We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hostel, would advise you stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel, would advise you stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really enjoyed my time here. Right in the center or Airlie Beach. Kitchen facilities, bed rooms etc are kept very clean. All rooms have aircon in them. Staff get you checked in very fast. Hostel has its own bar and night club so it did get a little loud if you never went out in the evening but not so that it would keep you awake. Would advise people to go this hostel if they are in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidball88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    139
    104
    42
    77
See reviews for
2
156
102
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The best things about the hostel were the great atmosphere with all the plants and small cabins and the great location! The staff was also really chilled and fun to hang out with. They offered free wifi which was really cool and the kitchen/TV room was perfectly clean. The hostel was perfect for meeting new people as everybody was hanging out in front of their cabins at night for having a few drinks. The only bad thing about the hostel was the air conditioning, since we weren't allowed to turn it off even if it was freezing during the night. But still ... the room was great, the private bathroom was great, the location was great and the atmosphere was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you! Great review - we really appreciate you taking the time to share your views.
We really love our property and love sharing it with you all – thank you for choosing Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be spoken to in a rude manner and if you would like to spend all night itching then stay here.
Upon arrival there was a girl in our room who was absolutely covered in bites. When we said that we were worried about our beds we were assured that ours had been treated and we would be fine. When we woke up the next morning covered in bites we discovered that we were not at all fine.
We had to empty our cases into the dryer, leave our bags sweating in the heat and then repack all our stuff, which took a couple of hours. When I complained to the reception staff and asked what they planned to do about this and asked for a refund, I simply got the reply "we can't do anything and we do not offer a refund, these things just happen." When I then asked for a head office address to complain I was given a piece of paper and she said "write your complaint on here and we will give it to our manager, but nothing will happen." I was not at all happy and the manner in which I was spoke to was not acceptable.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonder-Sam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We have worked alongside Trip Advisor for many years now and we have learnt that under no circumstances will they accept that thier clients are being dishonest and that is good business practice.
I will only say we were startled to receive this review - we ALL remember you well as you certainly made yourself well known to all and even when you were not even a paying guest! Of course you were not happy when challenged about this and now we have ended up with this very unflattering review. I am the biggest critic of my team if they are ever less than 100% hospitable but they make it easy because they all love what they do and they love Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, pretty popular with 20ish backpackers. Nice small private room for 50 dollars a night which was great. You have a bar right at the end of the enterance and surprisingly it is quiet at night if you have a room up the back.

Only problem is the kitchens. Theyre flithy. People do not clean up after themselves. They are not stocked up enough with utensils. There is one sign up to ask people to clean but this isnt enough.

Another thing, which didnt bother me at all, but there are signs everywhere about no alcohol should b brought into the place and no smoking. Mostly everybody is smoking and drinking. If a hostel is going to the bother of advertising this, then reinforce it.

General thou I enjoyed my stay here, apart from rhe kitchens. Oh and yes, I would have loved to complain but the 3 poor ladies at the reception desk were run off their feet and I waited 10mins and couldnt b bothered to wait sny longer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvme_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Magnums. We have alerted our housekeeping team as to your concern regarding the kitchen - the kitchens do have 2 cleans every day by our housekeeping department but you obviously struck at a bad moment so we apologise.
HAPPY and safe onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Magnums is a good enough hostel. It has a nice bar and cute bungalows. We stayed there because they offer deals that if you do a boat trip through them you get two free nights at Magnums. The boat trip was amazing! We went on the Samurai. The first night we stayed there our room had some cockroaches but most hostels in Australia do. Then we went on the boat (Magnums stored our luggage for free). When we got back we stayed another night in a different bungalow and it was cockroach free! Both rooms were clean (besides the cockroaches!). The cleaning staff are a bit intimidating. I stayed in a bungalow with some people I didn't know and the cleaning staff yelled at them for being so messy. Which they were, leaving beer cans all over the place and their stuff in the middle of the floor. So as long as you're not rude then you shouldn't have a problem! The location is great. Right next to the lagoon, beach, and bars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
We are glad you enjoyed your overnight sailing tour on Samurai.
We like to think Magnums is more than your typical backpackers with our great tropical setting in the heart of Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Basic set up. Some staff are very friendly. Some staff are rude and short fused. Rooms are purely functional, small and FAIRLY clean. We had a room for two and our friends had a room for two. We went sailing around the Whit Sundays for a few days and were able to store bags that we were not bringing with us in a safe room for a nominal fee. Hostels are hostels. This is perfect for backpackers. There's a bar on the grounds and there's always a bit of a buzz.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.
We are sorry to hear that you found some of our staff to be rude and short fused. I notice that you stayed with us in February, 2013 so it is hard to establish the staff as we have had staff changes since your stay - I sure if you return you will find all of our staff very friendly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were lucky to get at Magnums as every other place we asked were fully booked (twin rooms at least). The funny thing was that the other places were a lot more expensive, and for some reason the cheaper alternative had plenty of rooms available. It had no reasons not to be fully booked as well, the rooms were clean, and places way in the 'back' of Airlies main street so that we got away from the noise. Our room were equipped with a waterboiler, a fridge, plates and cutlery and there were not a thing we missed. It was a shared bathroom, but you only shared it with the other rooms on your floor (3 in total), so you basically had it to yourself anyway.
Another plus was that when you rented a twin room your check out time were at 11 am instead of 10 am.
Breakfast was not included but they had nice facilities in the kitchen, and there were even little cafes/diners were you could buy food if you wanted to.
Magnums were located right in the main street of Airlie beach so your have everything right where you live. It is a brilliant place for a couple of nights in Airlie/Whitsundays.

Room Tip: Go for twin room if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We love to hear that you thought Magnums is a brilliant place for a couple of nights in Airlie Beach / Whitsundays - we mustn't be the only people that think this as we just won "Best Backpackers" at the 2013 Whitsunday Tourism Awards for the second year in a row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing