We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs and absolutely no refund!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bed bugs and absolutely no refund!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently stayed at Magnums with a friend one night before our sail trip in an 8 bed dorm. Everything was fine and my impression of the place was quite good as the rooms seemed well maintained and clean for a backpackers with a handy free wifi area. After our sailing trip we were to stay one more night before our outbound flight and decided to pay that little extra to get a twin room as we had been sharing with others the last few days and just wanted our space. We get our twin room and all seems good until while i lay on the bottom bunk I notice a bug on the bottom of the top bunk mattress. I work in a hotel and know about bed bugs. I killed the bug and was 99% sure it was a bed bug so we looked for more. After lifting the mattress and spotting another one it was confirmed that there were definitely bed bugs. We packed all our things and headed to reception. As it was late we had to speak to security for a room move. The guy seemed completely unsurprised and non apologetic that we had come across this problem so I accepted the room move and decided to speak to someone in the morning. We had a flight the next morning and our sleep was cut down significantly due to our experience. The next morning I approach the reception and all they do to compensate was give us a few dollars to use the dryer as this is supposed to kill any bugs. I was shocked that this did not appear to be a serious problem to them and they said they have a no refund policy so I would not get anything back from the money I spent. I was not trying to get money back for nothing, it was more a situation of courtesy and the right thing to do. If you pay for a service and it is not delivered especially in this case then you should always be entitled to a refund. All in all the place in general is quite nice with a bar, several food outlets close by and a short walk to the port to catch your sail but the service and way they responded to the bed bugs for me was terrible. I hope they are doing what's necessary to make that room sellable again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you reviewer.
We will certainly not argue unfairly, you are correct in what you said, you did find a bed bug and you did not get a refund. We all recall this incident and of course we are not terribly keen on Bed Bugs either but you can be assured we did not put them there and yes of course the room has been immediately closed for a 48 hour period and professionally fumigated. The room will be checked by two staff members and not re-opened until official clearance is given. We take this problem very seriously and we do not know any other operator with a faster reaction time and more efficient procedures than Magnums have in place.
We are of course genuinely disappointed that you did not have a restful stay with us but I can assure you that customer comfort is our absolute priority - we sincerely wish you all the best on your future travels. Unfortunately you may be surprised to find that even 4 and 5 star hotels are suffering the consequences of our international travellers unknowingly ‘giving the lads a ride’.
We will continue to be a professional proactive organisation that will play our part in professionally minimising any further spread.
Once again, safe and happy onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    148
    111
    43
    78
See reviews for
3
164
107
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights before my Whitsundays tour, the reception staff are so lovely and helpful not just when we arrived but also throughout our stay! The rooms are lovely and spacious with really comfortable beds and an en suite bathroom which is very clean. The room has 2 fans and air con which was perfect for the heat! Our room also had a fridge which was perfect to put our food and drinks in as people tend to steal in the communal kitchens! The wifi is free which is brilliant as most places are expensive and there is also a BBQ area where you can make your own BBQ which is fun!! There are 2 kitchens both very clean and have amazing hot plates you can cook in quickly however as mentioned before people in hostels like to steal so many of the utensils were stolen to no fault of the hostels!! Another brilliant part to this hostel is one of the main clubs which is brilliant whether it is busy or not! Magnums is in a brilliant location in the middle of the strip and easy to find the only downside is there is no pool but the lagoon is only a few minutes walk away and is lovely!! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review.
We are always striving to make sure our guests' enjoy their stay - we as so happy to hear you did.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

In double room, very small but clean and air con works very well, nice bar and mamas boys is nice to eat in and reasonable, good kitchen area as well, staff lovely and good athmosphere!! Good music in bar at night as well but can't hear it in rooms!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We do have great staff so it is always nice to hear postive feedback from our guests.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have to be honest and say that the accommodation is over-priced for what you get...all twin rooms have to share bathrooms, and the cleanliness of these facilities leaves much to be desired! The twin rooms aren't in fact two single beds, as we were led to believe, but a set of bunk beds in the middle of the room!!! We are new to the whole hostel experience, so maybe this is normal? But we were a little shocked when we arrived at the room! I will leave more reviews on the next hostels we visit as a comparison....

However, the staff do make up for the lack of comfort and facilities. They all seemed friendly and welcoming, and we must in particular mention "Nat" who went out of her way to ensure we had the best stay possible, despite our disappointment with the actual hostel. The tour advice she gave us was great, and we were captivated by her enthusiasm for this area. She was also always there in the morning with a welcoming smile and "hello" which made us feel very welcome. Thank you "Nat" for improving our stay at Magnums greatly.

Troy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyCol79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you Troy.
We do believe it is ‘very much the norm’ to expect bunks in the Hostel environment. We were concerned that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the bathroom facilities as our well trained long term housekeepers are a very proud bunch who take as much pride in ‘their Magnums’ as our wonderful Nat in reception does.
We wish you safe onward travels and sincere best wishes for the rest of your stay in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The bar was a bit like Ibiza uncovered, with jelly wrestling, etc. However, the rooms were situated so far back that you could still get a good night's sleep. It was good value, each block had two showers and toilets.

The restaurant (Mama's Boys), leaves a lot to be desired!

They also have a wifi hotspot, which is free, and really good for planning your onward travel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are set back from the bar, so its all nice and peaceful, although we did stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed our accommodation facilities.
Magnums Accommodation, Magnums Hotel and Mamas Boy Restaurant all all independently owned and managed entities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in January before heading to the Whitsundays. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm, which had air conditioning, which is a big plus for me. The room was clean, and all the rooms are set back from the busy, noisy bar area next to the main road. As such it's pretty quiet, but it's likely people in your room will come back at various times during the night / morning, so bring earplugs and an eye mask.

Staff in the from desk were really helpful, but the luggage storage only opens at certain hours during the day, which was a little annoying.

Free wifi outside the rooms, and plenty of laundry options if you're staying for a few nights.

The private rooms are good value for money, so if you want guaranteed peace and quiet, it's worth shelling out the extra cash.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg0srh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback, the good stuff is REALLY appreciated! Thank you............take care and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

my friend and i (in our 40's) needed a cheap place to stay overnight, and i was a bit dubious about booking a backpackers, but Magnums was great! our room was TINY but it was all we needed, and great value. everything was clean and tidy, and the aircon was wonderful. the shared bathroom was clean and sufficient for what we needed. the whole place is like a green gorgeous jungle, it even smelled earthy. there was barely any noise. we will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveQldAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We love to hear positive feedback for our resort.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing