise till midnight (room opened up onto restaurant / bar / food court) So not too many hours of undisturbed sleep there.

Shower / toilet good!

I'm sure there are much better private rooms - however we WERE looking for budget so you must weigh these things up.

No nighttime security. Heard a backpacker sleeping in the stairwell ...it was however peak Easter holiday time - possibly the place at its busiest...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying in a 4 bed room with a private bathroom, our own TV and fridge. Such a fantastic first impression. Lovely staff especially Fiona.For $22.50 a night, you can't go wrong. Excellent location and free Internet. Almost like a hotel and for a backpacker that's luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mur345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

i believe the prices to be reasonable for the area, and unless you end up in "the loft", the rooms are relatively spacious. well located without being in the centre of the strip, the kitchen is truly disgusting and nothing much in it works except for the stinking and mould fridges filled with ancient food. actually, that's a lie, their fridge was broken during my stay, according to the sign. lots and lots of stairs, which really is something i feel all backpackers (places, not people) ought to, and don't, consider.

Room Tip: depending on how much you want to spend, you may end up staying with a lot more people than expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My mates and I stayed at Airlie Beach Waterfront backpackers on Australia day the room had 10 beds in it which was what we needed for our large group! the location was really central to the clubs, bars, restaurants and lagoon and there was also private parking down stairs. The room was large with two showers and one toilet ( not communal ) it was very tidy with a balcony of our room and a good aircon the main down fall was there was no bar fridge in the room for us to put our drinks and food in so we had to cart our eskies up three flights of stairs. We only stayed there one night which personally was long enough for me as I like a more luxurious accommodation but for a quick trip on a budget this place is idea pretty ideal

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#18 of 56 in Airlie Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Court Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation

Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $82 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 double balcony ensuite rooms7 standard ensuite rooms 1 four share balcony ensuite 1 four share standard room and 2 twin ensuite balcony rooms and 2 standard twin share rooms we are right in the heart of airlie beach on site is a huge kitchen with everything you need and balconys around the building with beautiful ocean views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing