We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Wanting to stay in Airlie Beach only as a stopover to Whitsunday islands we opted for budget accommodation. We were aware the Airlie Marina was under construction and may interrupt the view, however from our room the whole view was not only the new construction of the marina but a dumped old car in the grass outside our room together with overgrown grass and weeds. We notified the hotel that we would be arriving late, however we were not given instructions on how to retrieve the key from the safety box at reception - fortunately another traveller arrived at the same time who had the pin no. for the box. We had been given the furtherest room from reception up the hill which was quite a walk. The room was a 1 bed apartment which was a decent size, however very dated and sparsely furnished - only 1 x 2 seater sofa (OK if you only have 2 persons). The bathroom is in need of an upgrade as is one of the pools. The staff were friendly and drinks at the bar were reasonably priced. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorganWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

I'm writing my review based on 5 weeks of travel in Australia traveling the east coast. I would say this resort run down and in need of repairs and major up dating. Upon arrival we got our keys by talking to the intercom and opening a safe at the recetion door. There was no parking in the building so I had to park up the street on the hill. Yes the rooms are big, yes the view and location is good. I found the room to be old and dated. I would describe the room as dirty but not dirty in the fact they didn't clean but dirty because everything was so old it can't get any cleaner. It was a windy night when we arrived and the 2 padio doors rattled in the wind and they didn't even lock. I was not impressed with the fact they didn't lock because anyone can easy get from one deck to the other. If you only care about location and can handle staying in a dump this is the place for you. Looking at the resort from the outside I would have guessed it was a run down apartment building where poor locals lived. It didn't look like a resort where people would come and stay for a few days. In the open parking lot there were peoples extra storage, junky cars, construction workers cars that didn't move the whole 3 days we were there, maybe thats why there was no parking for the guest like myself?????
I don't think they have painted the outside of the building in years, broke hand rails going up to the 3rd floor. When you are on holidays you want to feel good about the places you are staying in and this place doesn't make you feel that way at all. This is a 2 star hotel....no way its more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcadventureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Just behind the main street and a short walk up the hill. There are alot of stairs involved in getting from the carpark to your room. We had our toddler in a pram and managed to work out a route into town that required us to only negotiate 2 steps.

The bathroom had been given a facelift. The rest of the room could do with a refurbish. I can live with the outdated decore because if they do refurbish it the prices will probably go up. Best value accomodation for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We have a lot of positive things to say. Location was perfect, pretty close to the main road. People were incredible. They were very helpful with us for everything we needed. Rooms are ok, no luxury but clean and very nice for Airlie Beach style. All the rooms face the ocean, so having breakfast in the room balcony was breathtaking. It was nice to see the sunrise with all the white birds coming along the hotel balconies. Pool area is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csofia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The hotel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach, on a steep hill so be ready to climb the hill each time you go to the hotel by foot (not for disabled / elderly / little kids)!

The room was huge and a big balcony was overlooking the sea - beautiful!

The room has a/c + heating, which we really needed as July nights were very cold (+5 - 8 celsius!).

When the people next door took a shower, the noice was exceptionally loud - we really wondered what was going on until we realized that it's their shower. If someone should shower in the nights, the people next door would most likely wake up because of the noise.

The room was very clean, had a kitchen and fridge.

We would stay here again, despite the climbing!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finnish_female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Very large apartment complex with some rooms in far more favourable parts of the complex than others. It is terraced so some walking up and down stairs maybe required.

The apartment itself was newly renovated and was very clean, bright and airy. Two balconies. One smaller one off the bedroom.
Both balconies have beautiful views. Some apartments not yet renovated but still look very nice.

Overall the building and grounds do need some work but then the price would be much higher so good for those that want Golden Orchid Drive location without the price tag of the newer resorts.

Very nice for the price. Bought from wotif last minute.

Walk to town is very close but hilly. Some of the apartments are closer to "ground level"than others so if walking uphill is a problem request a room Waterson Street end of the complex. Still a hill but a very short walk.

I am rating above average if you obtain a rate significantly lower than other Golden Orchid Drive resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank verdant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
13
Reviewed January 23, 2006

the view from the balcony is great. the room is quite clean, but definitely could be cleaner. However, the room definitely require updates at renovation and repairing. The paint at the door of my room was faded out and repaired and faded out again. Also, the bath room is just too simple and the setting up and color just like hospital....

Stayed: January 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#47 of 56 in Airlie Beach
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Apartments
Airlie Beach Apartments
#42 of 56 in Airlie Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 56 in Airlie Beach
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Central Apartments
Airlie Central Apartments
#33 of 56 in Airlie Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Address: 5 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing