We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers by the Bay
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is perfect. It has a nice calm atmosphere. The staff are really super helpful with any questions and booking cheap last minute trips. There are hammocks, a pool, every night a quiz to win a bottle of champagne. There is $1.50 sausage sizzle every night and $2.50 breakfast in the morning. Good facilities, comfortable beds, super clean. Cannot fault it. Thanks guys! Emma

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coconutttty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 436 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was staying in this hostel last week and I have to say it's defenetly worth going to!
It is a little bit outside of the main area from airlie but you can reach the busy area in between 10-15 minutes. But instead it is very quiet and you can sleep very well.
Peter the hostel owner is so friendly and helpfull, it is very important for him that the guests enjoy their stay and he is really motivated to help you if you have any questions - which I really enjoyed!
It is also very very clean the bedrooms as well as the bathrooms which is for me very important! You r just sleeping in 4 bed dorms so not to big very relaxed.
It seems to be very important for the Hostel to have a good social atmosphere because you play funny quiz games in the evening and sit together outside on the terrace.
Also the few from this outside area breathless oh my god having breakfast with few over the ocean awesome!
You can geht Evers evening warm sausages as much as you want for 1,50 Dollar! And they have an awesome breakfast with fruits, sereals, toast marmelade and penut butter for 2,50 all you can eat as well :).
I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel friendly staff and very good atmosphere and would recommend for every backpacker who is looking for a good hostel choose this one :)!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wembley-down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved this place! So sad to leave, the staff are great and so friendly they really do make you feel welcome. We only stayed for a few days and wished it was longer :(. It's clean, comfortable & relaxing with the option of joining in on evening quizzes also BBQ night is delish and very cheap. There's always something different on each night keeping it interesting. The breakfast is great with various options of cereal, fruit, toast &spreadings, tea & coffee. The only down side is wifi you have to pay by the hr. but apart from that great hostel 100% recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandjamie0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My time in Airlie was made more enjoyable by my staying at Backpackers by the Bay. All the staff were friendly, efficient and prepared to help in making my stay enjoyable. Local knowledge was excellent. In-house activities were organized to allow everyone to get to know one another and have fun eg trivia competition, BBQs, movies etc.. The was a strong sense of family or community about the place.

Location, less than 5 minutes from the main street, less for fit young people, close enough but far enough away that it was quiet. Pleasant outlook, it was nice to sit and look at the water. The bus stop for the local bus service could not be much closer. Staff regularly took guests to the marina and to meet the Greyhound bus and that is pretty close as well.

Breakfast was available, $2.50, I do not know anywhere cheaper, fruit, cereal, toast, jams etc, tea and coffee, help yourself.

My dorm was clean and tidy, same for the toilets and common areas. Staff were regularly cleaning. All the gear was there to cook, plenty of room to eat and socialize.

A well run hostel. A credit to all concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisingyachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was good fun here the rooms are nice and really cool staff. It's abit out of town . But also a nice little walk from15 min. It's a cosy and chilled hostel. Really good food for less money. And the best always happy hour! It was lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Backpackers by the bay is a really nice and friendly hostel. Everything is clean. The staff is here to help you if you have any question or problem, and they can also help you to choose and book a tour if you need it. It is a little bit out of town, but you can easily access te shops, pubs, restaurant and beach by foot. I really recommend this hostel if you look for a friendly and quiet place to stay in Airlie Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had an awesome stay at this hostel. The staff was very friendly and informed us about everything we needed. There even was a complete wall covered with all the possible trips you can do comparing prices and other things. Everything was clean and tidy and all the facilities we needed were available.
They also organize events to enable guests to get to know each other. They offer breakfast and dinner for a very reasonable price as well.
There was no noise at night, which ensured a good night sleep. It's not a party hostel, but if you want, you can still find people to party with. So it basically has everything you could wish for :p

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thibaut D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 57 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 57 in Airlie Beach
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 57 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing