We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great start but good character and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a great start but good character and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Staying here didn't get off to a great start waiting for the free pick up, the coach was 5minutes late coming in so the pickup took off. All the other companies stayed to wait for
the bus, however i had already prepaid the stay. The place is in need of modernising and a good scrub, kitchen and bathrooms are adequate but rooms are decent enough.
There is a good little bar out the front by the pool with nightly quiz and movie nights. Overall not a decent place, it may not be as modern as the large hostels 5minutes walk into
the town but it has a good character and atmosphere without the banging noise until 4am in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    132
    63
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
106
160
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Location was good, staff were lovely, cheap rooms, cheap drinks and nightly entertainment which was low key and not in your face - compulsary fun is not my thing but this struck an ideal balance. It's a hostel so you get what you pay for - basic rooms / showers etc but everything was clean and that's all that matters. I can guarantee the pool is clean - Nick told me in great detail how he keeps it that way! Shuttle from the bus stop is a bonus. If I went back to Oz, i'd definitely stay here again! By the way, the staff here can help you choose the best boat trips to go round the islands - I recommend a couple of nights on Wings II!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSelby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I am saddened to see some bad reviews- this place made my stay in Australia one of the best ones!
For a budget hostel, you couldn't ask for friendlier staff and a warm welcome. We were picked up from the coach station (daily shuttles) and every night there is a movie night or pub quiz. We were really made to feel at home and were taken out by the staff for the evening.

I ended up staying much longer than I was meant to and it was nicely quieter than many of the more rowdy hostels I had stayed in.

Definately would reccomend, wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischiefmanaged78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed here 10 years ago and either I didn't notice many flaws to this hostel back then or it has gone downhill in the intervening decade. In serious need of a lick of paint and a proper cleaning, nowhere was particularly dirty but there was an accumulated dustiness under the sinks in the bathroom etc. I stayed in a double room, linen should have been washed at a higher temperature or replaced as a couple of stains showed up which wouldn't have been there if washed properly.
Didn't use the kitchen facilities, used the laundry, which was good.
Walk into town is short, was quite dark on way back at night cos of street light that was out, didn't feel very comfortable walking in these circumstances.
Staff were friendly, not the worst place I've stayed in but needs some work to make it attractive

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We arrived at 7am, got a free pickup from the Greyhound stop and were able to check-in straight away. After an awful night on the Greyhound we were glad to be able to get a room straight away and go to bed. Other people we spoke to had to wait until 2pm until they got their rooms in other hostels. We had a 4 dorm all to ourselves luckily. The hostel seemed quiet but friendly nonetheless. The room was clean, the bathroom was so-so but the kitchen had a really awful smell lingering about it. It wasn't the cleanest kitchen but the smell was really off putting, with loads of moths (big ones too) flying around the place at night. So many even the resident Gecko's couldn't eat them quick enough. Free films at night although they were hard to watch on the bedsheet screen and other gobby guests/staff drowning out the sound. We wouldn't recommend this place solely on the kitchen smell.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Anyone who reviews this hostel favourably in the last few years is either daft or the management. My girlfirend and I read these reviews for a laugh, but were rather shocked to see people score 5 stars with favourable reviews of one "Nick the manager" just after many had scored only 1 star. We stayed there in 2007 and Backpackers by the Bay resembled more "Backpackers by the Construction Site" in the harbour. Aside from the early morning machinery starting their work at 7am, we were greeted in our 70 dollar double room with someone else's pubic hair in the bed, a broken lock on the sliding glass door, a room by a terribly ugly pool (which surely needed to be tested for urine), mouldy wooden backpack racks, and a delapidated side drawer. The mens toilet and shower facility was a shambles, however the ladies toilet and shower took the cake, as the door to was lacking a doorknob let alone a lock, which required my girlfriend to undertake the uneviable task of putting her finger into the slimy hole (where supposed doorknob should be) to pull open the door. The grounds and landscaping were in such shape as to suspect that a cyclone had recently hit. The kitchen, dated and not exactly pristine, lacked enough drying towels in order to dry anyone's recently washed cutlery, yet that didn't satisfy the cleaning lady who thought it necessary to make it known that the state of the kitchen was the guests fault. In fact this place was so poor, that the only thing going for it was that it is far from Airlie (no) Beach.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgelatosandesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2010

great place to stay...super nice staff...very helpful with planning trips and places to go...pretty much like a big family when you stay there

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejaysToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing