We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpackers by the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Backpackers by the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

Backpackers by the bay is a really nice, low key hostel. Just outside of the noise of the main strip but close enough to walk in and enjoy the party atmosphere because this is what Airlie is all about...

People come here because its the gateway to the whitsundays, Peterpans is the best place to book a sailing trip from here, they do some great deals but ours was pre booked and linked to our fraser island trip you save more! On Boomerang catarmarang (highly recommended for a party boat).

The rooms were ok, even though the reception staff try and charge you for everythink they can! they had nice neat shelves to put your bags on so your stuff wasnt everywhere and your beds were even made for you everyday by the cleaner-which was a suprise! Bathroms were a bit on the small side an always busy.

The kitchen and dining room area was great and well equipped.

The pool was cold and saltwater, but clean and had a great view of the whole bay and marina. The garden was a gorgeous view to sit out and drink at night too with a big bbq area.

  • Liked — The views and the location
  • Disliked — the bathrooms need to be bigger
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    129
    61
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
104
158
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed here two separate nights before and after a six day kayak and camping trip. On both nights were were woken up by late night drinkers talking loudly in the hallway. It is definitely not a quiet hostel. The woman at the desk the first night was great, but the man on the second night was more interested in playing pool. We used the washing machine and drier, they had a reasonably equipped kitchen, and the porch has a good view of new earth moving under progress on the ocean front. We've stayed at many hostels and this is the the noisiest yet.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fredMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

I haven't stayed in too many hostels, but this was an average place. It's small and very out-dated, but it served the purpose for which we needed. Short walk to town - which is good - because the hostel doesn't have much of an atmosphere. If you are looking for a place to party at night, this isn't it. However, if you are looking for a quiet place to rest after a busy day on the reef, this is the way to go. I wouldn't use the pool though - it was dirty! Reception closes at 7:30pm, and with that so does Internet access (on one incredibly slow computer). Staff are nice and helpful with suggestions on sights to see in the area. There is a very small bar on site, but I only saw it open for short periods of time at night - never past 9pm. Bring a good book to keep yourself occupied during downtime!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tdestef21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

Accommodation wise the place needs a revamp, particularly the showers
and loos, the pool needed to be cleaned which was done but didnt seem
to be on the list of priorities. room was clean and tidy and had a lovely view of the bay which was nice. staff were nice, wasnt the friendliest place i have stayed in and the noise on a night can be annoying particularly when you have to get up early and all you can hear are pissed people shouting and screaming (we seem to think this was the owner and his friends) all in all tho it was fine and it did the job.

  • Liked — was clean
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

I stayed here for 1 night, it was one of my first experiences of staying in a hostel and it wasnt as bad as I expected a hostel to be. Its about a 10min uphill walk from the bus stop in Airlie Beach so I'd reccommend a taxi rather than dragging a suitcase up that hill like I did! I arrived very late so the 4-dorm room I was booked into was already full of very messy people and the air conditioning unit was so noisy I had to turn it off. Beds & linen etc were clean though.
Communal shower areas are clean with loads of hot water & great showers.
The staff are great, so helpful and well used to catering for people who just need to stay for a night before going to the WhitSundays and needing reasonable priced luggage storage.
Theres a courtesy bus every 20mins all day until 8pm that will drop/collect guests from bus stops/town which is great.
I'd reccommend here to anyone looking for somewhere to stop over while waiting/back from a WhitSunday Islands boat trip, its friendly, relaxed, clean and comfortable, the only drawback being the decor, its tired and outdated.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank enol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

If you need somewhere to stay the night before/after heading out to the Whitsunday Islands on a boat from Airlie Beach, BbtB is worth using. We did exactly this, two seperates nights, one either side of 3 days on a boat.

All the facilities you would expect in a medium-sized backpackers are there, including a reasonable pool. Rooms and showers are clean. Air-conditioning at night is very welcome. Staff at the front desk are really helpful and knowledgeable.

Its a few minutes walk from the centre of Airlie Beach but only 5-10 mins walk.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticMong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing