We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bungalow Backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Bungalow Backpackers!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is not a hotel, once you remember that backpacker hostels are not hotels - you will learn to love them! This is probably one of the better designed hostel- with the rainforest at your door, and bungalow style accommodation - it almost makes you forget its a back packers. I stayed here 1 night on a quick drive (30 hours excluding the overnight stop) from Sydney to Cairns, and was not disappointed - my mate and I shared a private room with a bunk - and slept well (which is all you want from a backpackers). They had great entrainment out the front in the open pub area, it seemed quiet enough and was in the heart of Airlie. The price was reasonable as were the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajesta9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks Dajesta9!
Great that you enjoyed staying at our place - we are Airlie’s only custom designed backpackers so we are pleased you noticed the benefits!
30 hours driving? Not good - please take it easy and stay safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    148
    109
    42
    78
See reviews for
2
164
105
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved the design of the hostel being in a rainforest setting. We stayed quite far back in a private room and so far away from the bar so was quiet at night. Bathroom was generally clean but spiders sharing the shower with you was a bit off putting! Our room was clean but smelt very strongly of damp. My chest tightened as I have mild asthma so not great! We also had ants appear around our zipped coolbag, once we moved these to the fridge they soon went and cleaner came and mopped up straight away which was good. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive but good atmosphere. We ate out all the time, tried cooking pasta 1 night and it was a nightmare - really hot kitchgen and rubbish utensils. Other kitchen only had microwaves and no hobs. Needs a revamp with kitchens for backpackers. Luggage very secure, was happy about that!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks for the feedback Amanda.
Tomorrow our brand new BBQ area gets installed with all new utensils - we love constructive feedback and always re-act!
Watch out for the new website and photos of the new area in a week or so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We rented one of the cabins for a long weekend. The mattresses are thin and not particularly comfy. I had a very sore back after 2 nights. At about 3 am they turn the sprinklers on and it hits the corrugated iron roof and sides LOUDLY. I bought ear plugs to counter this.
The pros to staying here is the location, right in the midst of everything. The restaurants on site especially Mamma's which have big serving sizes. I would stay here again If I was on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayamakan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
We value your feedback regarding our mattresses. We do our best to offer a standard mattress to try to provide the best comfort for all our guests but we do understand that a mattress is a very personal preference and unfortunately we cannot always please everyone.
Our friendly management team are here to help with any issues our guests may have. In regards to your issue with the sprinklers – if this matter was brought to our attention we would have rectified the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here for 2 nights and they were the worst nights sleep of my life. I appreciate this is a party hostel and all but it borders on ridiculous. The ensuite shower n toilet just make for more noise. Probably the worst thing about my 8 bed cheap dorm was the horrid smell. Think it came from the bathroom but I can't even put into words just how bad it was - imagine damp, mould and stuffiness mixed with sweat and heat. And no amount of window opening gets rid of it.

It's a shame because the dorm is actually big and has large glass sliding doors which makes it feel light and airy but don't be fooled. I didn't experience any bed bugs luckily. There are some positives - plug sockets next to each bed and free wifi in the seating area outside ( though bring a jacket coz it gets cold and you will get eaten by mosquiotos) other than that the kitchen is constantly infested with ants and I think you'd be better off giving this place a miss. I guess u get what you pay for $19 is v cheap for a dorm so can't complain to much.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babe_kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Do not avoid at any cost says Magnums!

Sorry to hear you did not sleep well - we have to disagree with you on many points though.

Magnums is the ONLY Airlie Beach Backpackers with on site security to minimise any disruptions to people’s comfort.
Our en-suite bathrooms are very popular - your experience was unique.
We do not consider ourselves to be a party hostel. The hostel is certainly the most central in Airlie Beach and closest to all the shopping and nightlife but it is also the biggest property - the accommodation is well away from the bar activities.
We wish you safe Travels from all the team at Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a three night stay in a private cabin, which was basic but perfecty fine. The jungle setting of the hostel is appealing, as it the free wi fi area which lots of hostels don't have. The private room didn't have it's own bathroom but had a/c and a fridge so generally good facilities. The hostel bar is always busy and a good place for a drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our resort.
We are really happy to be providing our guests with what they are telling us they want - thank you for your ‘thumbs up’!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

when i stayed at magnums i stayed for a total of two weeks. i started off in cabin number 73. after about 3 sleepless nights and actually seeing a bedbug crawl from under my pillow i went to reception to complain. they then sent the cleaners to check my room. the cleaners then confirmed that i had bedbugs in my room and several of the beds were infested. when i returned to my room, the other people who were staying in my room asked me why i was cleaning my stuff. i then told them it was because i had just been told that there were bed bugs in the room. to my surprise i then found out that when the cleaners had come to check my room they told all the other people in my room that there were no bed bugs in the room. a blatant lie!!! i was then moved to room 77. i specifically requested the room be checked before i moved in. they assured me it had. then that night i was still getting bitten. in the morning 2 people from room 73 were moved into my new cabin 77 they had not been told to clean there stuff as they were lied to and told there was no bed bugs. i started getting bitten again. i told reception. they made me clean my stuff and move rooms again. then i moved to a dorm room 27 and on the first night of being in the room a bed bug crawled across my chest. i immediately got out of bed at 3 in the morning after scratching all night. i waited at reception all night for it to open. they then told me there were not any bed bugs in the room. i still demanded a refund but did not get one, i just changed hostels. the next day i walked into magnums to meet a friend and they had evacuated everyone from the dorm rooms and were spraying the beds. so they had obviously lied about not having bed bugs. my friend then moved into a private room and started getting bitten. she then moved into a dorm and got absolutely covered. i have been in airlie for a month now and EVERYONE i know that has stayed there in different rooms has gotten bedbugs. i even this morning saw two girls in the laundry having to clean there stuff to rid the bedbugs. i work at one of the local bars. when the bartenders and managers found out i was living in magnums, the first thing they asked me was "got the bed bugs yet?" magnums is a notoriously infested hostel. DO NOT STAY THERE!!

Room Tip: just dont even get a room. stay at base or nomads!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riohatesmagnums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We boked for 8 people for a weekin Magnums and we arrived to stay in a 10 dorm tht was fine, apart from the next day we where told we needed to move rooms this then happened every morning we had to check out at 10am to check into a new room which would then not be cleaned or made up till between 2-4pm which means for the whole week we could not sleep in. The staff where the worst I delt with. After explaining that we are sick of changing rooms everyday at 10 and our rooms not being ready as we also has a guy with us who had lost two stone and had two chest infections and needed rest we where told be greatful your been allowed into a room we coould just wait and recheck you in at 2pm. So rude I know work n one of the top rated hostls in Brisbane and I always recommend for guests travelling south DO NOT stay in Magnums. Also would not call there kitchen a kitchen

Room Tip: Stay as far back from the front as the bar is very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leem216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns in relation to your recent experience.
It is definately not Magnums policy to move guests on a daily basis so we are a litte puzzled by your review.
When endeavouring to respond to your concerns it is very difficult given that you have not identified the date of your stay or the name of your party - we are unable to substantiate your version of events but would happily investigate your concerns further, please contact me on vkohler@trusteesau.com.au.
May I suggest that in this instance you should have requested to see Management immediately, our management team are passionate about ‘getting things right’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#34 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing