We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabin in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cabin in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Airlie Cove Resort and Van Park is a great place to stay if you have a car. The staff at the reception are very friendly and will help you to book anything you need and give you valuable information. The free use of BBQ is a great plus although the big supermarkets are to far to reach without a car.
We stayed in a cabin, which is very small with a good bathroom. The shower had a lot of waterpressure and clean. As was the rest of the cabin and bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Kristen,

We are so very glad you enjoyed your time here at Airlie Cove Resort. We strive to ensure our guests have the best possible time while with us and in Airlie Beach. While we are a little too far away from the shops for some to walk, I hope you found the bus service handy with the stops right at the gate of the park. With our $5.00 full day passes, it makes life with out a car a little easier and cheaper than buying regular tickets on the bus.
We hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    94
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
109
113
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The park was very nice and clean and the staff lovely. The only downside was that we were at the back of the park and one night a campervan full of Swedish travelers parked up beside us. Now we're not against having fun but they were drinking, shouting and singing all night and nobody came to ask them to keep the noise own. Other than that it was lovely and would recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Airlie Cove. I am glad you enjoyed most of your stay. We do a walk around at about 10.00pm when all is to be quiet and speak to any one making noise. Unfortunatly we can not hear all noise in the park once we are in bed. There is an after hours assistance number on the front door and the map for just this occassion. If you return to Airlie Cove and have this problem again, please don't hesitate to call us and we will be more than happy to come and speak to the offenders.
We hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

this accomm is situated just a bit out of town from Airlie Beach which is great if you are not into the drunk backpacker party scene. I would have to agree with a previous review about the amount of midgies, they are everywhere in the grass but if you wear shoes and socks they arent too much of an issue.

It is close enought o walk into town if you have a free morning and far enough that you wouldnt know that town is actually there. There is a shopping centre just a short walk away and they have some snacks avail at reception.

Really good advice for travelers about what boats etc to take out to the reef and day trips, and companies will do pickups for trips from the accomm. pool, tennis courts, all amenities, great place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Trys,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
If you are ever in the area please come back to see us. We love it when old friends drop in for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are a couple spending 5 months travelling around south east asia and australia.
 
We found the staff at reception very accomadating. We had arrived late due to a bushfire and unfortunately our credit card didnt work and our phone ran out of credit but the staff were happy to leave us our plot number and to settle the bill the next day. I found them to be very welcoming and assisted us with booking a tour around the Whitsundays which turned out to be a very good recommendation.

The resorts ammenities were clean (second cleanest male bathroom according to my partner during our camping trip along the east coast!) And the kitchen had an oven, hob, microwave and toaster as well as the usual BBQ. Spacious swimming pool with a slide also.
Overall site very good set in a beautiful location but quite a distance from centre of town about a 5 to 10 minute drive and there is also a bus stop just outside the resort where buses come regularly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ensuite camper sites were really nice and very clean however there is a huge problem with midgies. I was bitten about 100 times during the day. They started biting about 4pm not at dusk as usual. 3 days later and the bites are still driving me crazy. Otherwise it's a really nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirlieCove, Manager at BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry to hear you were affected by the Midgies. At certain times they can be more prevalent than other times.Unfortunately, being an issue of nature it can be beyond our control, however, we endeavour to keep the park clear of water puddles and other things that encourage midgies, and we do sell insect repellent in the mini mart here at the park. Otherwise we do hope you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Shared a cabin with our son , daughter inlaw plus our 2 Grandies aged 4& 3 . We had our own rooms which were clean & tidy. Loved the wildlife that visited nightly. Especially the frogs :-)
The pool area was most enjoyable as we're the walks around the park . We all enjoyed feeding the Lorrikeets with the help of a staff member . Staff most helpfully in organizing tours etc .
Would stay again .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeleneselmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in an En-suite powered site for two nights. The en-suite was clean and tidy with hand towels included. There was no division between the sites (ie trees/screens) but the site came with concrete runners for the wheels and pad for sitting outside. The general nature of the park looked a bit tired in terms of the general roading and gardens. It was a pleasant stay - but not quite the level I expect from BIG4.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
8.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
14.8 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.9 mi away
BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort
2.4 mi away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park

Property: BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park
Address: Cnr Ferntree Rd and Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park is a tranquil 28 acre tropical haven, offering a natural environment whilst being conveniently located just 2 kilometres through Airlie Beach. Airlie Cove is the perfect base for exploring the Whitsundays for day tours to the Great Barrier Reef and Whitsunday Islands. BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort has a range of comfortable and affordable accommodation including deluxe Bali Villas, one and two bedroom cabins, en-suite cabins, park cabins and powered sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Cove Hotel
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing