We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly reccommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“highly reccommended.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

after a long bus journey we arrived here to be greeted by matt! he some how managed to persuade 3 v tired bsckpackers and off we went. was def worth the stay. if what your lookong for is a party hostel in the centre then this isnt for you. its a little gem about a 10/15min walk from the centre. great size rooms.clean.friendly helpful staff. the hammocks over looking the bay is heaven.wifi is too expensive and was slightly disappointing that we had to pay for luggage storage after staying a night&returning again to stay after our cruise. however would happily return in im ever in airlie beach again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    131
    63
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
106
159
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kp
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are bored of the unfriendly staff and busy backpackers and if you are looking for a cosy place which looks like home. you can go straight away to By the Bay Backpacker ! Perfect to chill have a rest or meet cool people. Best backpacker staff ever by the bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoKp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Backpackers by the Bay is the best hostel I've stayed in during my Australia trip! The main reason is the atmosphere in the hostel: by having a nightly quiz you get to know the other backpackers quite quickly and you really feel like you're at home! Peter has good tips for you concerning the Whitsundays or Fraser but you do not feel any pressure to book these trips with the hostel. Another bonus is the free Pizza pick up at Domino's! I will definitely come back cause I had an awesome time there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in for all of my travels. It is one of those places that you just never want to leave. I have spent twice as long here as anywhere else in Australia other than Sydney, and it's not because there is anything special about Airlie Beach, but because the people and the staff are just fantastic. The staff are as much your friends as the backpackers staying there and even when one amazing group of people disappear, another turn up a day later. I have absolutely no complaints about any of the facilities and the staff have been nothing but helpful, flexible, friendly and fun. I really will miss this place more than anywhere else, I've made some genuine life long friends and I hope I can come back some day. Big shout out to Chloe, Lee, Audrey, Luke, Matt, Maile, and Pete. DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found out about this hostel through a friend who was already staying there. On arrival off the Greyhound bus in Airlie Beach, we were greeted by the very helpful Matt the driver who carried our bags and whisked us off in the bus to the hostel. (After being on a bus for 11 hours this was possibly the best thing ever!) The rooms are small (only 4 people) and charmingly decorated which was a nice break from the 10 people dorms that we were used to. Audrey the receptionist was brilliant and the amazing girl behind the cute little bar made us hot dogs for only a $1.50! It feels like a little home with plenty of things to keep you busy - relaxing in the armchairs listening to Ben Howard looking over the bay, chilling in the pool or listening to the resident guitar. The atmosphere is very fun, cosy and personal, unlike all the big chain hostels. We were only scheduled for a night there but if we had time would have stayed for another fortnight!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airlie beach
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

beutifull chilled backpacker, close to the beach with great vibe and amazingly helpfull staff.
clean and maintained, with a pool and a bar, hammocks to chill and music to party.

cheap meals and bar,

if you're looking for a hostel that feels like home and family, that's the place!

Room Tip: Just ask peter for a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

So pleased we chose to stay at Backpackers by the Bay. Great welcome. Very friendly. Perfectly located for the beach and the town. Very knowledgeable staff who were eager to help and good fun. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing