We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, Helpful & Hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers by the Bay
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Homely, Helpful & Hospitable”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hostel offers a free pickup from the bus stop only a short distance away, which is really welcome when you have heavy bags. I was made to feel welcome straight away and Peter, the owner, was full of great advice on which of the sailing tours I might most enjoy. It is a good idea to book your tours through them (website or on arrival) as you get standby prices - this saved me one third of exactly the same trip I had looked at booking elsewhere. You also get one free night's accommodation and free luggage storage while you are away on your trip. The town centre is a 5 minute walk away and so far from the partying crowd. Having said that, its very sociable at their small bar by the pool. I enjoyed falling asleep to the pleasant sound of someone singing along to their guitar, rather than bass shaking the windows in their frames. Returning from the recommended (and incredible) sailing trip, I was greeted with a 'welcome home'. This hostel really understands backpacking and how to help you get the most out of your time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolButterflyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    132
    63
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
106
160
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, hostel is pretty cool, most of all the staff, Audrey on reception was super nice and very helpful with local knowledge and booking out trip to Whitsundays!

The hostel to me could do with a good clean, toilets and showers were in need of some tlc a deep clean with some decent products would do the job! Rooms pretty clean just a bit dirty under the beds.

All in all 7/10 could push to 9/10 if it was a bit cleaner ;)

Thanks for a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGooner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

breakfast overlooking the bay
no better way to start the say
located just out of the main town it is quiet with good accomadation
Shared facitlied are adequate and lots of local information to be had
just a 1 night stop over before going out onto the reef but memoerable non the less

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have traveled all throughout Australia, New Zealand, Asia, Europe, and North America. Hostels all have their standards and people have learned to expect certain things in certain areas. Comparatively, Australia has a fairly low standard; poor kitchens, dirty bathrooms, uncomfortable beds, and often grumpy, unhelpful, staff. Backpackers by the Bay breaks this norm, making it one of my top picks of Australia hands down. It is a MUST STAY. Especially compared to the other places in Airlie Beach, this tops them all.
They gave me one nights stay for booking my boat trip with them, stored my luggage, and dropped me at the Marina - ALL FOR FREE.
Ignore the average coverage given by Lonely Planet. The rooms are clean with only 4 beds and quiet when you need to sleep. The kitchen is fully functional and well equipped. An awesome back deck and pool area looks out into the harbor, nestling you in the hills of Airlie Beach. It is obvious that the staff are motivated to keep this place running smoothly and are more than welcoming, always inviting others to join in in day time and night time adventures. So many good memories here.
SUCH A NICE PLACE, WISH I DIDN'T HAVE TO LEAVE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was advised to go to the "By the Bay" by a friend and she was right! This Backpacker is well located in Airlie Beach. With an extremely friendly staff who helps you to book the next of your adventures! The perfect place to chill and relax while enjoying all the beauties of the Whitsundays!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Place is welcoming and the people are really nice. I checked in at 7.00am and was out with a staff member and several guests by 8am for the entire day. Really relaxed slightly more mature atmosphere. Spent 2 nights and would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Airlie beach and we were met by the lovely Chloe and taken directly to backpackers by the bay. We had only planned to spend a couple of days there to do a sailing trip to the Whitsunday islands. After our boat trip we settled in and met some of the most amazing people we've met in our entire travels! The backpackers offered amazing value for money and a community atmosphere that ensured everybody felt at home. Quiz nights, card games and more keeping everyone entertained, even though the main town area was 2 minutes walk away we found ourselves at the hostel every night!!!
Highly reccommended backpackers...... THE BEST IN AUSTRALIA!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#34 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing