We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looking, poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good looking, poor facilities”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriends in a double room. The place is good looking; nice bar, pool tables, near a Woolworths, clean but small bed and accommodations in the forest. But, the facilities are pretty poor. 2 very (!) small kitchens and the showers/toilets aren't clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Hostel - we can’t really agree with all your comments though. We would encourage people to have a look at our facilities on our website - we honestly believe they are very good and certainly the best in Airlie. Our housekeepers are all long term locals and take great pride in their cleaning standards - we are sorry if the bathroom that you used was not up to your standards and we will certainly pass on your comments.
Once again, we are genuinely grateful for all feedback.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    145
    107
    42
    78
See reviews for
2
160
104
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for only one night and had one long line of bed bug bites 20 to be precise up my arm. The first case in a month of staying in hostels up the east coast. Service at the front desk was extremely slow and staff weren't very friendly. A good bar next door and kitchen was clean. Nice hostel bar the bed bugs

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you Sally
This review is very concerning to us as we keep a very strict log book of any incidents of this nature and we are unable to find any incidents at all in the last month - in fact we cannot even find your name as have being a registered guest with us. We would really appreciate some more information in relation to the dates you stayed and the room number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We used this hostel as a launching pad for our sailing trip and we are very happy with it! Rooms smelled a bit musty, but the location was just perfect (on the main street and next to woolies) and the toilets & showers were to be shared only with few other rooms, meaning that you never had to wait!
A few people were drinking in the hostel and being loud though, and the security guard seemed very lax in doing their job

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you found the location "perfect" - we are loving having Woolworths next door too.
We have passed your comments on to our security company regarding your security issues.
Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hostel. Everyone was very friendly, the bar was very nice and chilled out with live music every night. Free wifi in a communal area made it very easy to meet lots of people. Staff weren't particularly helpful with tours though. Rooms were very large, bathrooms had a very good shower and there were shelves in the room, which was very nice!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alicenuala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Magnums.
We are surprised by your comment that the staff weren't helpful with tours - our reception girls are all locals and love getting our guests out in the Whitsundays to share their beautiful area. We have just experienced a busy tour sales period so perhaps the available tours were limited - hopefully you can come back again and we can show you some of the great tours the Whitsundays have to offer.
Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizhou, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed in a twin single room with a friend, great location surrounded by rainforest, Cheap and simple rooms with all clean sheets and good air con. Great location and a fun place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: I went for a twin single room rather than a eight person share room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review!
We wish you safe and happy onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Magnums for two nights, before and after our Whitsundays sailing trip. Both nights were terrible.

On both nights we had booked private rooms. The rooms are really dated, unclean and infested with ants.

Also, the front desk staff were rude and unhelpful.

Please avoid.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your review - we genuinely appreciate all feedback.
We, like all properties in the tropics, have the odd insect and certainly ants are some of our visitors! I would disagree in relation to your comment of ‘infested’ but fully understand that insects are ‘new’ to a lot of travellers. We have a dedicated page on our website to educate and assist our guests in relation to the wildlife that can be found in the tropics - it really is a good read! If you found one of our team members unhelpful PLEASE let the management know who this was as we take customer service and guest satisfaction very seriously.
We wish you safe and happy onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Backpacking in style or just a weekend away (as we did) this place is in best location of town and surrounded by rainforest. A very cheap price too. The girls in reception were very helpful and the crowd they attract are happy open minded backpackers. We'll be coming back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronniedog87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you “beautiful’ reviewer”!
So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise - we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing