We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent for the price”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent value for what you get. Stayed in a private room for 2 nights. Was clean and comfortable and the shared shower/toilet was fine - you're only sharing with 2 other rooms.
Only downside was that it was quite noisy with loud music playing on Friday night until 1am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_t_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you found our resort excellent value for what you get.
Our housekeeping staff are very proud of their work and so we are happy to hear to thought the room was clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    145
    107
    42
    78
See reviews for
2
160
104
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hostel advertises as the best , I'm sorry to say this is not the case it seems to be a mecca for the sub 25's who can't handle their drinks with people throwing up within the grounds and shouting/ swearing till 4 in the morning. We stayed 1 night and that was to long , no chance of getting sleep and to top it off the fire alarm decided to start sounding at 7 in the morning, even though it advertises a no alcohol within the grounds and a security patrol to enforce this it was not the case with cans and bottles strewn everywhere along with half eaten burgers, its terrible as it has the potential to be a good hostel. The reception staff were very apologetic and they were the one part I would say are good. If you need sleep you will not get it, I have no problem with partying and having a good time and I still consider myself young ( I'm 29!) But I do object to the attitude of the majority of the guests with no respect for the rules or the comfort of others. I hope this helps and I hate having to leave negative reveiws. Scott from U.K

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your concerns.
We are sorry to hear you had a fairly ordinary experience with us - it is unusual and disappointing for both parties.
Sadly, some guests (as in all tourist accommodation) choose not to adhere to the rules - we have passed your concerns on to our security team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with 6 of my friends, before and after we went to the Whitsundays. The accommodation is set in the back off the main road, but airlie beach only has one road, not like there is traffic. I liked the way the accommodation was spread out, which kinda looked like a small Forrest. The accommodation itself was only ok, I have stayed in alot of better places. We had a cabin to ourselves which was ok. We did not have to worry about disturbing others when we stumbled in the door. I have heard of bed bugs in this place. But we managed to escape. The place could be a lot cleaner, yes we are backpackers, no we are not animals. We except some bit of hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keano1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We would love to hear more specifically what your ‘hygiene issues’ were in relation to as I would have to strongly disagree with you on any shortcomings in that area – Our team of cleaners are passionate about their ‘area of operations’ and given the information you have offered we cannot really identify any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for a week. First of all in a double bedroom and then in a dorm. They were both comfortable and clean. What is nice about this hostel is that it's patrially in the jungle so a lot of wild life for example I wanted to go cook my lunch and there was a dragon of comodor in the kitchen. Overall experience was really nice. Nice gigantic bar is also on the facility. Staff could have been a bit nicer but the hostel itself was nice and close from everything in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We love our little jungle setting in the heart of Airlie Beach too.
Thank you for staying at Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived at 9am and we could immediately check in to our rooms which was good. Rooms were basic but clean and had air conditioning and fans. The location is great right near the beach and near the bars/shops. The hostel is more like a resort complex than a hostel, meet loads of Other backpackers very social able, bar and restaurant onsite. Only disadvantage was free wifi didn't work and they didn't offer a shuttle service to and from the bus stop which is kind of a struggle with backpacks. If go back to airlie beach will definetely go back to magnums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiarasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort!
We are glad you met new people and had a great time at Magnums.
We have listened to your comments regarding struggling with your backpacks from the transit centre and have set a plan in motion.
We look forward to you visiting Magnums again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I liked this backpackers a lot. Nice place, clean bedrooms, comfortable beds, really really nice staff (helpful and friendly), big kitchen... I would definetely recommend this place to stay. However, there was loud music until late, so if you want to sleep, you would like to take earplugs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
We think our staff are helpful and friendly too - we actually pride ourselves on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Honestly a great backpackers, loads of people to meet. the rooms are kept well, and your right in the centre of town. more importantly the staff are amazing! they're extremely nice, so helpful and prepared to go above and beyond for customers. I left my passport and laptop in magnums (stupid I know) but without hesitation one of their staffers’ Mel, was straight on the case and sent them down to me in Melbourne before my flight back to the UK a few days later. Such brilliant people. And a special thank you to Mel

Room Tip: dorms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 623henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review!
We are very proud of our Magnums' staff so it is always great to get such positive feedback.
So glad you received your property back in time - well done to Mel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing