We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs Bed Bugs Bed Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
leeds
1 review
“Bed Bugs Bed Bugs Bed Bugs”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

wELL ALL I CAN SAY IS DO NOT STAY HERE! Unless you want to be covered in hundreds of bites from Bed Bugs steer clear- the staff were no help merely gave me 3 dollars to wash all my clothes - being a girl with a huge backpack this did not cover costs at all! I am now left with horrid itchy red bites and they are not leaving!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank linzi_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    151
    111
    43
    78
See reviews for
3
171
108
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed here as part of my Whitsundays Trip in Sept 2004.

Loved the place, turned up in Airlie on the 8am bus from Hervey Bay and was able to check into my room straight away without a problem,

Decent Sized Dorms in decent enough condition, considering my room cost £7 for the night and can't really be faulted. Clean as any other hostel I've stayed in and what you would expect on the East Coast.

Facilties are open to all in the site, including a massive open air bar area, with plenty of food option, plenty of cheap drinks offers and an on site night club with various themed nights, decent sized laundry on site which is very important if you have just been to Frasier Island and again decently priced.

If I had another night in Airlie after my whitsundays trip (which I wish I had) I would have definatly stayed here again!

  • Liked — Hostel and One of the towns best bar/club in one!
  • Disliked — Leaving so soon
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2007

This hostel was fantastic. We stayed in a twin room which had a bunk bed (a little creaky), air conditioning and a fridge in it! We had to share a bathroom with 2 other cabins but that was fine, I don't think I ever had to wait, and we were there for 10 nights! The hostel is set in a rainforest and is very comfortable. The bar is out the front and we couldn't hear it from our room. The bar is a really good place to sit down, day or night and they have live music at night time and sometimes during the day. Fabulous hostel for a great price! $52 a night!!

  • Liked — Air Conditioning!
  • Disliked — Kitchen or lack of.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rowy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

we stayed in airlie beach for 3 weeks trying to get work but couldn't get any ,stayed in a few hostels in airlie and magnums was the BEST HOSTEL, we had a 8 bed dorm and met great people it was a total party hostel especially our room so if you like to party and get no sleep magnums is the place to be!!! ou roomies was wicked!! i would recommend to any backpacker that likes partying!!!

  • Liked — the party atmosphere
  • Disliked — 6ft pythons
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkc_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I had a great time at Magnums. We stayed there for 2 nights inbetween a sail of the whitsunday islands. Magnums was very helpful in booking out sailing trip and stored our luggage for free while we were on the boat. They have a place to eat, bar (with live music) and night club all on site. I would definitely recommend it for backpackers. It's not luxury but great value.

  • Liked — all the ammenities
  • Disliked — the live music was a bit loud if you wanted to go to sleep early
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

I stayed here in 2005 - the accommodation was thrown in with a Whitsundays sailing trip and as I was only here for one night I didn't take time to research the place - big mistake!!!!!

The girl who checked me in was rude and unfriendly and clearly couldn't give a monkeys about her job.

When I arrived I was allocated a bunk in an 8 bed dorm. Now I've stayed in hostels and dorms all over the world and I'm not a fussy person at all but I could not believe how disgusting this place is!!!!! I was a solo female traveller and was allocated a dorm shared with 7 men - I can barely begin to describe how revolting it was in there. Resting on what I assumed was my bed (the only one with no sheets or pillow) was a pair of freshly and heavily skidmarked underpants - delightful!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The whole room absolutely REEKED of vomit and was full of overflowing ashtrays, old beer cans and bottles. The bathroom was absolutely filthy with a sink full of beard leftovers, strewn with empty hair gel, shaving gel and deodorant cans. No shower curtain and no blinds at the window!!!!!!! I won't even attempt to describe the toilet. Needless to say there wasn't any toilet paper to be seen which might help explain the fragrant underpants on my bed!!!!!!!!!

I honestly don't think the place had been cleaned in weeks. It was so skanky I couldn't even contemplate sleeping in there so went back to the front desk to see if there was any way I could go in a dorm with some girls.

Back at reception a different girl was working and she was actually very helpful. I explained that I really couldn't spend a night in that horrendous stinking dorm and she apologised profusely and tried to find me a girl's dorm - but to no avail. Then luckily she managed to find a last minute cancellation and put me in a double room for no extra charge. The room was reasonably clean and thankfully bedbug free (a big problem in the dorms) - the showers in that block were clean and I ended up having a reasonably good night's sleep.

Anyway my advice is: if you absolutely have to stay at Magnums and you can get a double room then you might be OK but I would seriously avoid the dorms - personally I would never stay here again - there are much better choices in Airlie Beach than this.

  • Liked — The one helpful staff member
  • Disliked — I didn't like anything about this place
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

vamcouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed at Magnums as part of a pre paid package. ( we were there for the Whitsunday boat trip)

There were 4 of us and we shared a dorm with abut 8 other people. It was boiling, but we could only have the air-con on every few hours. Oh and they didn't have enough pillows!

If you like a good nights sleep this is not the place for you, as the bar is next to many of the rooms. If you want to cook for yourself, then good luck!

The worst part was the furry friends who shared our accommodation. Lesson to be learnt about leaving pizza in your room, which one idiot did. When the mouse jumped out of the box, I was quite shocked, he wasn't too bothered and carried on eating his leaft overs. Oh the same guy had a chocolate advent calendar which 2 mice loved, they were in and out of the windows nibbling the yummy chocolate!

When we mentioned this to the quite friendly staff, they really couldn't give a rats [---]! I have since spoken to other travellers who had the same experiences.

Yes it's cheap, but if you have a choice don't stay here. Unless you can upgrade to a private double, which were away from the noise and had air-con. Having said that, if you're young and going to be drunk most of the time you won't really notice.

Sorry to be so negative.

  • Liked — The mice in our room were very cute
  • Disliked — noise, no pillows, mice.
  • Tips/Secrets — ear plugs
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pachapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#43 of 54 in Airlie Beach
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing