We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't changed in the past five years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers by the Bay
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Backpackers by the Bay in 2007 and remembered it as a friendly hostel with a more laid back approach. I don't like party hostels, so I came back. We had a double room with direct pool access, which was quite nice. A fan cools you by day, the aircon only works at night,but that's still enough. The facilities are generally clean and well maintained, but the whole hostel could need a thorough cleanup or even more a renovation in some parts. It seemed to me that nothing has been done in the last five years. Also the wifi is limited (only one hour is free), and a fee applies for the single internet PC available, aswell as for the pool table. On the other hand there is a licensed bar with a cozy seating area nearby the pool, and the staff is very helpful. We could leave our luggage there while going on a sailing trip (fee applies...) and were welcome to stay on the premises and use the showers as we returned, even though we didn't stay overnight but had to wait only for the greyhound bus. The hostel is quite animal friendly. Gekkos and Grasshoppers invaded the common areas by night, and green ants do live around the pool, but I have no problem with a little nature as long as it stays out of my room. All in all still highly recommended if you need a relaxing base fir your Whitsundays trip (which can be booked through the hostel btw).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splinterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 435 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

A fine hostel, located just a mere stones throw from the buzzing esplanade of Airlie Beach where Australia's young blood come to party the summer away, this hostel is a great place to rest your tired head.

Don't worry about the 3 minute walk from the bus station to the hostel as a friendly person will come to collect you and load up your luggage into the mini bus no matter how many pieces of baggage you are laden down with.

Clean 4-bed rooms with air conditioning at night time. The communal bathrooms are clean, spacious and they have plenty of facilities. The onsite laundrette and kitchen are also clean and spacious. There's plenty of space for hanging around when you get back from your boat trip at the Whitsundays so relax and spend a day swinging on the hammocks and lounging around the pool.

There are all age groups staying here, young and old, couples, singles and groups of backpackers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carthe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Small quiet and located slightly further from town compared to the other hostels. but Airlie is generally safe hence there is no need to worry about walking back to the hostel late at night. Loved the staff there, they were absolute dear and very very helpful.bathroom is clean as well and they clean it a couple of times in a day.
they have a little verandah where there are hammocks for you to chill out and read a book, thats my fav spot!

However, the kitchen is not as clean as one would have hoped for and the rooms are slightly old and there is no air conditioner. I visited during the winter, but airlie was fairly warmer than NSW (where i was from), but i reckon duirng summer u ll be burning. there is a pool in the hostel as well, but i dont hink anyone would dip in there cos it looks abandoned.
for the price that you pay, i think it is value for money. and if you are looking for a quieter option compared to YHA or nomads where most backpackers are drunk and making a mess. this hostel is definitely for you.
They also have private rooms if you do nt wish to share w strangers or other backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianajuicebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really enjoyed my 3 night stay at Backpackers by the Bay. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm, which was so cosy with the wooden furniture. The bathrooms were fairly well maintained and there were always showers available whenever I wanted. The kitchen was fine and the complimentary tea and coffee was much appreciated, though a little milk wouldn't have gone a miss.

The location is perfect, it is only a 5 minute walk into the main street area of Airlie Beach, so it is very quiet and actually this is the nearest hostel to the bus drop off, though the hostel does provide a pick up/drop off service to meet all Greyhound buses.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to others. Whilst in AB, make sure you visit the Whitsundays on a Ocean Rafting day trip, so much fun!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Backpackers by the Bay is a small, quiet hostel located on the eastern edge of town, over a little hill about 10 minutes walk from Airlie Beach's main drag. I did find this walk back and forth a little annoying (given how small the town is otherwise), but it was good to be away from all the roadworks going on on the main street.

The hostel was really quiet when I was there, meaning I got a 4-person dorm to myself all three nights, so this definitely positively impacted my trip. The hostel has a nice little pool and laundry facilities. The kitchen has what you need and the fridge has a communal food shelf meaning there are usually some basic items around you can help yourself to.

The negative points I'd associate with the place are: although free pickup is offered from the very nearby bus station, you have to make your own way from the much further ferry port (about 1.5km). The reception staff didn't seem as knowledgeable as I'd expect when asking for advice on what to do in town. Although you get 1 hour of free wifi when you check in, that's a one time offer - any subsequent nights you have to pay $2.50 per half hour (expensive compared to the average in Airlie, where you can get internet access for free at some of the travel agents). Also, the hostel advertised opportunities to meet other guests such as daily quizzes and movie nights - I didn't see any quizzes while I was there and the movies didn't get an audience (perhaps all this was a result of it being so quiet).

Overall, I'd recommend this hostel to people who value quiet over location and atmosphere. If I went back to Airlie as a solo travel, I'd stay in one of the livelier places in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here, the hostel is a bit of a walk from the Main Street (shute harbour rd) (about 10 mins) where all of the other hostels are but the rooms in the hostel make up for this, our room was a double and very clean felt like home! The bathroom areas are separate for male and female and were nice and cleaned daily! Our bins in our room were changed daily which was nice as we haven't known any other hostel to do that! The reception staff were nice and helpful, the kitchen was ok but not as clean as I would have liked when we went to make cereal there were ants in the bowls and cupboards so not very nice to face before you want breakfast but anyway apart from that it was all good! We loved our time in airlie beach :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellerouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Being the first time in a hostel I was very impressed my stay at BBB. All of the staff were really friendly, particularly Issy, who has great interpersonal skills and was only too happy to help me with a number of requests. All of the staff hang around outside normal hours and into the night and socialise with quests which was really impressive.

They do have a bus that collects you from the greyhound bus stop (I assume you need to book it with them via email) but it is only a 5-7 min walk from there... no big hills or anything... When leaving they do offer to drop you off at the greyhound bus stop which again is great service! The walking entry is off the Shute road which is actually better than wandering around to Hermitage road.

The overall cleanliness was fantastic considering it is a hostel, there is always a groundskeeper wandering around cleaning up or doing something. The kitchen was always clean, the room was particularly clean and the communal bathroom was ok.

The hostel wasn't overly busy and minimal people in the room (max 4, which I liked... on most occasions it was just me!). It is located out of the town centre which is really only a very short stroll (5-10 min depending where in town you want to get to.. 10 min walk to lagoon). It seemed that because of its location it was a bit quieter than the rest of the hostels which I liked. I ldid have a look at the main hostel in town and it was full of people wandering around and also 8 people to a dorm, some people might like that but I preferred to stay a little out of town and had the benefit of not being swamped by people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 56 in Airlie Beach
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#37 of 56 in Airlie Beach
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#46 of 56 in Airlie Beach
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $41 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing