We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, great stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012, got a private room which was spacious with ensuite bathroom very clean throughout hostel, smaller kitchen facilities, staff very friendly and helpful, close to everything in airlie beach but just off the main street so is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillipa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked a double room at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers. The location is very nice, just on the esplanade of Airlie Beach. The room was decently clean but a little "windy": the window didn't fit in the wall so the wind simply pass through the room. Everythingh smelt like fried food, as there were two asian restaurants just in the hall of the hostel. Not so well equipped kitchen, however clean.
The staff was quite friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We only stayed in Airlie for a night. The room was OK and it did the job for us. No atmosphere to the place. Seemed relatively clean. Staff were ok and tried to assist us in activities. Probably wouldn't have wanted to stay for longer than a night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshcockroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent months organising our belated honeymoon and wanted to include a trip to the Whitsundays. We decided to book Airlie Waterfront Backpackers as a cheap stay either side of our boat trip as we liked the description of being close to the beach.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!
you will not receive a confirmation e-mail and they will charge your card regardless of whether you stayed there or not. You cannot get hold of them at all, they don't answer the phone and they do not reply to the messages left via the contact form. The have no dedicated e-mail either.
Despite contacting them via their online contact form 3 times they did not contact me back although they say they did I am meticulous in my planning and checked both junk and inbox. As i had no confirmation of my booking i warned them i would cancel my trip again via the contact form as i could not get through by any other means.
I booked another hotel and thought that was that.
When we returned from our trip we found that our card was charged and there was a message on our phone indicating this. We were appalled!
Considering that i had emailed several times and told them i had not received any replies and left my phone number...the only time they bother to contact my via phone was when it was too late!
Why did they not try and phone me prior to the trip when i obviously was not receiving their communication.
I would advise you to book somewhere that has an e-mail address ad a phone number that you can actually get through on, Dont waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank jodie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Don't go there! It was really aweful! We couldn't sleep at all because the room was dirty, noisy and the springs were popping out of the mattres painfully. Above all, we never met such rude staff especially Mary.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meyblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

positive:
- perfect location
- friendly staff
- free Wifi
- roof terraces for each room
- only 20 Dollars in 6 Share

negative:
- small rooms, no space for your luggage or lockers in room
- Wifi is really slow and often doesnt work, can be a big problem when you
try to book your greyhound tickets...
- kitchen is not that good, cooking will need a long time because of defect oven

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarniGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived and checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room, which sounded great! So the room changed from a 17 share to a 13! On the downside I don't feel it's appropriate that there is only 1 unisex toilet for at least 24 people?! There was not a sink in the toilet so you had to go to one of the 2 small shower rooms to wash your hands - and if they were full, what are you supposed to do? The shower rooms were unclean the majority of the the time, small and dingy! The kitchen was quite small and it seemed like the only one in the hostel? There was free WIFI though!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank atickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#15 of 56 in Airlie Beach
538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#44 of 56 in Airlie Beach
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation

Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $82 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 double balcony ensuite rooms7 standard ensuite rooms 1 four share balcony ensuite 1 four share standard room and 2 twin ensuite balcony rooms and 2 standard twin share rooms we are right in the heart of airlie beach on site is a huge kitchen with everything you need and balconys around the building with beautiful ocean views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing