We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting hostel .. and we were robbed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Koala Beach Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koala Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 14 Airlie Beach B&B and Inns
Dublin
1 review
“Disgusting hostel .. and we were robbed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We had booked our Whitsundays trip through the koalas and as part of their rules we had to leave our backpacks in their lock up room when were were sailing for the 3 days as you couldnt bring your luggage onboard. Koalas charged us an extra 10 dollars for storing our luggage in what they described as a 'secure lockup'. When we arrived back from our trip they staff made the entitre boat full of people wait for one hour to open the lock up and just before they turned the key they announced that there had been a break in the night previous and alot of bags got robbed!!!! Luckily out of the 3 of us that were travelling together only our DVD's and playstation got robbed but for others their laptops, passports etc were taken. Koalas did not provide any explanation or apologise for anything, they did not co operate with the police when everybody had to log their robbery with them.
Aside from the robbery they place was an absolute dump, by far the worst hostel we have ever seen!!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    6
    25
See reviews for
Families
0
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

On arrival - looks ok-ish for a hostel
Rooms are dirty, cold, wet, full of bugs, smelly and very bad electrical faults caused my boyfriend to get a bad electric shook.

I would advise anybody not to stay here, even if you are getting it for free,

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

well to start with the staff (in particular the useless cleaners) were very rude and aggressive when i said that we woke up to bed bugs crawling around my pillow in one of the dorms (room 43) the manager was nice in moving us to one of the doubles at the whitsunday wanderers bit better but even then it was very dirty and VERY dated, i didnt like the fact there were carpets as we didnt know WHAT was crawling around in them....the kitchen had to be the worst kitchen i have ever seen, we had to rent EVERTHING, right down to a pot and a pan, the only thing to cook on was one hob, most of the others were broken, and it was just very dirty. We checked in again (stupidly) after we got back from the whitsunday trip, purely because we were desperate and nowhere else was available apart from koalas (suprising!) and when we were given our keys to the room we opened the door and was greeted by dirty beds, towels everywhere and ants crawling around bits of food that had been left there for days...the cleaner was very abusive when we asked when it would be cleaned, and we were told to wait until the dorm rooms had been cleaned as the double should have been done before the dorms (but it wasnt) so overall....VERY frustrating, we just had to get outta there....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CANNOT STRESS IT ENOUGH!!! we wouldnt stay here for freee!!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

We sailed with the Koala resort, based at Airlie Beach, to their resort in the Whitsunday's. The rooms were all mouldy, smelly and generally in disrepair.
The bar area was great and the evening entertainment went down a storm.
Not much of a beach to shout about either.

  • Liked — The bar area.
  • Disliked — Everything except the bar.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

As a couple we booked a private room, firstly the place is huge and our room was way up at the very back of the 'resort' which doesnt appeal if you wanna quickly pop to the shop or if your on your way back from late night revelries. General furnishing in desperate need of an update, very old, frayed, room a bit musky. Didnt have the best experience with receptionist, the girl had a roaring argument with another guest and then decided to carry on her foul form with us.
Twas ok, if your stuck it will do but I recommend to look elsewhere for better accomodation.

  • Liked — Nothing stands out as being good enough to remember!
  • Disliked — Location of room & musky room & threadbare furnishings
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0ungIrishC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Even with a free voucher for this hostel, it would be better to stay somewhere else. Even for free, this place is gross. It resembles a former, crumbling work camp, and nothing about it has been cleaned - possibly ever. There was one competant person behind the front desk, amid a sea of incompetant and unresponsive others. The carpet in the rooms was sticky, and the bathroom was just plain filthy with faucets and a shower that ran all night long.

If you're staying for free, it might be worth the money, but be sure to wear shoes in the shower and lock your stuff up when you're not around. On second thought, even if you have a free voucher, pony up some extra cash and go get a bed at Magnum's instead.

  • Liked — checking out.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citygal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed in koalas Hervey bay when we did our fraser island trip and it was nice; the staff were really helpful and friendly. So our next stop was the koalas in airlie beach- our whitsundays trip was on the same day we arrived so we put all our luggage into 'secure' storage in koalas...where we actually paid $5 per bag.
We went on our whitsundays trip with the pride of airlie... the toilet on the boat was leaking and there was 4 inches of water (so they told us) and as you aren't allowed wear shoes on the boat you have no alternative then to wade through it to use the toilet!
When we docked for the night on one of the islands we got into our dorm to see that the toilet door was hanging from its hinges and we were told there was no other rooms so we had to use a towel over the toilet door....
We arrived back to koalas airlie beach and we were told when we where checking in that the storage room was open and as they only opened it up every hour that we should get our things so we did only to hear one of the employees announcing to a group of our fellow travellers that the storage room had been broken into while we were away but as she said "It was more of an inconvenience than an actual robbery"-in fact they had ripped open bags and myself and my friends bags were among those ripped open and our clothes passports etc...were everywhere i lost DVD's ipod charger and clothes, my friend lost his psp.
All the staff were extremely unhelpful and unsympathetic bar one who told us that it must have been one of the staff because the keys were used and only the staff had access!
When we rang the police for insurance reasons they informed us that this hostel was renowned for this lax attitude to robberies-which it seems happen on a regular basis!??!!
Needless to say we didn't stay there that night and they refused when we asked out of principle for our $5 back from the storage payment!!!

It put a complete dampener on our remaining week up the coast and i would recommend anyone even thinking of this place to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonPriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.3 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Property: Koala Beach Resort
Address: Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Airlie Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Koala Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
Koala Beach Airlie
Koala Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing