We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Airlie Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Airlie Beach”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Backpacker by the Bay. The staff is very nice and helpful. There's a lot of space in the room for all your stuff. The kitchen, toilets and rooms are very clean. I recommend this hostel to everybody! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annapleijsier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    131
    62
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
105
159
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a really nice hostel to stay at if you want to be near the main strip but not in the middle of it. It's quiet and homey, and reception offers a lot to make your stay enjoyable. You can book tours through them (and they can help you decide what's best for you), store your luggage, and there are daily shuttles to the bus stations and to the pier. They also offer a $2.50 breakfast option with cereal, bread, peanut butter, etc (or you can buy eggs and toast for the same price!).

There's also plenty to do to stay busy at the hostel. They have a pool, a mini bar outside, sunloungers and hammocks to lay out and read or relax during the day, a pool table, DVDs you can borrow, and a nightly hostel quiz where you can win a bottle of champagne.

Everything is really clean as well, and it's only about a four minute walk to the main road. Great stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this hostel is just amazing. I arrived and booked a last minute sailing trip through them, not only did i not have to pay some cancellation fee, i got a night for free! And the price is already amazing. They held my luggage for me when i was away. You get 1 hour free wifi. It's located a bit outside the town which is nice. Only the mattress are a bit thin the rest is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights here before setting off to the Whitsunday's. The staff were brilliant. We had a good laugh with them every night. I especially loved the quiz nights as we won both nights in a row. Free booze! Result.

The rooms are fine and the location is great as its quiet. Our room was fine and the fellow guests were looking for the same thing as us: i.e to chat and not party!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just did 2wks in Australia and stayed in hostels the whole trip.This place is by far the worst I have ever stayed in.Have also stayed in hostels in Paris and London.We were greated with filth and bugs.There was used feminine products on the floor in the bathroon along with alot of dust,mould and anything you can imagine.The grounds were not kept and I would not of put my big toe in the swimming pool.I am not a fussy traveller,the more adventure the better but not this place. Watch out for the manager trying to put unauthorized items on your Visa as well.I don't mind paying my bills but tell me what I am paying for before you do it!!!! In Canada I am sure this place would violate all of our health and safety regulations. Airlie was beautiful but not the hostel.Oh, this is the first bad review I have ever writtien,don't enjoy doing it either but I feel I do have to warn people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioLeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend in a 4-share dorm room. The place is relaxed and clean, rooms have A/C and some shelves for storing which was nice. The kitchen was clean and well functioning. Nice people over all, and not only the usual 19 years old backpackers. There is a bar, but the place is much quiter then most other hostels on the East Coast and located a bit away from the busy main street.
The staff, especially Peter, was very nice, and gave us great advice about daytours and sailing excursions for the Whitsundays.
We are very happy to have stayed at Backpackers by the Bay and can recommend it to anyone looking for a calm and relaxed place to stay in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

stayed for 5 days in april 2013, really loved the place cool and chilly place.
thar is a good pool, clean kitchen
very nice staff especially izzy and audrey . she's amazing!! 5m from the main streat.
great dorm rooms with only 4 ppl in each room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank or l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#41 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing