We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived and checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room, which sounded great! So the room changed from a 17 share to a 13! On the downside I don't feel it's appropriate that there is only 1 unisex toilet for at least 24 people?! There was not a sink in the toilet so you had to go to one of the 2 small shower rooms to wash your hands - and if they were full, what are you supposed to do? The shower rooms were unclean the majority of the the time, small and dingy! The kitchen was quite small and it seemed like the only one in the hostel? There was free WIFI though!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank atickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    38
    14
    19
See reviews for
4
44
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on vacation and got what we expected. It's better than most hostels, with clean rooms and a bar downstairs with some other shops. We stayed in a "dorm", although there were only two bunk beds in it. There were three of us and usually a fourth person (whom we didn't know) stayed there as well. The room was a little cramped and not enough outlets for everyone to charge their phones, etc. The bathroom was a good size and fairly clean. The wifi was free and they also have a computer room where you pay a certain price to get a certain amount of minutes. The bar downstairs was very nice and the bartender was welcoming and gave us advice on what to do and which restaurants to go to. The best things about this hostel are the view and the location. The view of the beach is spectacular (the beach is right across the street from the hostel!). The hostel is within a short distance of the main street. Overall, I would consider staying here again but probably get a private room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hostel was fine, tiny room :(! Smell from shower drain! Had to pay 20Dollars deposit for plates etc. Staff (Apart from one nice lady) were very unhelpful and rude. Everything seemed like a problem to them! Airlie Beach is nice though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The place itself is located in what I believe used to be a shopping mall, there are a lot of unexplained noise in the room, we had a constant humming going on until around midnight, it started again around 8 am and was very weird as it was not heard from outside the room - neither porch nor corridor.
The room was very clean, tidy and basic.
the aircon wouldn't heat even though we were told we can put a high temperature case the thin blanket won't suffice.

This place is a perfect choice for the budget backpacker, if you are into an ensuite room - try getting one in one of the nearby hotels for ~$10 more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at Airlie Waterfront for 3 nights and was really impressed. Very clean facilities - they employ actual cleaners rather than the 'work for accomidation' trade that so many cheap hostels have so it's REALLY clean, in fact I popped out for milk when the cleaners came in at 9:30 and they were still there 45 minutes later! The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms really clean and there is a great little balcony to chill out on with great views! The wifi is free and works really well (even in the rooms) and the kitchen has good facilities and is cleaner than most!

Staff are very friendly and helpful and after hours security is good. Would certianly reccomend!

Room Tip: Female only dorms are available :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Staff were friendly, particularly one lady. For $20 a night, the view is first class. Im older than most backpackers but there was at least some older people, as well as generally friendly younger people. Has all i needed

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairHawkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Booked a budget double and was lucky to get one with a private balcony. Very friendly service and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean for a backpackers and very comfortable. Awesome location with everything you need just outside, great views from balconies and kitchen. Undercover parking a bonus. Stayed on the way back from Cairns and was given the same room upon request. Would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradspace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#7 of 54 in Airlie Beach
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Property: Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza with its high cathedral peaked roofs, open plan mezzanine style architecture and being uniquely positioned right on the beach off the esplanade with dramatic views of the Whitsunday Island's makes it the perfect place to visit in our beautiful Airlie Beach. We are an iconic multilevel shopping centre, filled with a variety of excellent restaurants, conference centre, business centre, en-suite hotel rooms, shops and a small upmarket backpackers hostel. We are the ideal venue to visit for all day dining as we have an array of food establishment's with great views of Airlie Beach. Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is Airlie Beach's FLASHPACKERS. Refurbished in September 2008, our hostel boasts a fantastic central location 500 meters easy walk from the bus station and only minutes away from the swimming lagoon. Located on The Esplanade, our hostel is directly opposite the beach with million dollar sea views out to Whitsunday Islands and offers a great range of budget accommodation to suit all types of backpackers and travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing